Ratings based on 578 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Frumpy, tired hotel for older generations

Posted Aug 13, 2016
My 2 young daughters and I chose this hotel for a 1 night CT getaway. While someone from an older generation (60+) might appreciate the historical society furnishings, 4 poster beds blocking view of the TV and the use of cheap glint brass EVERYWHERE, we found the place frumpy, stuffy (and not in a posh way) and uncomfortable. Our bathroom fan was so loud, it was grating and annoying the whole stay. Breakfast was supposed to be until 11:00 but at 8:30 the teensy selection was half gone (5 yogurts left for example) and by the time we all checked out at 10:30, no yogurt and 5 pieces of cold pastry. On the positives, dinner at the Tavern (burgers) was delicious and the beds were quite comfortable, despite my sheet having a large hole in it. Would definitely never ever book again, though. This is a pass I'm afraid.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great experience

Posted Aug 10, 2016
Helpful, polite staff. Excellent restaurant for breakfast and dinner. Nice atmosphere in the whole facility.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Boston

Charming motel

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Pros: The pleasing location and personnel
Cons: Fresher paint
Location: Lovely town. I was there to fly fish a nearby river, and it was a lovely spot to come back to after a day of fishing.
Very lovely, slightly worn around the edges, Motel in a beautiful setting in northern Connecticut. The room had a very comfortable bed, and was of average size. The furniture and paint was slightly worn, but all furnishings were beyond adequate. I was upgraded to a better room without asking, and the price I paid on Expedia for my stay was very very good value. The staff couldn't have been nicer and they were very professional. I highly recommend this facility.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Really pleasant experience with the whole "package" - i.e. hotel, room, staff, location, amenities
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great pool awesome staff

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Enjoyed my stay very much. Perfect location and great price
4 out of 5
by Thomas

Posted May 27, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 4, 2016 by Jeffrey H, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star review Thomas. We appreciate you taking the time to do that and we hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Raleigh

Nice hotel near Torrington

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Very pleased with the staff and the room. Reminded me of being in Pinehurst, except there were no golf courses
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2016 by Jeffrey HB, Hotel Management
Thank you for the lovely review, we appreciate the 5 star rating and for your comments. We hope you will return again and if you do, there are two golf courses within a minute of our property and many others withing 5-10 minutes and we would love for you to try those as well. Thank you again for the review, we appreciate it!
3 out of 5
by WeiChung from Taiwan

早餐特別差,服務態度冷淡

Posted Apr 13, 2016 on Hotels
早餐特別差,咖啡都是冷的,服務態度冷淡.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 4, 2016 by Jeffrey H, Hotel Management
不幸的是听到你没在这里享受你的时间。我们希望您能给我们一次机会,并有更好的体验。
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice expieriance

Posted Apr 3, 2016 on Orbitz
Very nice facilities. Was a pleasant stay. No unpleasant suprises. I will stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2016 by Jeffrey HB, Hotel Management
Thank you for the review and the lovely comments. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the future!
5 out of 5
by Christine from Denver

Posted Mar 30, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely quiet spot.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 3, 2016 by Jeffrey H, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star review, we appreciate it!