Ratings based on 644 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Unexpected gem

Posted Feb 24, 2017
This hotel was an unexpected surprise. It maintains its historical charm - interesting angles to the hotel room, sweeping staircases, dark wood in the bar and lounge areas, recessed reading corners and libraries hidden in nooks, ceramic soap dishes and vanity containers in the bathroom, while still delivering on modern conveniences. It was a steal at the price- far below what I would have expected from this sort of facility, It offered a free hotel shuttle service (by request in advance) and luggage storage. Coffee and cookies were available at all times near reception and a light snack of yogurt and pastries were on offer for breakfast in the lobby. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful at all times. Happy hour in the bar was a good deal on drinks. As an Expedia Gold member I was upgraded on arrival (although many other guests were too) and I received a free appetizer. I highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from San Diego

February

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: comfort
Cons: more breakfast items.
Location: Enjoy Hartford
Mt family always enjoys staying at the Avon Old Farms. The rooms, food, bar, and staff are all great. There was much snow and the crew took care of the roads promptly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami

did the job

Posted Feb 3, 2017
Pros: nice size room, comfortable bed and very convenient getting in and out
Cons: heating system see above
Location: there are many good restaurants around West Hartford and Avon
i was in CT for a couple of days on business i stayed at the Avon old farm. The hotel is has good size rooms with beds and furniture's. bathrooms are outdated heating system is noisy and insufficient and so is the heating in the rooms they have a wall mount unit that is very noisy but keep the portion by the window warm and the rest of the room is cold the so cold included breakfast is more like a snack bar by the check in counter. if you want the real breakfast at the restaurant you will pay $20.00 or more. very convenient as far as getting in and out
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice hotel staff at front desk very professional

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Location didn't remind me of a typical hotel decorated beautifully clean
Cons: Hot complementary could be offered only because at price point and other hotels in general location do and their rates are lower
Location: was up there for family
There was nothing negative I could find to say. Staff was great hotel beautiful very quiet would stay there again
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Saggy mattress

Posted Dec 27, 2016 on Hotels
The bed was clearly old, the mattress was saggy and uncomfortable and I spent all three nights with bed springs poking me in the lower back. Aside from that the hotel was clean and basically empty on Christmas. We were upgraded from a room with a queen to one with a king, but as I say, the king mattress was nothing to write home about.
4 out of 5
by Pamela

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, beautiful surroundings

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
We really enjoyed our stay but came at a super busy time of the year so we weren't able to enjoy the restaurant etc...
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Hotel is good. But nobody understand computer!!

Posted Dec 10, 2016
Wrong room. Wrong Time. Don't know how to check in!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely New England Style Hotel

Posted Dec 7, 2016 on Hotels
Much nicer than expected traditional New England style hotel. We really enjoyed the old looking pub and restaurant. Nice complimentary continental breakfast. Cookie and fruit for your arrival. Please note this hotel will take pets for $20 per night,
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Charming quaint classic

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Hotels
excellent service, lovely room, charming ambiance