Ratings based on 1,384 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location , shame about the room

Posted Sep 7, 2017
Great location 5 mins from back bay station. Good area to stay. Only issue was the room was very small and dark, not that we were in it a lot. Hotel staff friendly , breakfast self service continental Maybe other rooms are better. its ok for a cheap hotel room 2 night stay. Wouldn’t like to stay for a week or so ....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Queens New York

Close to everything. Clean room and polite staff.

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Very quaint.
Location: Across the street from the public library and walking distance to the Prudential Center and Fenway Park. 24 hour convenience store & T station.
Our first time staying in Boston and we were pleasantly surprised at both the location and overall experience. Would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charlesmark

Posted Sep 5, 2017
I had stayed at this hotel once before a few years ago. Small hotel very quiet and nice continental breakfast and coffee. Great location too !!! Sells out fast so book in advance..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 28, 2017
Very nice and convenient location. I would certainly consider for the next trip.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from DC

Cute boutique hotel in great location

Posted Aug 27, 2017
Pros: Location and funky decor
Cons: Bathroom amenities had shampoo but no conditioner
Location: See the John Singer Sargent murals at the Public Library across the street. Great shopping on Newbury one block away. Walking distance to Boston Com
Friendly staff, great location. Rooms are small but that is expected in Boston.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Alberta, Canada

Great location. Clean, functional room.

Posted Aug 8, 2017
Location: Close to pick-up locations for Hop-on, hop-off tours.
Enjoyed our 2 night stay. Clean, comfortable room. All amenities present in the room. The staff were all friendly and helpful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from NJ

Perfect location; A/C on the fritz?

Posted Jul 21, 2017
Pros: Simple and stylish; the location; the price (relatively speaking)
Cons: A/C consistency; friendliness of one of the front desk staff; window treatments that actually block all of the sun
Location: Restaurants; train and subway stations; shops; mall
We stayed for three nights in the summer. The hotel and the room were clean and in great condition, except that the A/C in the room, while working, went into these cycles where it would be very cold and then 20 minutes later turn warm by itself. Not the best conditions on a hot & humid couple of days and overnight. I informed the front desk clerk and she discounted my complaint! The other two desk clerks were very nice. Although it was a little tight in the halls, the rooms were fine. Some design aspects were a bit strange: the fridge was located above eye-height and the TV sometimes was difficult to operate. The continental breakfast was basic, but no complaints here since I read about what to expect on the website prior. No issues with noise - until the last day when there was some construction within the hotel (no street noise since we were on the sixth floor). The sun in the morning did enter through the holes in the window blinds, which was annoying. Also there was no recycle bin on the premises; we had to walk outside to the recycle bin on the street a few blocks away. All in all, a good experience; for the location, the price is excellent!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Edmonton AB

Great location & staff ...

Posted Jul 4, 2017
Pros: Location and staff.
Location: Very close to the subway/train, pick-up spot for tourist activities, great shopping and walking distance to many things as well (ie. Boston Common).
The location was awesome and the staff was great. It was a last minute decision to go to Boston and I couldn't have picked a better place to stay. Having never been to Boston before the great location and very helpful staff made the trip for me. The room I booked was tiny - but I knew that when I picked it. It was just great for what I needed - a clean and safe place to retire to each evening.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Great Location!

Posted Jul 4, 2017
One of the best locations in the city! Right at the finish line of the Boston Marathon, across the street from the Boston Public Library and Copley Square, within walking distance to Fenway Park and Symphony Hall, and close proximity to tons of restaurants and bars! I thought my room might be noisy since it was on the second floor and facing the street, but I heard nothing! Will definitely use this hotel again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

Four days in Boston

Posted Jul 1, 2017
Great hotel, couldn't fault it. Location is brilliant - surrounded by cafes & restaurants with a subway stop and bus routes on the same block. The airport shuttle bus also stops across the road. I caught the Amtrak from NY & from Back Bay station the hotel is a only 5 min stroll. I also walked into old Boston via the Common a few times and walked in the opposite direction to Fenway one night. Each are great walks maybe only 30 min each from the hotel. Room was fine - clean, comfy bed, good bathroom with everything clean & functioning. Staff were all very friendly & helpful. Downstairs bar was a great added bonus. Would 100% stay again.