Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Jacqueline

A charming place to stay

Posted Jun 24, 2017 on Hotels
This is a charming place to stay. We did have trouble actually finding it, as it is tucked away behind gates. The courtyard and pool area are lovely, and there is parking. Our room was extremely clean and comfortable. Our hosts were very welcoming and friendly and got us a nice cold beer on arrival! The village is very pretty and we had a lovely tapas meal of fried fish at Bodega la Cruz a short walk away. There was a good selection for the buffet breakfast. A lovely stay and good value for money.
4 out of 5
by Helen

Quirky basic hotel in tranquil setting

Posted Jun 16, 2017 on Hotels
Stayed one night en route from Seville to Portugal. Quirky place which is hidden behind large wooden doors - you have to ring the bell and wait for them to be opened. Parking is inside in the courtyard so very secure. Room was basic and quite dark. Bed okay but only one pillow each. Basin and bath were cracked and rusty BUT there was a great shower. No fridge or kettle. Air con worked well but quite noisy. Small pool but no beach towels and sun beds had no covers so quite uncomfortable. Great tapas bar at end of street where there are lots of other bars and cafes too.
4 out of 5
by Alicia from Canada

Spotless, spacious, warm welcome and assistance

Posted Feb 4, 2016 on Hotels
A very quiet stay, we liked the warm welcome, maps and information given by Carmen. Staff was quiet and kept all premises in excellent condition. Bedding and mattress very good.
4 out of 5
by Brenda

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 24, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from UK

Traditional hotel in town

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: Friendly staff. Nice breakfast especially the fresh orange juice.
Location: Within the town. This is not a tourist town but was near to the birding sites that we were interested in.
Very nice room, friendly owner who told us about the best places for birding which we were interested in.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Disappointed

Posted Feb 11, 2015
Pros: Its charm.
Cons: Better lights. Take your own light bulbs. The bed was terrible. It hurt my back. I couldn't stand another night so we left a day early.
Location: There's a large national park close but it is too far from Seville to be really convenient to that city.
The fact that we were disappointed in this hotel is probably simply one of experience and expectation. It certainly was not the fault of Juan, the very helpful and concerned manager -- a really nice guy. The hacienda was quaint and charming as advertised. The rooms were dim and the only one heated in our suite was the bedroom. We were there in February. The sitting room had a fireplace and we were encouraged to use it but the room itself was dimly lighted and just not one you want to spend a lot of time in. Also, heating with a fireplace would have taken forever and we just wanted to go to bed and get warm. The problem there was the mattress was awful. We left a day early and drive to the Portuguese Algarve because of it. This place would be OK, maybe even fun, (except for the mattress) in the warmer months with a group. Our suite actually had three bedrooms and would have been fine with with two other couples -- provided everyone knew they would be shopping in the local groceries for food to cook themselves (there is an equipped kitchen) because there really isn't much in the small village. The town is about 10 minutes from a train station that can take you into Seville. It's about a half-hour ride. The train is modern and clean.
4 out of 5
by LunarBaz from Newbury, UK

Portugal stopover

Posted Nov 29, 2013 on Hotels
We stopped on our way from Western Algarve to Valencia to break our journey. We prefer to stay at non-chain hotels and this fitted the bill perfectly. We expected to get a room and were given a 1 bed 'villa' facing the swimming pool. The hotel is not easy to find in a maze , and if we had not looked on Google Streetview would not have recognised the entrance in the dark. Use the GPS co-ordinates. The entrance into the courtyard for parking is quite narrow if you have a large vehicle. The duty manager spoke quite acceptable English and was attentive to all our needs. The continental breakfast was very good with a wide selection/choice.
5 out of 5
by paul

Posted Jun 22, 2012 on Hotels
A very comfortable Hotel. good value for money with exellent facilities
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from England

Traditional looks with modern comforts

Posted Mar 21, 2012 on Hotels
I booked on the basis of reviews i had read, and was very happy with the reality. A spacious bedroom plus bathroom with a fantastic shower & lovely bath. And a private roof terrace which would be great in the summer, but still sat out early on one evening. We had our 'house' to ourselves so sole use of the sun terrace, kitchen & dining room downstairs, which was great. We ate dinner at the impressive table, in front of a log fire as the evening cooled down. Our host was so helpful & friendly, the secure courtyard for parking the car was a bonus as it's a busy town with narrow streets. There are plenty of shops & bars within walking distance and we were ideally placed for visiting Donana as the town is at the start of a lovely road through the pine woods. Only downside though it didn't bother us much, was the local cocks crowing, and when new people arrived to stay at about 3am one morning the tiled floors were very noisy. Liked the traditional feel plus modern comforts
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 6, 2017 on Hotels
Bra hotell. Svårt att hitta. En kille från en bar kom med i bilen och visade. Helhet; bra hotell.