Ratings based on 2,736 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 20, 2017
When I checked in, I was not greeted warmly. I had to wait for the person to finish what appeared to be a personal phone call (I can over look this). Once he hung up, he "processed" me, at least that is the way it felt. I had never been to this hotel. I was not informed of where my room was or where I could find the elevator. The weather was unseasonably warm and the room had no control to adjust the temperature. I ended up having to open a window. The gentleman at the desk in the morning was much friendlier. I felt that the décor was outdated. The bathroom was tiny. I have stayed in NYC at much nicer hotels for far less money. The positive is the proximity to conference and shopping/dining.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Illinois

Affordable hotel close to convention center

Posted Oct 19, 2017
Pros: Convenient, clean , quiet.
Cons: Drain in shower was very slow.
Location: It is near the Convention Center, Symphony Hall, the Library, Boylston Street, the Green and Orange lines of the T.
We stayed at the hotel while attending a meeting at the Hynes Convention Center. It was very convenient for walking, with shopping, dining, and other attractions nearby as well..Our room was clean and quiet.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

Very noisy and smelled strongly of disinfectant

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: smelly, institutional look.
The hotel water pipes shudder when people take showers, so woke up jet lagged at o'dark thirty as the first wave began showers. Right on a busy road, so lots of traffic noise. Smelled so strongly of disinfectant that I coughed for a couple hours before I was able to sleep. Between that and the noise first thing in the morn, I was exhausted after my stay. Room ok though, and location good for what I needed.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Terrible for the price

Posted Oct 18, 2017
Pros: location...that's about it
Cons: stop the price gouging
At best this is a less than average hotel- as a student staying there for a conference at Northeastern University I certainly expected better
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CT

Don’t stay here

Posted Oct 18, 2017
The hotel conditions are very run down. I could smell the mold when I walked in, but was in town for a conference and all other hotels were booked up. Although it is a convenient location it wasn’t worth the short walk or cost savings. I will say that the staff tried very hard to overcome these issues and were very friendly- right down to the housekeeper.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

New bug every day

Posted Oct 17, 2017
Every night I spent there I would find a new bug! The cleaning people were lazy, didn’t clean the shower nor did they take out any trash that wasn’t inside the small one gallon trash can (like my pizza box). They never replaced the rag I used in the shower - they left it there for all four days I was there! And I never got a replacement rag. The evening (weekday) desk crew was the BEST part of the whole hotel. They provided me with food recommendations and directions to other buildings around the city. However, the day shift and weekend staff were not so friendly. I was never greeted when I’d walk past the desk, when I asked about check out time the man was very short and sarcastic with me. Checkout time is noon - yet I had the cleaning crew trying to open my door at 8:00am! I probably wouldn’t come back to this hotel, and the two friendly desk men should REALLY work at a different more upscale hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Affordable hotel near Boston Symphony.

Posted Oct 15, 2017
Generally safistife, but full size SUV parking is not convenient.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pennsylvania

Great location!

Posted Oct 14, 2017
The Midtown Hotel was perfect for our long weekend in Boston. It was a short walk to dinner Saturday evening and an even shorter walk to the Symphony on Sunday. I would have preferred a ramp from the parking area to the lobby and from the lobby where there were about 8 steps to the floor to get the elevator.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond, VA

A Red carpet reception

Posted Oct 11, 2017
Pros: The courteous customer service.
Cons: N/a
Location: Great location. Walk to most dining and shopping. Loved the guest accomodation. You could access almost most attractions to see at the Boston area.
The hotel service was excellent. The staff was knowledgeable. The location was excellent. Met my expectation. Was clean and hospitable. Was good for the money in the Boston area.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Saratoga Springs, New York

The smell though...

Posted Oct 11, 2017
The front desk staff was rude and treated me like an idiot when i asked a simple question. There was also a horrible smell in the hotel, like someone had died there and they were trying to cover up the smell. The shower was bubbled and small, you almost hit your head on the ceiling when you got in and there was a huge bubble in the middle that made you slide all over. Also the cleaning lady came in to our room 3x before 10 am without even knocking,just walked right in.The only good thing was the location and the fact that they give you free parking if you attend a sporting event. Never again.