Ratings based on 74 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2017
Love this place, brilliant for kids, visiting nearby villages & cities.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Relations Clients, Hotel Management
Dear Client, We thank you for your comments on our residence and we are happy to see that you have both appreciate the region and the accomodation. We are very sensitive to your comments and hope we'll have the pleasure to welcome you again. Best regards, Service Relations Clients
5 out of 5
by Marylouisa

Great value for money

Posted May 11, 2017 on Hotels
The accommodation was great value for money. We stayed in a 5/6 person apartment which had 2 separate bedrooms (1 double, 2 singles) it also had a single room (which was tiny!) and a pullout sofa bed which we didn't use. The interior had 2 toilets (1 next to the single room and 1 in with the shower/bath room) and another shower room. There was a big sofa, big enough for 4 people and tables and chairs. There was a TV but we didn't use it as the channels were limited, there is no wifi in the apartments so we downloaded from Netflix at the reception and watched stuff on tablets, although you could connect to the TV with the right lead, it is small. The kitchen has everything in terms of utensils and a dishwasher but no oven, it has a microwave though so things can be heated, we didn't use the dishwasher and felt an oven would've been more useful, but we got by! You will need to bring/buy washing up liguid, shampoo/shower gel, toilet rolls, bin bags etc. as there is nothing stocked, you can buy these from the reception or from the local supermarket in Homps (about 15 mins walk). Also towels are not provided but a set of 2 (1 big and 1 small) can be hired for 8 Euros. The grounds are really nice and the pool area is lovely with lots of loungers, there are washing machines in this area but you have to pay for them. The inside pool is permanently closed. We hired a car as it is in a remote area and we were about 1/2 hr to Carcassone and 1hr to Toulouse and Narbonne/seaside.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scotland

A countryside gem

Posted Oct 3, 2016
Pros: Helpful staff, location, security, relaxed atmosphere.
Cons: English TV channels.
Location: The location suits explorers.
The Chateau grounds have been converted to holiday apartments in a most beautiful setting, completely fenced in with secured entry. The reception is in a renovated barn, and the staff couldnt be more helpful. The apartment is well kitted out, a little tired, but clean, and with everything needed for a self catering holiday. (dont forget to get provisions in, especially for the first night ! ! ). Located near to Homps the Chateau has a working winery and is beside the Canal du Midi, with lovely walks, the chateau grounds are well lit, but there is little in the way of street lighting, so if walking, get back before dark. A car is essential, there are some interesting villages to explore, the coast is not far away, and the larger towns are fascinating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Room & Facilities

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Room was larger than we expected, very clean and cool on arrival. Swimming pool was very close to the room and was ample size for the number of guests.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

French road trip....

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay, nice bar and pizza, but could do with air conditioning (or fans in the rooms)! Apart from that, friendly staff, relaxing and nice pool.
5 out of 5
by Nicolas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location to explore the area.

Posted Sep 29, 2014
This is a lovely peaceful place to rent an apartment, shops are a short drive or bike ride away and the area is beautiful with lots of things to see and do. We found the location perfect, just half an hour or less from Narbonne, Carcassonne and the mountains by car. The place itself has a woodland trail, pool easy access to the canal du midi and is surrounded by vineyards. We stayed in room B33 which was away from the pool area and overlooked the wooded area.
5 out of 5
by Young Family from Edinburgh

Overall - very pleasant

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels
We (two adults and one baby) stayed in a two bedroom apartment at Chateau de Jouarres at the start of September. Could not fault the service (although having arrived via Ryan Air on a Sunday morning, I agree with other comments regarding the opening hours of the reception - we needed to wait for reception to open at 5pm to get access to the apartment). The apartment itself was spacious and well laid out. The apartment and some of the hotel grounds are a little tired but the facilities were absolutely fine for use. The location is about a 15 minute walk along the canal from Homps - a small town with a few restaurants and some shops. There is a well stocked mini-supermarket (housed within a petrol station) just outside Homps also. It's also just off a main road linking to Beziers, Carcassone, Narbonne, etc. We would definitely stay again - at £290 for a week we thought it was excellent value. Minor grumbles are having to make your own beds (linen is provided) and either pay for cleaning upon departure or do it yourself. A most enjoyable holiday!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

average experience

Posted Aug 28, 2014 on Hotels
The apartment was clean and well supplied, however the grounds were unimpressive. Internet access was very unreliable and one needs to be near the office to access the "free" internet. The staff provided inaccurate information on a sight that was a two hour drive away and thankfully I double checked whether or not there was a need for advance reservations.
4 out of 5
by Evadne from London

Basic but good

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely location. There was no reception when we arrived - it would have helped to know in advance. Ideal for a short break. Bedroom window was on walkway which was inconvenient since one needed the window open at night. That said, we would go back there - clean, nice pool and lovely location.