Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Buckinghamshire, UK

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Location: Good location, walking distance to local pretty town, and friendly locals.
Stayed as a stop-over for 2 nights on the way to the Dordogne. Azay Le-Rideau is a lovely little town, with a very pretty Chateau, and we particularly loved the ice-cream parlour!!
4 out of 5
by Karen from London

Great for families.

Posted Apr 7, 2016 on Hotels
A great complex of families - little apartments are just right for 4 people (6 would be a squeeze having to sleep on the sofa). Beds were not that comfortable but that seems to be a general French problem as opposed to something specifically with this complex. Pool is indoors and great for families although the baby pool is definitely not warm enough for a baby which was a shame. Its very easy to find and parking is easy. Located close to a big supermarket and the town of Azay which is very picturesque with a cool Chateau and lots of nice restaurants.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 18, 2015 on Hotels
This is set in a beautiful area and it was our third time here. However this time we found our apartment very worn. Wall hooks missing, crumbs in cuterlry draw and not a very fresh smell. The pool edge was peeling away and the sides in the pool were yellowing. Not prestige at all. A functional stop over , especially if like us you spend most of your days out. We loveAzay but not sure we'd stay here again
2 out of 5
by Iacob

Not good

Posted Aug 17, 2015 on Hotels
The place wasn't as we expected! The residence doesn'tlook like a four star place. The rooms are very small and the living is not just a good place to sleep for adults. In spite of the fact theysay it's good for 2 , reality says the contrary
4 out of 5
by Sherri from Texas

Great Place to Stay for Chateau Touring

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel seems to be designed more for long-term stays. We were only there for two nights. We were provided sheets and towels at check-in and told that we would be charged 35 Euros if we did not clean the room. We had lots of room for just the two of us. The separate bedroom had twin beds; there was also a sofa sleeper in the living room. We had a handi-capped room since it was the only one available with twin beds. The bathroom had a shower, sink, and toilet. We used the kitchen for cooking our meals and for storing our food. We would stay here again. The location was great for touring chateaus near Tours.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Out of town but near enough to enjoy Azay.

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Cons: A shortcut footpath in to Azay.
Neat, clean, modern facilities with relaxed staff. Small pool better suited to toddlers than teenagers. Easy to book tennis court. Arrived on heavily laden bikes and the hill up to the Residence was a bit of a killer after a long day in the saddle, but the comfortable house made up for it.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by HB from London

Practical & family friendly if rather soulless

Posted May 15, 2014
Pros: Cleanliness, size of apartments, range of equipment provided in kitchens, indoor pool
Cons: More equipment in kids play area; a few foreign language TV channels in addition to all the French ones; DVD players in rooms
Location: Azay itself is a lovely town with an interesting chateau; in terms of the surrounding area, lots of chateaux, wine, kayaking on the Loire...
This is a complex of well equipped apartments, which is kept very clean; however it does vaguely resemble a slightly depressing holiday camp. Kitchens in particular have a great supply of crockery, cooking equipment etc (although there is no actual oven or grill, just a microwave oven / combi thing). In terms of facilities, the pool is small but clean and good for families, given that there's no deep end and there's a small kiddie pool. However the the spa prices are ridiculously expensive - hence it appeared to be empty the whole time we were there. Similarly, the cost of hiring a high chair and cot at $50 per week seems rather steep. The complex is car-free (there is a separate adjoining car park), so safe for youngsters to cycle around. The kids' play form a core part of the guests.
5 out of 5
by George from Carlsbad, Calif.

In the Loire Valley.

Posted Oct 3, 2013 on Hotels
Located in the lovely town of Azay-le-Rideau, this resort consists of cluster of individual buildings in townhouse format. Spacious lower level with half bath, living/dining and fully equipped kitchenette. Upper level with full bath and two bedrooms. An indoor swimming pool is just great. Parking on site is free. Overall, just great. PS.Be prepared to clean the apartment before you leave or pay for it.
4 out of 5
by Lorraine from Surrey

Lovely location

Posted Aug 11, 2013 on Hotels
Great stay, functional clean comfortable rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Wine Fan from Manchester, UK

Good for families visiting the Loire.

Posted Sep 3, 2012
Good Location and helpful friendly staff. Good accomodation but not quite 'Prestige'. Having to clean the property before leaving a bit of an annoyance. Good for families visiting the Loire.