Ratings based on 90 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fife

Perfect weekend getaway

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: The room was quite small but very quirky. The view across the golf course and water were beautiful.
Cons: We thought everything was good.
Location: We were staying as we were heading to the racecourse in Ayr. Bars and restaurants were close by in Prestwick.
We only spent one Saturday night and although the hotel was fully booked it did not seem crowded. Reception staff were lovely and were very helpful, calling us a taxi and taking care of our luggage as we were too early to check in. Quick service at the bar and breakfast was hot and delicious.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Bucket list golf trip

Posted Sep 9, 2015
Pros: The hotel appearance and location. The restaurant waiters were very friendly and provided good service.
Cons: More accommodating at check in. Flexible hours for spa treatments/massages.
Location: The area is a pleasant sea-side town which may have many activities available, but my primary reason for visiting was playing at Royal Troon.
I booked into the Marine Hotel at Troon to combine this stay with a round of golf at Royal Troon. The hotel looked liked an ideal place to stay right next to the golf course and I was looking forward to this stay. I arrived ahead of usual check in time to avoid a clash with my golf tee time and had hoped the Hotel could assist with a slightly early check in given they had 3 hours notice. But the room was only made available 10 minutes before usual check in despite many other guests being checked in between 1 and 2 hours ahead of usual check in time. This left me about 10 minutes to change and rush next door to make sure I didn't miss my tee off time. I also note that the room we had was one of the smallest I've had in the UK. We were notified ahead of our booking that the swimming pool would be closed for maintenance during our stay, but that the gym and health spa facilities would still be available. My wife tried to book a massage and facial at 12 noon for that afternoon, but was told that there were no bookings available that day as the spa staff didn't work past about 4:30 PM. My wife was hoping for a pamper package while I was playing golf but we'll have to wait for another hotel during our vacation.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from East Kilbride

Lovely hotel, great staff and great location

Posted Sep 3, 2015
Loved the hotel and location.Staff very friendly and professional.Only downside was our room had no view, I assumed we we of had.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lanark

Lovely stay

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Beautiful location, great sea views. Room clean and comfortable, if a little small. Bar food was lovely although drinks were expensive. Sitting outside with drinks on a warm night was truly beautiful. Pool area was beautiful too and looked out onto the golf course and beach. Would stay again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Iconic hotel, needs attention

Posted Aug 8, 2015
Pros: Location, breakfast
Cons: Reviewing customer complaints
Location: Iconic location, beautiful beach, lovely local town with great walks. Challenging golf courses in abundance
Looking forward to staying in this iconic hotel in the prime location of next year's open golf venue. The welcome from reception staff was polite and warm. Unfortunately the room was not, the location was on the ground floor at the back of the hotel. The view was of a brick wall about 2m away over a path. The room was very clean but cold. Due to having to keep the curtains shut, coupled with the fact the radiator was behind them, it did not heat up. The tea/coffee facilities were OK but we had a biscuit between us! The bathroom was tiny and the sound proofing poor, even from other rooms. The bed was not comfortable either. I am unsure whether an elephant could have dented the mattress. When I asked for another room my request was declined due to hotel being 'fully booked'. On checking out I raised these issues with the receptionist again who was apologetic but at no time were any notes taken so as the hotel could review if any improvements could be made
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Could be better

Posted Jul 11, 2015
Although the staff was friendly and Very helpful...the rooms were very small and dated. The restaurant over charged on several occations for breakfast... But the bar staff was excellent and went out of their way to accommodate in any way the could. It is not really the best deal for the price you pay.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mostly good hotel.

Posted Jul 8, 2015
Pros: Location, food, easy parking.
Only downside was the location of the room - looking out on two sides onto pathways which staff used frequently.
4 out of 5
for Couples
by Thomas from Edinburgh

Posted Jul 6, 2015 on Hotels
I have known the Marine for many years being a relatively local hotel to where I grew up and lived for many years. What let the hotel down on this occasion was the attention to detail: at breakfast letuce leaf lying on the floor from dinner the night before, crumbs on cushions, tables in the bar lounge not cleared, too few bar staff on during peak periods. As always a great hotel, in a great place. But, pay attention to the detail guys.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good facilties and beautiful location. Room bad.

Posted Jul 5, 2015
Pros: Facilities and Restaurant.
Cons: Attic rooms. I've heard the others are good.
Location: Great for golfing breaks.
Beautiful location and a stunning building with a view. We enjoyed the leisure facilities. Our room on the top floor was quite awful though and really let the experience down.
4 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from lanark

nice traditional hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2015
Pros: views from lounge and breakfast rooms although we did not get a chance to use leisure facilities as pool was quite crowded it did look nice
check in was very good receptionist very polite slightly disappointed about room as felt as though we were in servants quarters we were on ground floor but to get there we had to go up a flight of stairs then along corridor and then down a flight of stairs our room was ok but overlooked car park and way out for leisure centre the road was quite busy at times The windows were sash windows and would not stay open and also there was no extractor in the bathroom overall the hotel was very tired looking in places although the views were stunning