Ratings based on 79 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 7, 2018
Great property. Very elegant. Spacious. The heating system, while functional, is rather antiquated.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach

Posted Oct 21, 2018
This facility is historic, although completely up to date, and the spa and thermal spring were both amazing. The finishes in the spa and hotel in marble and granite are fit for a king, and in fact Kaiser Wilhelm I made the Hacker his summer residence for many years in the latter part of the 19th century. The current owner has obviously made large capital improvements in this facility and the staff here was very helpful and accommodating. I don’t think current descriptions of this hotel really describe how wonderful it is, or the quality of its spa. We couldn’t have enjoyed it more!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 13, 2018 on Hotels
Very good
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Top quality facility with service to match.

Posted Apr 1, 2018 on Hotels
The overall facility was spectacular, with a very nice wellness area that included saunas, pool and hot tubs. The breakfast buffet was also great, with a large selection of items including an omelette bar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 12, 2018 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Martin

The Grand Budapest Hotel in Bad Elms Germany.

Posted Oct 24, 2017 on Hotels
The Grand Budapest Hotel. But in Bad Elms. It's like out of the movies, with all the elegance and trappings of a 1930's hotel. Even the manager is Hungarian, who helps the old ladies all covered in makeup and furs to their cars. The food is not great, but it's typical of the area, the resteraunt is in the same style as the rest of the hotel and worth going to just for trappings and the view. The bar, I have never in my life seen such large drinks, gin and tonic is 90% gin and 10% tonic. A rum in a brandy glass and they have a good selection of Latin American rums was a good measure. The bar has a novel horse race track that keeps you fascinated for while. The bar man a generous host. I would go back to the Grand Budapest hotel of Bad Elms, dress in character, and look for the bell boy, he must be there somewhere.
5 out of 5
by Richard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 28, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spa Hotel

Posted May 20, 2017
The hotel was very nice. The only issue we had was with the bed. It was very hard and not comfortable at all. I loved the spa amminties and the old world feel of the place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor value for money.

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Disappointing stay. Reservations had no record of our booking. Room was noisy and smelly due to proximity to kitchen and ventilation systems. Poor value for money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels