Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Land O Lakes, Florida

Traditional Hotel in Aying, Germany

Posted Jan 1, 2017
If you want a traditional/cultural experience, this hotel is a MUST stay!! The staff was incredible and treated us with the utmost hospitality! Rooms are incredible, super comfortable beds, prompt and courteous staff...nothing but great things to say about the staff and this hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice restaurant and friendly staff.

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Pros: The staff and restaurant.
Cons: Replace the carpets and it would smell better.
Location: Very remote, but short drive to Munich.
We were here two nights and it is in a very quiet area. The hotel restaurant was excellent. The room had a terrible musty smell and the carpeting was way past it's prime. Other than that it was clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Garland, Texas

Great hotel if you like good German beer

Posted Aug 14, 2015
Pros: Great staff, comfort, beer
Cons: The only downside was the lack of air conditioning during an oddly hot German summer
Location: Fantastic brewery and beer garden if you like Bavarian beer.
Beer garden 50 yards away. Great room and good restaurant. Staff was incredibly helpful for Americans trying to find their way around Aying and Munich
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice hotel, pity about the management

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: Breakfast buffet was very good. The beer(s) brewed by the private brewery were absolutely outstanding - worth the trip alone.
Cons: The management. No facilities in the rooms to make a cup of tea or coffee, and restaurant/cafe not opened through the day. Rooms very noisy at night.
Location: Miles from anywhere and anything worth doing.
We attended an event at the hotel, and stayed for 2 nights. All the staff we met were delightful, and tried to be helpful. The rooms were comfortable enough, but the TV had a poor selection of channels (apart from sport) and very limited radio. We had 2 evening meals organised for our group. One was traditional Bavarian fare and acceptable, the other was more formal and a bit of a shambles. Staff were very poorly organised, meals took hours to materialise, wine didn't appear and the food was very disappointing. We blame this squarely on the management pf the Hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA, USA

Nice hotel, but buyer beware

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Pleasant location away from the city, great breakfast buffet, friendly staff, great pub across the road
Cons: Rooms were not as advertised
Location: Train station is 10 minutes away, pleasant town to stroll through, great pub across from the hotel
The absolute first thing to know about this hotel is that it's a pleasant hotel if you are staying in Aying. It's a bit of a journey if you are vacationing in Munich. The hotel is a 10-minute walk from the Aying train station and trains to Munich run on :11 and :31 throughout the day. The hotel itself is well-kept, with friendly staff, and a great breakfast buffet. The rooms were NOT AT ALL like what are pictured on Expedia, which was hugely disappointing -- not nearly as lavish or spacious as the photos suggest. With that said, however, the layout of the room was quite efficient that it did feel larger than it really was. As has been mentioned several times, the hotel's pub is located across the road and is fantastic. Unfortunately I did not get the opportunity to eat there, only drink, but it was worth the visit. Overall this experience was good, but would have been so much better if the room was the same as in the photos.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Scott from San Francisco

Beautiful Town, Wonderful Hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2013
Pros: Beautiful surroundings, beautiful building, the staff were wonderful, and even the cleaning crew were friendly and cheerful. Close to Munich by train
Cons: Ventilation for the hot days (every day in July) would be very welcome. The food, while good, could be more memorable. A small fridge for drinks.
Location: Driving to any destination in Bayern is very easy via nearby highways. Many nearby beautiful towns. Munich easy by S-Bahn. Airport is 40min by car.
The hotel staff was cheerful and very helpful. I was determined to speak German while there, and they were very patient with me and didn't take the easy route of switching into English. Breakfast was always well stocked - a very simple European fare, but it was always a nice start to the morning. The outside terrace restaurant was beautiful, the food good, and portions large. While the food was good, it wasn't great. I found parking very easy. The Biergarten across the street was a daily routine for me, and they were also very friendly. Overall, a VERY good experience. I would stay here anytime I visit Munich (the S Bahn was very easy to get to, and I left my car parked in Aying when visiting the city). I stayed in the cheaper 2nd floor rooms, and was quite content. I imagine splurging for a 1st floor room, or a room in the Herrenhaus would be even nicer.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Aye Aye Aying

Posted Jun 7, 2012
Great location as first travel stop after flying into Munich. Super beer garden right next door. Great breakfast and breakfast room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Cosy, friendly and lovely hotel operated by brewery owner. Nothing special around hotel, but that is also good to just walk around.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Wir hatten super Wetter und dabei den Aufenthalt in Ihrem Hotel sehr genossen. Wir kannten Aying und Umgebung schon längere Zeit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from milano

Posted Dec 12, 2015
Camera n 37 meravigliosa,personale gentile,colazione abbondante e diversificata .complimenti per la pulizia e l'organizzazione . Credetemi bellissimo