Ratings based on 813 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Posted May 9, 2018
Wonderful place. Great location and price. The only thing holding back is the lack of an air conditioner. This could be an issue for anyone with breathing issues. Other than that, wonderful place!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

No, Just No.

Posted Apr 27, 2018
Location: Lots to do near by.
No one was their to check me in. They gave me the wrong door code. Smelled like old salt water, musty, I don't know. No parking. Just no.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Victorian Boston

Posted Apr 25, 2018
Beautiful, historic neighborhood near the Commons. close to downtown Boston fun. The rooms furnishings make you want to spend time in them, you fell like you are part of the late 1800's.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SC

Posted Apr 19, 2018
Wonderful place to stay! Comfortable roomy rooms and quiet sleep! Breakfast was good and cookies and coffee were excellent value adds! Helpful staff but also felt like we were happily alone in a large home with very few people. Will stay here again as it is also in a quiet and very nice area with easy walking access to all attractions and the public gardens and parks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Halifax, NS

Within walking distance to most historical sites

Posted Apr 3, 2018
We highly recommend this hotel if you're looking for an old-time Boston experience. Hotel seems geared towards couples and young travellers more than families. You won't find a TV in your room or a pool here. Room decor is in-line with the age of the building.Perfect central place to explore the touristy sites, experience shows, and shopping. Staff was very welcoming and informative as we checked-in. With any old wood building, you'll hear the squeaks of the floor as other guests walk the halls.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Mar 24, 2018 on Hotels
Very comfortable locale for business stay. Able to have a reasonable breakfast and nice place to relax after work. Nice coffee machine and dining area. Rooms a bit small but comfortable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 23, 2018 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Superb value!

Posted Dec 28, 2017 on Orbitz
The location is superb (on lovely block close to the Public Gardens), and the building is lovely and comfortable. My only complaint is that the heat did not seem to be on in my room at night, but there were plenty of warm blankets. I enjoyed my stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Birmingham, AL

Lovely.

Posted Dec 21, 2017
My first trip to Boston and this place was the real star of my star. It was beautiful, I couldn't ask for a better location, and the floors creaked with every step. I wanted to spend my days curled up in my room with a book, as opposed to venturing outside. I couldn't have asked for a better place to shake off the cold of Boston. The staff was welcoming and the place was absolutely charming and beautiful. My only issue is that it will not be open on my anniversary at the end of January. We were going to come to Boston and stay here, but renovations will be taking place. Until next time, I will return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Oklahoma City, OK

Quieter, historic stay close to Boston Common

Posted Dec 18, 2017
Pros: Character, uniqueness of building and rooms, feeling of spaciousness.
Cons: Wi-fi signal was either weak or intermittently cutting out on my floor. Made it difficult to work.
Location: Right by the Boston Public Garden and Boston Common, as well as shopping and eating on the streets right behind the hotel.
I loved the style and character of this hotel, a converted home built in the mid 1800s and with its own unique history of usage. You're within walking distance to many areas, but other forms of transportation are readily available. Nice place to stay if you want to explore downtown Boston.