Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel but more attention to detail required

Posted May 10, 2016
Good hotel, very german. Not geared to international clientele. Great location
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 20, 2016
The hotel was absolutely divine!!! Will definitely be coming back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel with old world glamour

Posted Sep 5, 2015 on Hotels
Loved our stay - highly recommended!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Posted Mar 30, 2015
Pros: The view was amazing, nice place to walk around and just relax.
Very clean and quiet rooms. First class staff, very friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by rene from uk

Beautiful hotel in a quite beach location.

Posted May 13, 2014
Pros: Grand but relaxing
Cons: Valet parking was a bit strained
Location: Beach,, town 5 min away
A great relaxing experience with a fantastic restaurant and bar
4 out of 5
by Philip Bell from Sydney, Australia

good and bad

Posted Nov 5, 2013 on Hotels
The bedroom overlooking the ocean was a good size (even if the view was partly obscured), the private facilities were first class. The main dining room was excellent for dinner, and our second night we ate in the gourmet restaurant. The fitness centre is huge and extremely well cared for. criticisms (1) the table next to us on the first night had 2 small girls who, perhaps through boredom, jumped up and down and yelled throughout most of our meal. (2) We ate in the expensive restaurant next door and making a reservation early, we were shown to a centre table with another person's name on the reserved card. (3) the gentleman at the next table took a flash photograph of EVERYTHING placed on his table - the bread, the butter, the wine glass, the label on the wine bottle, the wine IN the wine glass. My Aussie sarcasm about being on a ship coming into port with the lighthouse signal hitting us every few minutes seemed to go over the head of the waiter. The 'oh, sorry for the inconvenience' comment rang rather hollow, especially as the meal cost over (can't say!!) for 2 people. (5) If I return, I will make sure it is midweek hoping not to get crowded out of the spa by screaming little children - themselves or their fathers - thinking it great fun to splash everywhere and consequently, everyone. But, hey, I WOULD return, the hotel is really very lovely.
5 out of 5
by CJ from New York

Outstanding High End Place

Posted Jun 23, 2013 on Hotels
Beautiful setting, terrific eye for the detail and service orientation, children's offering with three story mansion dedicated to playing out of this world.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Strasbourg

Luxe calme et volupté

Posted Aug 19, 2008 on Hotels
Chic, élégant avec un spa merveilleux et une vue sur la Baltique à couper le souffle, cet établissement est sans conteste un des fleurons de l'hôtellerie allemande.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Suffolk

Lives up to its name - Grand!

Posted Aug 6, 2007
Wonderful hotel and spa. Magnificently restored and refurbished buildings located along the baltic coast. Rooms were spacious and luxurious with either park or sea view. Marble bathrooms with loads of soft towels, robes and plenty of lotions and potions! Spa included large indoor pool, jacuzzi, various saunas (including Finnish), Hammam and even an ice room for the brave! Again plenty of towels, robes, slippers, toiletries. Food was excellent with vast selection of internatiional wines. Breakfast buffet style with wide choice of European and American foods. Service first class with polite unobtrusive staff who all spoke perfect English! Mostly very polite German and Scandinavian guests. We appeared to be the only Brits - maybe this wonderful hotel is a well kept secret! Expensive but worth it!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Düsseldorf

Eines der wenigen "wirklichen" Grand Hotels

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: gepflegtes Umfeld, geschmackvolle Einrichtung, sehr gutes Essen, Nähe zur See, liebevoller Umgang mit den Gästen
Cons: es gibt immer Kleinigkeiten zu verbessern, aber das sollte vor Ort mit den zuständigen Mitarbeitern besprochen werden.
Location: Wismar, Schloss Grönitz,, Schloss Bothmer, Rostock Schwering, Warnemünde, Darß, Bad Doberan
Heiligendamm ist wie eine eigene Welt, die es erlaubt für ein paar Tage die "Seele baumeln" zu lassen, Top-Lage, wunderbare Architektur, traumhaftes Umfeld, toller Spa-Bereich, excellentes Essen, zuvorkommender Service.