Ratings based on 588 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fine place to stay for the night.

Posted Sep 7, 2016
If you are looking for charming or quaint, this is not the place for you. However, it is clean, safe, and comfortable. The food in the restaurant is very good. The layout is a bit odd. I did not try the pool. I would never go out of my way to stay there, but it was fine for one night.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expedia not hotel

Posted Sep 4, 2016
I was disappointed at initial check in that I was in the motel part of the hotel. This was a misrepresentation of Expedia not the hotel. They moved me the next day at the same price to the main part of the hotel. The initial disappointment changed to complete satisfaction.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Middletown, NJ

Nice hotel for a long time.

Posted Sep 1, 2016
Pros: Comfort and close to family. Had our daughter's wedding there.
Cons: Too much light over pulled blinds.
Location: Eat at Max a Mia.
Only issue was too much light coming in over the blinds.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2016
The room was very clean and spacious. The furnishings were comfortable and reminiscent of a New England inn. My husband enjoyed using the exercise room and outdoor pool. The continental breakfast was good including excellent coffee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Frumpy, tired hotel for older generations

Posted Aug 13, 2016
My 2 young daughters and I chose this hotel for a 1 night CT getaway. While someone from an older generation (60+) might appreciate the historical society furnishings, 4 poster beds blocking view of the TV and the use of cheap glint brass EVERYWHERE, we found the place frumpy, stuffy (and not in a posh way) and uncomfortable. Our bathroom fan was so loud, it was grating and annoying the whole stay. Breakfast was supposed to be until 11:00 but at 8:30 the teensy selection was half gone (5 yogurts left for example) and by the time we all checked out at 10:30, no yogurt and 5 pieces of cold pastry. On the positives, dinner at the Tavern (burgers) was delicious and the beds were quite comfortable, despite my sheet having a large hole in it. Would definitely never ever book again, though. This is a pass I'm afraid.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Helpful, polite staff. Excellent restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Nice atmosphere in the whole facility.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Charming motel

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: The pleasing location and personnel
Cons: Fresher paint
Location: Lovely town. I was there to fly fish a nearby river, and it was a lovely spot to come back to after a day of fishing.
Very lovely, slightly worn around the edges, Motel in a beautiful setting in northern Connecticut. The room had a very comfortable bed, and was of average size. The furniture and paint was slightly worn, but all furnishings were beyond adequate. I was upgraded to a better room without asking, and the price I paid on Expedia for my stay was very very good value. The staff couldn't have been nicer and they were very professional. I highly recommend this facility.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Really pleasant experience with the whole "package" - i.e. hotel, room, staff, location, amenities
4 out of 5
by jennifer

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Thomas from Madison WI

New England charm

Posted Jun 27, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel has a relaxed and friendly atmosphere with a great restaurant that serves wonderful breakfast as well as very upscale dinners. There is a nice swimming pool. The location is convenient to a number of tourist destinations in the area, including the Heublein Tower, the Pope-Riddle Hill-Stead Farm, and the various museums and attractions of Hartford. The staff are very helpful and the service is swift and efficient. A great place for a family or tourist visit.