Ratings based on 51 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Spa Hotel

Posted May 20, 2017
The hotel was very nice. The only issue we had was with the bed. It was very hard and not comfortable at all. I loved the spa amminties and the old world feel of the place.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor value for money.

Posted Oct 4, 2016 on Hotels
Disappointing stay. Reservations had no record of our booking. Room was noisy and smelly due to proximity to kitchen and ventilation systems. Poor value for money.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 16, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
Overall a fantastic hotel with luxury spa facilities (non-German speakers should however be aware that those mixed-gender and textile-free). Charging extra for credit card payments in a way contributes to the out-of-this time atmosphere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Luxury hotel misses the mark

Posted Oct 2, 2015
Pros: Its location and its overwhelming period decoration.
Cons: Stop smoking inside the hotel The restaurant performance needs a thorough overhaul.
Location: Bad Ems is a beautiful town on the River Lahn, surrounded by forested Rhineland hills. Driving down the side of the Rhine is a magical experience.
The hotel and its fittings and furniture have been restored to the glory it had in the days of European royalty and aristocracy. Everything is gold and tapestry, and attracts an older clientele. But the operation of the hotel fall far short of satisfactory, despite the high rates charged. The restaurant performance left much to be desired, with fancily presented food, but not not at all appetizing. It is hard to believe that smoking is still permitted in the only bar in the hotel, and that area simply stank of smoke, even when empty early in the morning.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Clean, well maintained but dated.

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Pros: beautiful location, friendly staff, good amenities, it was the only hotel at short notice near Koblenz where I had to go. Cons: terrible wifi signal in room 350 (found a free hotspot so used this), shower drainage didn't work so flooded the room (cleaners were excellent), room looked very dated (lots of beige and gold, not my thing!), safe didn't work (I had a car so took valuables with me), don't accept Amex and there was a 5 Euro charge to use a UK Visa debit.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from toronto

Disappointing experience in Bad Ems

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Cons: Policy of charging guests for paying with credit cards, service in general
Location: Great location. Small town.
This hotel should be a 5 stars.....but it is not even close....The building is superb and the clean and somewhat overly decorated lobby gives the impression of a 19th century palace. Unfortunately the service is just not up to par....there is no concierge service, so you have to carry your luggage yourself, No turn down service in the room, and our experience in the restaurant was just awful....We asked if it was possible to have just dessert and coffee, and immediately were treated like second class citizens. We were taken to a table at the very end of the restaurant with no chairs (!)....( chairs were brought up eventually....). The full length candle on our table was even replaced with a 2cm dying one.....all this with no smile and in a quite unfriendly manner. The bed in the room was the most uncomfortable we've had in a long time. The mattress was completely caved in.....and finally at the time of check out we were advised that if we wanted to pay with a credit card, we would be charged a supplement of €10.... When we expressed our surprise at this, we were shown a notice in German only...outlying their policy......I can't imagine that too many people these days would carry large sums of cash to pay hotels while traveling......so this looks like another way to to grab a few more bucks from unsuspecting guests....it' s unfortunate because the potential is there to be a world class property.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Imperial Opulence in an Idyllic Setting

Posted Apr 15, 2015 on Hotels
The Haacker Grand Hotel is a beautiful building in the grand continental imperial style. Very opulent but well maintained and seemed to have been recently renovated but in keeping with the original style so it felt like you imagine it would have when first built. Everything was sumptuous and the staff were very friendly and attentive. We were there out of season and there were very few guests which was nice as it felt like we had the place to ourselves. The town was also very quiet and most places seemed like they were closed until summer. It is a beautiful town however with the gentle Lahn running through it and you can easily explore the surrounding idyllic countryside in an hour or so of hiking. There is also a brand new, very modern looking Spa building by the river called the Emser Therme that we didn't have a chance to go to but looked very inviting. There is plenty to keep you occupied in the hotel though if you don't feel like venturing out, the spa is very clean and very luxurious with a variety of different saunas, steam rooms, calendariums, jacuzzis and an excellent ice room. You might plan to travel to Koblenz if you are looking for a night out on the town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from s

Lovely short getaway

Posted Nov 9, 2014
We stayed in room 273 which had 2 balconies, a soaringly high ceiling and fantastic views up & down the river. Only slightly negative thing was the quality of the linen. Restaurant was good, excellent service from Herr Lenz. Massage one of the best 10/10, great spa facilities, water could be warmer in the outdoor spa.
4 out of 5
by stewart from Austin, TX

Strange experience

Posted Oct 25, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel was very nice, but strange. Very few people there, very old people, repairs going on all over hotel. Desk clerk wouldn't give us a different room with view, even though obvious many rooms were available. Also, town is very strange, only one real restaurant, no night life, no pubs, nothing to do -would not go back to town or hotel