Ratings based on 1,329 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from harwich, ma

Close to shopping and fenway!

Posted Sep 5, 2017
We stayed here and it was just what we needed. Room was clean and comfortable , complimentary breakfast was delicious ! Very peaceful stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 4, 2017
Perfect location for walking to all major attractions.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Worcester, MA

Move in weekend for daughters

Posted Sep 3, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Perfect location
Amazing location, great complementary full breakfast and free parking on the hippest street in Boston. It's perfect on all levels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2017
Pros: It is perfectly centered in Boston. It's close to the park, great shopping, fine restaurants and walkable to Fenway. What's not to love
Cons: Parking details were not adequate (behind the hotel) but not accessible from Newbury Street. Staff should be able to give directions for parking.
Location: Anything you want is right here - shopping, eating, pubs, parks, great place to walk.
We had a wonderful time and would book this hotel again. Great, free breakfast also!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas

Fabulous brownstone on Newbury

Posted Aug 14, 2017
Pros: We really liked the location, the style of the guest house, and the size and comfort of our room.
Cons: I would have liked regular toast and jelly at breakfast.
We loved the Boston feel of this guest house. It was right on Newbury Street, which has great shopping and dining choices, but our room was quiet and comfortable. We had a bay window room that overlooked the street and it was quite spacious. The breakfast buffet was sufficient each morning: sausage or bacon with eggs, fresh fruit and yogurt, juices, and croissants. The staff was friendly. The entry had a lovely sitting area where guests could look out onto the street. My husband and I probably could have stayed at a cookie cutter hotel for a cheaper price, but I'm glad we chose to stay at this great brownstone in the Back Bay area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Hidden Gem

Posted Aug 11, 2017
Pros: The chacacter and great location
Location: Walking distance to Fenway and all the great shops and restaurants on the street
We visited Boston for the first time and stayed at The Newbury Guest House. What a wonderful place and location! I wanted something different from the normal hotel stay and the Newbury Guest house was everything we were looking for. An old brownstone on Newbury street. Our room was great with a fireplace mantel in it. The bed was comfy and it was nice having a mini fridge in the room. We loved the breakfast that came with it. Home made eggs with bacon, sausage, french toast and potatoes with fried onions. The location was perfect, walking distance to Fenway and all the shops and restaurants on the street. And the best part great price for a stay in Boston. We would definitely recommend to our friends and will be back. This place is a hidden gem in the city of Boston.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Perfect Location

Posted Aug 1, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay at The Newbury. The location is ideal for eating and shopping and the room was spacious with a nice king bed. Because there's only 17 rooms, the place feels quiet and low key. High marks for cleanliness and a decent breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Great location and wonderful breakfast

Posted Jul 29, 2017
It was amazing to be in the heart of Back Bay and to see all the unique stores. Nothing like being next to the Harry Potter store. The subway was so close and the staff so helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Small, welcoming hotel in heart of the Back Bay

Posted Jul 27, 2017
Pros: location, comfort, staff.
Perfectly located in the heart of the the Back Bay, close to restaurants,shops, attractions, the subway. Comfortable and pleasant. The hotel staff is extremely helpful with advice and accommodating with special requests. The manager Eddie is particularly responsive. A great choice!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Venice,Fl

Nice central location.

Posted Jul 11, 2017
Comfortable stay. Within easy walking distance of all major attractions (i.e. Fenway Park, Boston Common). Quiet for a city hotel. Breakfast was included but food selections and efficiency of kitchen staff in replenishing food left room for improvement. Nighttime cookies put out for guests were awesome. Would stay here again.