Ratings based on 667 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Binghamton, NY

Excellent Service

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Pros: Cleanliness and friendly staff....
Was traveling with family and had booked 2 rooms. One king for my wife and I and a double queen for my grown daughter. Hotel staff gave me a free upgrade for my daughter so she could stay close to us with out my requesting. Thank You.......
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia Pa

Nice hotel in Avon Ct

Posted Aug 20, 2017
Avon Old Farma Hotel was very good. The staff was friendly. My room was clean. The bed was very comfortable. Room service was quick. The food was delicious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Classic Connecticut Vibe!

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros:
Cons: The hotel is pricier than the usual chain hotels, would be nice to receive discount offers..Breakfast wasnt full buffet but enough to start the day.
Location: Plenty of shopping, history, culture. Enjoyed dining outside at excellent Asian restaurant in Simsbury, Hotel property lovely for walks.
Chose this hotel for its proximity to a family funeral in CT. The location was very convenient, easy to find. I was delighted upon checkin with the unexpected offer of an upgrade to my room. The room was spacious, bright, lovely quality decor. I especially liked that it had two sinks: one in the dressing area, one inside the bathroom itself. Since we were on a tight schedule, this allowed my husband and I to dress quickly without getting in each other's way.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chatham. MA

Lovely hotel in Avon CT.

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Spending a night at the Avon Old Farms Hotel was a treat. After a very gracious welcomer(and a complimentary upgrade) we enjoyed everything. Our room was comfortable, the swimming pool was large enough to swim some laps, and the dinner, on the tavern deck, was delicious . Staff were professional and charming. I look forward to staying there again.
4 out of 5
by John

Posted May 22, 2017 on Hotels
Room had a slightly unpleasant smell until we opened the windows to air out the room
3 out of 5
by Margaret

Disappointing and very warm

Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
The room was very clean. An older looking hotel with old in room ac the didn't work very well. We had it on full blast all night and it never got below 78 degrees. Disappointing
5 out of 5
by Christian

Great hotel

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Great hotel, loved the breakfast , very service minded
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Apr 24, 2017
Pros: General feel/look of the hotel was charming and relaxing. Comfortable beds.
Cons: Update the bathrooms.
Location: We went antiquing, shopping, visited some local museums.
We enjoyed our brief stay at Avon Old Farms Hotel. Check in was easy and quick and we loved the grand entrance and the cozy, anitque-y touches in the lobby. We got to our room and it was very nice, unfortunately the bathroom was dirty. There was lots of hair in the tub. We called the front desk and immediately were given another room down the hall. The room was cozy and airy and overall clean. The king sized bed was very comfortable and the linens were nice but one of the pillow cases had stains on it. The maid was in the hall and she quickly replaced it. The bathroom had some cute touches but was in need of maintenance. The tub had some hairs stuck to the sticky strips on the bottom. The shower head was old and some of the nozzles did not work. The bathroom was dated and needs maintenance. That being said, our stay was very pleasant. The room was comfortable and the setting was relaxing. Some reviewers complained about the loud heater - it was somewhat noisy but did not wake us after we fell asleep. The decor in the hallways and in the surrounding areas was inviting. The staff was very friendly. I wish the weather was better so that we can explore the surrounding areas. However, during our excellent dinner at the restaurant we saw many deer just outside the window. I would return to this hotel again but would advise that the bathrooms be updated.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bring earplugs

Posted Apr 22, 2017 on Hotels
AC unit was very loud. Hard too sleep. No refrigerator in room. Iron was broken. Room safe was broken. Wallpaper peeling from wall. Food at restaurant was good, though.
5 out of 5
by Alison

Excellent find near Hartford

Posted Apr 17, 2017 on Hotels
Restaurant is really excellent. It caters for those who want a light bite - you can add chicken, salmon, or shrimp to any salad or pasta. And for those who want a gourmet meal of lobster, steak or veal chop. The room was lovely - large and nicely decorated with a romantic four poster bed.