Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Mark

Rooftop Views Sunny and Amazing for relaxing

Posted Dec 26, 2016 on Hotels
Rooftop area was great for views and sunbathing. The saunas and the hot tub rarely worked even when requested. The room was nice with enjoyable porch views. Fast WiFi. Staff and entire hotel was a bit fatigued, weary and not energetic or kind. Very good restaurant (cooking and staff). Very basic hotel breakfast. Nice shuttle to the train station. I was very happy with the December pricing. Be aware that this is Wedding Central. Lots of weddings. My room was not loud however.
4 out of 5
by Charles from Florida

Posted Jul 11, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely hotel with lots of local guests and fabulous views.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from berkshire

Overnight stay

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Views
Location: Stunning position but need a car to get anywhere
Great view from the restaurant, nice food. Room not luxurious but clean and had everything you needed. Despite proximity to the bay it was too far to walk down to find a restaurant
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

No amenties worked.

Posted Apr 23, 2015
Came here for 2 nights. We had to keep asking front desk to turn on sauna and Turkish bath. Turkish bath smells. Needs to be cleaned. Hot tub is broken- kept asking front desk about it and they said it takes time to heat up- which I understand but heat kept going down and down and they didn't want to look at it. For 2 days it went down to 20 degrees C. It was cold. Water smelled like old fish and had stuff floating around. Also- needs to be cleaned. Room was good. Location was beautiful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Great location. Superb views. A hotel,with character, overall staff friendly enough.
4 out of 5
by Cheryl from Fort Lauderdale

Lovely retreat

Posted Oct 20, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely serene room, gorgeous view, nice bathroom. A little difficult to find on one-way, twisty, mountain roads but worth it. The only negative was that the restaurant attached to the hotel had a live band (we stayed on a Friday night) which was extremely loud, even with the balcony doors closed, and they played until after midnight. Also thin walls --- heard a bay crying next door probably due to the loud music.
5 out of 5
by pedrosoares from London

Lovely staff

Posted Aug 1, 2014 on Hotels
Lovely staff and lovely hotel with a beautiful view. We really enjoyed our stay and staff couldn't have been more accomodating. Highly recommended. Location can be a bit tricky if you're not driving but hotel provides a free shuttle to surrounding areas.
5 out of 5
by Stephen from CA

Close to Cuma

Posted Jun 26, 2014 on Hotels
We chose Il Gabbiano because of its proximity to the Cuma archaeological site (5 mins. away by car) and had a great stay. The staff was helpful, the view was amazing, and we enjoyed eating breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel.
1 out of 5
by Bob & Family from Houston

Near Naples

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Total renovation needed and add a lift
Location: No comment
Oh where to start. Stayed here 1 night because it was close to my customer in Fusaro. Locating the hotel was a nightmare. The expedia address is incorrect, google maps cannot locate it and only asking three different locals got us there an hour after arriving in the town. The hotel has no lift and the minimum stairs to any room are four flights. The rooms are advertised as having a view of the bay and if you lean far enough out the window you can see the bay (barely). The rooms are cramped and the bathroom is absolutely disgusting with mold and slime growing everywhere. The restraunt is a stark large room with bare walls and no appeal whatsoever. The starter was ok (mixed seafood) but the main course of veal was dry and tough. Internet was so slow it was virtually worthless. Never never stay here!
4 out of 5
by Jensen from Germany

Fine hotel but best in the summertime

Posted Dec 31, 2013 on Hotels