Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.9 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 23, 2017 on Hotels
This is an outstanding place if you are looking for the old Austria. I could easily imagine my grandparents staying here 50-100 years ago. Very nice owners, good food. Easy to walk to the old tourist centre or off into the woods.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Beautiful little hotel in a lovely alpine town!

Posted Oct 3, 2015
Pros: The character and the velvety touches.
Location: The walk to the main area is a bit of a trek; however the hotel does offer a shuttle service.
I highly recommend a stay at the Villa Excelsior. Christof and his family will take excellent care of you. Staying in the hotel was like stepping back in time, yet with modern conveniences. In a short time, we felt like we were staying in a comfortable family home. As well, I highly recommend taking advantage of the dinner offer. The food was excellent and a good value. We will definitely return and stay for a longer period.
5 out of 5
by julie

A Walk With History

Posted Aug 12, 2015 on Hotels
As a writer by profession, I can admit that even I am at a loss to find enough words of praise for the Villa Excelsior. Everywhere you look is a gift for the eyes. Christof, the owner, has lovingly restored this building which remains perhaps one of the only testaments in Bad Gastein to the way life was once lived.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A hotel with personal service and great atmosphere

Posted Mar 5, 2015 on Hotels
Great small hotel with personal service and an atmosphere from times long past. Food was excellent, location perfect, with a short 5 min walk to the historical center and a 10 min walk into the center of Bad Gastein.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Eine Zeitreise

Posted Feb 11, 2018
Die Villa Excelsior bietet mit ihrem Möbellierung eine Zeitreise ins Ende des 19. Jahrundert. Die Einrichtung lebt von der Liebe zum Detail. Hier kann man sich vorstellen , wie man zur Blütezeit von Bad Gastein in den Hotels gewohnt hat. Gemütliche Atmosphäre und eine gute Abwechslungsreiche Küche runden den Aufenhalt ab.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 9, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Michaela

Perfect holiday

Posted Aug 2, 2017 on Hotels
Villa Excelsior is truly wonderful place where to stay in Bad Gastein, restored by owners Christof and Joanna with love and understanding and equipped with beautiful antique furniture. Whole is crowned by really friendly staff and excelent services and food. Definitely come back and recommend to my friends :-)
5 out of 5
by Magnus


Posted Jul 24, 2017 on Hotels
Jättefint och trevligt hotell med bra frukost! Välstädat och bra rum. Jättetrevlig och hjälpsam personal!
4 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Suomi


Posted Jul 8, 2017 on Ebookers
Pros: Korkeat hyvät huoneet, ylellinen parveke, uima-allas. Puolihoito oli hyvä, koska ravintoloita oli vähän paikkakunnalla.
Cons: Aamupalaan enemmän vaihtelua
Location: Hyvällä paikalla, tosin yöllä pimeässä oli vähän vaikeuksia löytää perille.
Mukava, historiaa henkivä hotelli, jota perhe piti. Uima-allas, ympärillä upeat alpit ja erityyppiset vaellusreitit. Palvelu hyvää, illalla myöhään tullessa huoneessa odotti iltapala!