Ratings based on 43 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Traveller beware...

Posted May 20, 2017 on Hotels
Beware when tour buses come: restaurant at breakfast is nearly impossible, staff is overwhelmed - hotel should reserve a section for non-tour guest; also ran out of hot water in shower one of those tour days.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Freezing room.

Posted Dec 28, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is nice, and on a good location near the river, but the promised "river view" room looked over the side street. The room was so cold when we arrived that it took all night to warm up to a decent level. The hotel was hosting a large number of fixed price customers and could not explain clearly how we were to have dinner at the hotel. (We found a nice place a short distance up the river.) Not a bad place, but definitely not the level of service expected for a hotel of this type.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nova scotia

great place

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Big room with balcony overlooking the river. Great breakfast. Great views.
Cons: No smoking in the bar.
Location: Walk along the river and check out the great restaurants.
Nice hotel right on the Rhein river. Beautiful views of the water and Castle across the water. Lots of great places to eat just steps away.
3 out of 5
by KLAUS

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2016 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Back to the 70s

Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
Clean rooms but really old decor, dated furniture, old carpet floor, etc. It really isn't a 4 star hotel
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 13, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Pittsburgh PA USA

Great overall hotel

Posted May 21, 2014
Pros: Condition.
Cons: Communicate the way the lighting works at check in and the restaurant is on the grounds.
Location: This was a stopover for me, so I did not enjoy anything but the view out my window. It is on the riverbank with a walkway next to the water.
The great view started at the entrance. I arrived in May and the gardens were just starting to bloom. The lobby is clean and well maintained as is the room. The view from the window of my room looked out over the river with a church in the background. It was beautiful. The plumbing fixtures were in great shape and the overall condition of the facility was good. With all the good, the only issue I had was a scent of tobacco smoke in the room. Not a big issue, but I have grown accustom to smoke free hotels. Not a plus or a Minus, but you must manually turn on the hall lights with a switch outside your room, just an observation. I did eat at the hotel and the food was good, with good presentation and very nice taste. I was able to communicate with the nice gentlemen in English.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great Romantic getaway

Posted May 29, 2012 on Hotels
When I booked this hotel all we needed were 2 double rooms. Upon arriving we were told there were none available so we would get 2 apartments that were on the outer area. The apartment we were given was big enough to sleep 5 people comfortably with a kitchen. Our friends was larger enough to sleep 7. The furtinure was out dated but that was fine we only slept there. The breakfast had a wide variety. The bar/patio area was very nice over looking the river. I would recommend the hotel to others with large groups. I have no opinion on the the guest rooms attached to the hotel since we were given the apartments.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Velbert

Ein in die Jahre gekommenes Hotel direkt am Rhein

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: Die Lage direkt am Rhein
Cons: Der Frühstücksservice und die Badreinigung.
Das Hotel ist schon älter aber trotzdem nett. Für diesen Preis habe ich etwas mehr erwartet. Das Personal war sehr freundlich. Die Zimmerreinigung hätte besser sein können. Was mir überhaupt nicht gefallen hat ist der Frühstücksservice. Das Servicepersonal war nicht in der Lage die Tische mit neuen Gedecken einzudecken. So kam es vor das man einige Zeit vor einem leeren Tisch saß.