Ratings based on 89 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Tasty Breakfast, Slow Service

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Hotels
I have stayed at the lodge multiple times. Rooms are spacious, beds are big and the breakfast is tasty. Service is slow so don't expect anything to happen quickly but the plus sides of the hotel outway the lack of speed at check in / check out in the restaurant. I stayed in the alloway room this time and the couch was a bit worn and so were parts of the carpet but everything was clean and the bathroom was pretty modern. There were two TVs in the room though not sure why as one didn't work.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Surpassed our expectations.

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Staff were superb . Food was good - excellent breakfast .
Cons: Slight smell of food at reception .
Hotel beautifully presented - clean and well decorated .Warm reception . Comfortable bedroom . Nice bar area.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Small , professional, friendly.

Posted Oct 22, 2016 on Hotels
Excellent base for touring Arran. We had a very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good Hotel in Ary

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
Enjoyable stay in a central location of the town
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Graham

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by william

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by rachel from Newcastle

Fantastic stay

Posted Aug 8, 2016 on Hotels
Perfect hotel
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Dover

Enjoyable weekend in Ayr

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Pros: Staff were pleasant at all times, location, spacious bedroom and shower room. Quiet and calm atmosphere within the hotel.
Location: 15 minutes walk from town centre and train station. Beach is within 30 minutes walk. Ayr Racecourse and Ayr United FC also within short drive.
I had dined in the restaurant with parents 2 years ago, and was delighted with that experience. On this occasion it was my parents' golden wedding anniversary so I didn't want to stay with them for the weekend. Event planning commenced in January 2016, and it was with some luck that 1 of the few rooms available in Ayr for the relevant weekend was at Carrick Lodge......and at a reasonable price for the summer. I had no plans to spend any lengthy period of time at the hotel each day, as I had socialising and shopping to do. There are plenty of pubs and restaurants within 15 minutes or so walk in Ayr town centre, so this was an ideal staging post. The train station is also within the same walking distance. My room was spacious and clean, with a large wall mounted tv (Freeview channels), tea and coffee.......and an ironing board and iron - perfect after the unpacking. The shower room / toilet were also spacious and comfortable. I established after my 1st night out, that the front door shuts around midnight, but there staff are on duty and will answer the doorbell. The hotel bar is open for as long as you want, and I took advantage of this on the 2nd night after the family celebrations. Breakfast was included in the price, but I didn't partake on either morning. However going back to my previous visit to the restaurant, I suspect that the quality of the food on offer would be good. No complaints, and I will return for another weekend of socialising in Ayr.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Beautiful traditional Scottish hotel

Posted Jul 20, 2016
Pros: The quiet charm of a traditional Scotttish hotel. Beautiful building and rooms. Great staff and restaurant.
Cons: The bed was not as comfy as some others we had during our visit to Scotland.
Location: Easy walking distance to town and public transport. A number of top golf courses nearby
Met at reception by lovely friendly staff who offered us refreshments in the lounge while they checked that the room was ready for us ( we arrived early). The room was very comfortable and clean, and the bathroom stocked with everything you would normally expect to find. The restaurant had extensive menus and catered for family groups as well as individuals or couples. The meals and service were excellent. All staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.