Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Stylianos

A fairy tale night.

Posted Dec 27, 2015 on Hotels
This is a place to stay if you want something different. The venue has a romantic feel about it. The restaurant serves wonderful food, but note: we only saw one other eating place in this small village. We would stay again if passing through this beautiful area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Globetrotting Grandparent

Romantic stay in a castle

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Orbitz
We loved 'discovering' this castle in the country. It was a nice surprise that this wasn't a big fancy hotel chain but a locally owned, very friendly place. The room cost a lot less than we would have expected and included a simple breakfast. The room was spacious and very comfortable, complete with a small fridge and coffee maker.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington D.C.

Off the beaten path in picturesque village

Posted Aug 21, 2015
Pros: The room size, the bed size, the atmosphere.... wonderful experience.
My husband and I enjoyed this little chateau. The breakfast was very nice in a cute little room at the hotel. The room was comfortable and VERY large with a beautiful view. The property was wonderful to walk around. The room had a coffee machine in the room. I believe this would be a good hotel for couples or families.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from frisco, Texas

I will never stay here again

Posted Jul 4, 2015
Pros: It's a pretty small Chateau. It has a pretty look, but that's all. The dinner service was horrible. Not enough servers.
Cons: Everything but specially costumer service everywhere.
I booked two rooms IN THE CASTLE, and when I arrived there, they say the rooms were not in the castle. I told the man, mi booking said the rooms were IN THE CASTLE. I showed it to him and he said NO. there are no fans nowhere. I was sweating while having lunch and dinner, and before I went to bed. I was miserable. This should be listed as a one star rating. I wished I had the option to find another place at that moment and no loosing my money. I hope Expedia does something about it..
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2015 by Natacha, Hotel Management
Dear Mister, The team of the castle is sad to read that your stay wasn't living up your expectations. Sadly, we didn't have any rooms in the castle available this day to upgrade you during your stay. This kind of room (single one) have a very special price (from 65€ breakfast included, price that you paid) because the room is situated in the adjoining building and because it is smaller than the other. To show our good faith, we can send you the reservation we received (single room of the adjoining building of the castle). However, we noticed (as you said) that on the booking site, it is possible to book a single room in the castle. However, for this low price, this is not the case. So we contacted expedia to fix that. We sincerely apologize for this inconvenience and we stay at your disposal for any other comments. Kind regards, Natacha Robin Front office manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Lovely retreat

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Good clean room in an excellent location.
The Chateau is a spectacular place set in picturesque area of Belgium and surrounded by wonderful countryside. The staff and facilities at the Chateau are excellent with a wonderful restaurant.
4 out of 5
by Heather from Filby

Chateau Experience

Posted Apr 10, 2015 on Hotels
A wonderful experience to stay in a Chateau. Lovely Continental breakfast. room comfortable and clean. The grounds are lovely even with a tame Stag ! The chateau is a few miles from Aywaille, and there is nothing in the village ,there is no bar in the Hotel unless you eat in the Hotel restaurant.
4 out of 5
by Richard from Germany

Don't eat dinner there.

Posted Feb 25, 2015 on Hotels
Everything about the hotel was excellent, except for the restaurant. The breakfast was perfect, but the dinner was a whole different matter. The food was "ok", the service was sub-par, and it was very expensive.
5 out of 5
by Mike&Sammie from Belgium

Beautiful Place to stay

Posted Sep 9, 2014 on Hotels
One of the most amazing places I have ever stayed, the hotel staff were very friendly. The hotel was very clean. I would definitely return to visit this hotel again. Note: The kitchen is only open for a certain time at night for dinner service so make sure you keep that in mind, it's located near a small town and their is not much to eat after 8pm at night in that town.
3 out of 5
by C Hewlett

Amazing castle location

Posted Jul 14, 2012 on Hotels
We arrived late and got a warm welcome. Unfortunately we couldn't get a meal or a drink as the restaurant was closing and no bar service and nowhere close by. Free water and 1 coffee as a sample had to keep us going until breakfast which was basic but nicely served and fresh. Setting is stunning and definitely worthwhile stopping there.
5 out of 5
by GM

Château de Harzée-True Chateau in the countryside

Posted Jun 11, 2012 on Hotels
Stayed for 2 nights in the main building. Had a lovely room with superb view (and the only balcony Rm A9). This is a proper Chateau within a lovely surrounding. Included breakfast quite limited. Service in restaurant for dinner, very slow. But food good. Excellent location to explore local area, by car.