Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Benjamin

This a great place to stay while in Bonn

Posted Jun 27, 2017 on Hotels
This is a very decent hotel that is situated in a good location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Essex

Hot rooms!

Posted Jun 6, 2017
Pros: The breakfast ws plentiful and fresh.
Cons: Air-conditioning needed in rooms. Larger shower cubicles.
Location: Great location near to shops, restaurants and the castle.
Returned to the Insel after a 30-year break to find it upgraded and modern. However, our double room was stifling; the only 'air conditioning' was a small fan which just pushed the hot air around. Also, the shower cubicle was the smallest ever.
5 out of 5
by Damian

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 21, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Alistair

Posted Mar 26, 2017 on Hotels
Very good for business people attending Kolnmesse but not wanting to pay Cologne prices. About 35 minutes by train to the venue. Very polite staff and a good breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Stuart

Ideal for business stop

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
Night stop on business Good wifi, parking and close to local shops, breakfast was excellent Only down side was the thin summer duvet in January was rather cold
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NAS, BAHAMAS

Quaint hotel with excellent breakfast

Posted Feb 22, 2016
I have stayed at the Insel a few timed and enjoy every moment of it
4 out of 5
by Mohammed from Barbados

Recommended

Posted Jun 17, 2015 on Hotels
I have stayed here three times when visiting Bonn for work. The first time I stayed almost 3 weeks, the second time about 1 1/2 weeks and the third time almost 3 weeks. The rooms are clean, small and basic. The breakfast is nice but not elaborate and eating the same thing morning after morning does become a chore. There is a severe shortage of irons/ironing boards so make sure to request one when checking in although this is no guarantee that one will be made available immediately. The staff for the most part are nice but I did encounter one very rude guy at reception and one rude housekeeping staff member. The latter I never saw again after my first trip. The former was still there on my third and I came very close to losing my temper with him. The location is convenient and I prefer it to Bonn because of the variety of foods- there is Turkish/Kurdish/Arabic among others to choose from.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Return to Bad Godesberg

Posted Mar 13, 2015 on Hotels
I was pleasantly surprised with this hotel. The town of Bad Godesberg is a little sleepy now that all of the embassy folk seem to have relocated to Berlin (assume this happened many years ago but I haven't been back here in a while) but this hotel is very nice for this area. The staff were extremely nice and helpful.
4 out of 5
by Mohammed from Barbados

Comfortable and adequate

Posted Oct 31, 2014 on Hotels
Stayed here twice this year. About 18 nights in the first instance and about 9 in the second. Convenient, adequate, serves its purpose. Small room and bathroom but clean, tidy. Breakfast is a spread of breads, cheeses, meats, boiled eggs, pastries, fruit and cereals. The first time I stayed, I encountered a few rude employees who did not seem to think my need to iron my clothes before work was important but after complaining the matter was settled. This place is not luxurious but it suits its purpose if you are in Bonn for business and need a comfortable, clean place to stay. It is also conveniently located near a number of food places which serve a variety of dishes. This is crucial for someone like me who is not a fan of bland German food.