Ratings based on 142 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very luxurious Hotel in a perfect location

Posted Apr 18, 2018
Was very thrilled with my stay at the Mandarin Boston. The room is very large and the bathroom is huge. Top notch cleanliness and service from staff, who are very friendly. Also very important is that the rooms are really quiet. I heard nothing from the adjoining wall and nothing out the window except for the crowds cheering for the Boston Marathon and the public address announcer. That was OK, because I was there for the Boston Marathon and our 5th floor Bolyston street view gave my wife an excellent view of the race only a couple of blocks from the finish. Also the central heating and cooling system is excellent and you can choose your ideal temperature and it makes very little noise when it's on. The atmosphere in the room felt so peaceful and relaxing and with the level of luxury and cleanliness it just felt heavenly to me the 3 days I was there.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 8, 2018
The hotel is dated and urgently needs to be remodeled.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Not worth it

Posted Jan 26, 2018 on Hotels
Very disappointed. The food at the restaurant was just ok, the room service less so. The spa was a real let down, heavily chlorinated and the sauna out of service. It was all very expensive and simply not worth it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from washington

Needs work

Posted Oct 16, 2017
Great location and a wonderful staff. Our housekeeper surprised us with small favors like leaving a bookmark and a computer screen wipe on our laptop. Quality of room furnishings are well above average. Some low points included a TV with bad reception (that was repaired the next day) and bad light switches. The Mandarin has Japanese hotel-style light switches that allow whole room control. A couple of the switches were intermittently working and didn't get repaired. Our espresso maker was also unreliable. There was coffee in the lobby thankfully. Our mattress is probably due for replacement.
5 out of 5
by Jonathan

Party Boston

Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
Had a party going on next door and the hotel manager got us an upgrade room and made our stay very special.
3 out of 5
by KEE

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 25, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by ISAAC

So so

Posted Jul 3, 2017 on Hotels
They gave us an "upgrade" but it ended up being a room right across from the hotel gym and close to the access doorway to the floor (we heard everytime someone was coming in and out of the gym or the floor and this disturbed our sleep at night). The bed was too plush without back support. While it wasn't a huge deal, it was still disappointing that we never got our promised welcome drinks delivered to our room after check in.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 4, 2017
Back in Boston for my 20th Reunion -- simply the best hotel experience in the city -- wonderful place to take my family -- it is a 5+ class hotel, so expect to pay for quality, competition is the likes of Four Seasons -- cleanliness, comfort, prompt and elegant service all A++++, this is, without doubt in my mind, the best luxury hotel in town -- enjoy --
5 out of 5
by Joe

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 27, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Debra

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 21, 2017 on Hotels