Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Poole

Beautiful guest house with a wonderful host

Posted May 15, 2017
Pros: Enjoyed everything, no complaints.
Location: Very close to Cheddar Gorge (5 minute drive). Walking distance to local pubs and village square where there is a Co-Op should you need it.
I booked a night away with my partner so that we could walk the Cheddar Gorge. Compton House is in a great location very close to Cheddar. The village of Axbridge where the guest house is located is so charming and we had such a great time. There are three local pubs within very easy walking distance (where you can also get food). We checked out all three and found them all to be very hospitable. Patricia is a wonderful host and is very helpful and personable. The guest house is spotlessly clean and has so much character. There is a beautiful garden and breakfast was just spot on!! I would highly recommend Compton Guest House.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Stepping back in time

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Great atmosphere.
Cons: .?
Location: Interesting village square in Axbridge. We climbed Glastonbury Tor and visited Wells.
We were warmly greeted. The house was old and interesting. We had a gloriously comfortable 4poster bed. Excellent breakfast. We would recommend this guest house to anyone visiting the area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Brilliant B&B

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Many thanks to the owners for this beautiful B&B. The house is lovely, our room large and comfy, and breakfast was unbeatably good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bournemouth

Compton house, Axbridge

Posted Sep 29, 2016
Pros: its character and charm
Location: Wellls cathedral, Cheddar gorge, Wooky hole, Western super Mare, and there is a small musaeam in axbridge, Several local pubs/resteraunts serving good
We were made to feel very welcome by the owner and her cats, The building and rooms are chocked full of character and history, The breakfast had everything you would want, and more, hot food was cooked to order, best variety of food I have ever been offered,The view at the rear of the house was spectacular,bed very comfortable.Would visit again
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

2 miles from Cheddar Gorge

Posted Sep 25, 2016
Cons: We realise it is a listed building but having no handle on the bathroom door meant it was a little tricky in closing the door.
Lovely, charming house full of character and interest. Superb country views from the patio where we were served tea upon our arrival by our very welcoming and helpful host for the weekend. Good variety of choice for breakfast. Our room was large and comfy.
4 out of 5
by G D

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Hotels
A guest house full of antiques and objet d'art with fantastic views over the countryside. Welcoming and friendly management.
5 out of 5
by Joanne

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 11, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by simon from Folkestone.

Nice place off the beaten track

Posted Oct 31, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent place to stay, very friendly & loved the Elizabethan room , love the cats.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels