Ratings based on 85 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
66% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by Pako from Botswana

Stay at Avalon Hotel

Posted Aug 20, 2015 on Hotels
A wonderful hotel to stay in. Friendly staff, conveniently located to access tourist attractions and view from the hotel was awesome. The rooms were clean and comfortable and breakfast was great. Definitely worth another visit.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Berlin, Gulf region, USA

rude restaurant staff

Posted Aug 5, 2015
Pros: location
Cons: response and adress the problems caused by rude staff. customer care. tolerance to other nationalities
Location: Koenigssee boat trip, Summer rodelbahn, Berg fahrt
No freindly, welcoming face expresion received from the managerial staff, especially upon trying to solve problems resulting from bad hotel staff behaviour. Bad incidense took place at the restaurant during the breakfast, where easily everyone from other nationality or world regions becomes bad words in german, said by a middle age female restaurant staff, since she was confident that no non national looking guests would understand german. As I asked the lady about the reason of her bad comments behind my back, she replied that other guests told her about my 17 year old daughter (playing with the cheese plate) and she admitted to say these bad comments, even if she didn't witness the incidence. Unaccepltable responce from the manager, who showed full support towards the staff, cause I went to him to report the case and I was very upset. No hotel guest deserved to be treated this way and I don't know who can give good feed back about these people.
4 out of 5
by Huyustus

Good hotel, very nice staff

Posted Jul 15, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice Hotel, with an awesome breakfast.
5 out of 5
by United States from Arizona

Great place to stay

Posted Jun 17, 2014 on Hotels
This was my first time staying at this location. Right across from the train station, secure parking (reached only with a lift) only three vehicles in the whole parking lot, only 5 euro's a day for parking. Rooms were very clean. and a very good breakfast. Very friendly staff and very helpful. I would recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by ed from Colorado

Relocated to the Avalon by Expedia

Posted Oct 6, 2013
Pros: The staff, room, and restaurant facilities.
Cons: Nothing
Location: We were only passing through.
Our original hotel had been closed and Expedia made new reservations for us at the AVALON....... We were pleasantly pleased but very exhausted and surprised about the other hotel being closed....!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing Fancy

Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels
The hotel is fairly easy to get to from the autobahn. While the hotel does offer pay-for-parking, there is a small free lot within a 2 minute walk which was a nice option. The free breakfast was a little limited on selection, but was VERY tasty. My only warning to American visitors is that the hotel has not a/c; so summer months travel makes for hot rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 6, 2013 on Hotels
good breakfast, good location,good parking but not included, we ask for another room but they said they are fully booked.
4 out of 5
by Kris

Close to railroad station.

Posted Jul 19, 2012 on Hotels
The hotel was nice, clean and convenient to the railroad station. Rooms were noisy being on the main street. Food was very good. Also had a nice underground garage for your car. Small reception at front. It was convenient to visiting Salzburg Austria and other towns in Germany.
3 out of 5
by C K Chew

Close to Salzburg

Posted Jul 3, 2012 on Hotels
We have 2 rooms facing the main road during our stay. The rooms are not airconditioned and when the doors to the balcony are opened to get some ventilation, we have all the noise from the passing traffic which had affected our sleep. If we closed the doors, we could not sleep because the rooms are hot and stuffy.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Reciechenhall

Posted Jul 1, 2012 on Hotels
Very acceptable. Only complaint is ice was not available.