Ratings based on 69 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi, UAE

Nice, but not worth the extra time and money.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Cons: Have an air-conditioned waiting area in the lobby.
The Kihaad is beautiful, don't get me wrong. This is the third place we've visited in the Maldives, and the first time we pay the extra money to fly to a distant island far away from the capital Male. Considering that it was almost $1000 extra for the short domestic flight, and an extra 3 hours both ways (checking-in, waiting, boarding), it just wasn't worth it. The coral reefs around Kihaad are almost ALL DEAD, and millions of small pieces of dead coral litter the beach around the entire island. Beach access is difficult because you can't avoid stepping on bits of sharp corals. You practically have to wear shoes to protect your feet. The snorkeling trip away from the island is a waste of time. More dead corals and not that many fish. It's so sad considering this area is supposed to be a UNESCO marine sanctuary. There are plenty of better places to go if you're interested in diving or snorkeling. On the plus side, the island is very quiet and laid back. The service is excellent, the villas are large and well-maintained, and the restaurants are slightly above average. We've been to several destinations in the Indian Ocean and I would rate Kihaad as average. There didn't seem to be any air-conditioning anywhere except in the rooms. The "semi-formal" dining restaurant called SPICES appeared to have a/c, but they didn't turn it on and they kept the doors open. For us, it just isn't comfortable to sit down to an expensive dinner when the room temperature is 28C.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice resort

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Kihaad resort is fantastic with lots of vegetation and with an astounding lagoon around the island. The reef is not that colourful, but it is alive, with lots of species of fish.
5 out of 5
by anita

Simply beautiful resort with great dive shop!

Posted Jan 28, 2017 on Hotels
The resort is simply beautiful! The accomodation is beautifully appointed ( we booked a sunset pavilion villa) and it was stunning. The resort was almost full during our visit but most of the time we felt like we were the only ones there. It is designed in such a way that ensures lots of privacy. The dive centre was fantastic! Gabrielle and his team did a great job. We completed our open water and our advanced open water course with Crystal, she was so wonderful and patient and we really enjoyed her company and friendship. She went out of her way to make us feel totally at ease during our dive training and took us from beginner to advanced divers in 6 days! She was an excellent instructor! All the staff were excellent and super friendly, in particular our room staff and bar staff always making the perfect cocktail! This resort is great value for Maldives and just pristine! Highly recommended!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Kihaad

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
Everything was fenomenal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Orbitz
It was way beyond good! Thanks Kihaad! The place is amazing people is so nice! The hotel is beautiful the food is really good!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 24, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Orbitz
Transfer from Male airport to the hotel is kind expensive this is the only down point
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great resort!!

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Great resort, I have nothing bad to say about the hotel. We had a great time. We are couple 30's years old and we stayed at sunset villa with privet pavilon and it was great. We really like the side of 300's rooms. We did a lot of shnorkling and scuba diving. The house reef is really beautiful and the diving center is great and professional like everything else in the resort. The outside shower was amazing. The food was really good and variety. All the stuff was so nice and helpful. We came really spontaneously after tow months of traveling in india and it was the best decision we did. Great resort Thanks Kihaad we will come back for sure.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Nov 3, 2016
Pros: The site is amazing! Great views! Beautiful beach. Great facilities
Cons: The dive centre were not very forthcoming in fulfilling their promise of a free trial dive which is offered to guests by the resort
Location: There are some excursions to pick from and all transfers are handled very well, although we must admit the transfer costs are very high
Lovely venue with very helpful staff but with some small deficiencies. The resort offers a free dive trial for those who have not scuba dived before, the trial is to test if one is comfortable with the underwater breathing equipment, however each time we attended the allocated slot this was offered at, either no instructor was available or the instructors were reluctant to carry out the free trial. Almost every staff member was extremely helpful and approachable. The island itself is amazing and you WILL BE blown away. The food was lovely too, although it could have offered a little bit more variety.