Ratings based on 52 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Thomas

Posted Jul 22, 2017 on Hotels
Being located under the roof, the room did feel a little small. We did not find the elevator so we carried our luggage upstairs, which was slightly inconvenient.
4 out of 5
by Stephen

Hill top situation

Posted May 26, 2017 on Hotels
Chosen as it was convenient for parking on our way home for an overnight stay. The hotel is clean and the staff welcoming. Our room was a little old fashioned but was spacious and a comfortable bed, seating area, TV and a coffee maker. The breakfast was an excellent buffet in the German style. It has a lot of available free parking. Reached by road it's positioned on a hill overlooking the town. If you are reasonably fit you can as we did walk down some steps into town to explore the attractive old town - 10 minutes. The hotel serves breakfast and recommends the close by cliff top neighbouring restaurant built on the ruins of an old Schloss with incredible views about 5 minutes level walk.
5 out of 5
by Jan from Los Angeles

Countryside hotel overlooking beautiful valley

Posted May 1, 2016 on Hotels
This hotel is on the top of a small mountain and has a related restaurant with a great view over the city and aldstadt. Great place for relaxing stay
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa

Great location. Quiet. Close to everything.

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Great location. Great breakfast. Wonderful friendly staff.
Cons: Perfect as it is.
Location: The castle is nearby. The bars and restaurants are a short walk away.
The hotel is up on a hill over town. It's easy to walk down to the bars and restaurants about 700m away. If I have a complaint, it's that Germans love split mattresses and tiny blankets. It's no wonder the population is declining. If you like your partner you have to make the best of it - not a problem with the hotel - just a cultural beef - and I'm a German living in Canada... The food in the restaurant down the road at the castle is great - same owners. This is more of a small local place frequented more by Germans than by tourists. It would be great for tourism because it's in the heart of wine country with gorgeous vistas of the hills and vines. We went for long walks in the evenings in fresh air and countryside but minutes outside town.
4 out of 5
by Peter from Stamford

Great hotel

Posted Jun 29, 2015 on Hotels
Very good hotel in a great location, the only recommendation I'd give is that they should offer a small bar snack menu for those who don't fancy the walk to the restaurant - although it's a nice walk and a great restaurant
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great small hotel and restaurant

Posted Apr 8, 2015 on Hotels
Great small hotel and restaurant, staff was really helpful. Rooms are a bit old, but really comfortable. I would recommend for a short stay. The restaurant is 5 min on foot.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harleysville, PA

Kauzenburg Stay

Posted Dec 18, 2014
Pros: Locations, staff, and restaurant.
Cons: N/A
Location: Spas are close by.
The hotel is nice and the restaurant is wonderful. The hotel staff was very curteous and helpful. The locations was on a hill top overlooking the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Springfield

Four nights of comfort for our retirement trip

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Pros: The staff, the room, and the location were perfect for our needs.
Cons: An English-speaking news channel and an elevator.
Location: Easy access to the Middle Rhine. This hotel is only for those driving in Germany.
From this hotel, we cruised the Rhine, both by boat and car, and went to Mainz to the Guttenberg Museum. The hotel staff was awesome. They were very helpful and worked very hard to use their English since our German was seriously lacking. Their recommendations for restaurants were spot-on. Their breakfast was the best in our 26 days of travel. The room was clean, quiet, and spacious. We definitely would stay here again and recommend it without hesitation.
5 out of 5
by James Messer from USA

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2014 on Hotels
I would recommend this hotel. It is comfortable, the staff is very responsive and the nearby restaurant has spectacular views. A must in Bad Kreuznach.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by maddy from belgium

nice hotel,beautiful area.

Posted May 26, 2014
I loved location,hotel is near forest and farm land,only 15 minutes walk to the city . Hotel is clean and bad was comfortable.