Ratings based on 273 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Great location, elegant historic hotel

Posted Sep 25, 2017
Cons: Update showers. The paint on our shower wall was chipping quite a bit.
Location: Restaurants, church, park, casino, and lots of shopping. There are two Chocolate shops close by that are must sees!
The location of this hotel is wonderful - right on the end of the Pedestrian walk with the many shops and restaurants and close to the massive park and classy casino. The staff were wonderful, professional and accommodating to our group of 20 guests. Note: Since this hotel is on pedestrian only walkway, if you bring a bus, the bus has to drive on this walkway to let passengers off and on. This seems to be acceptable and expected in the town. The hotel is very elegant. As with other reviews, there are some areas that could use updating, but it was still a very comfortable stay. The rooms with balconies have a large balcony with beautiful views. We would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2017 by TM, Hotel Management
Dear Rosanna, thank you very much for taking the time to write this review. I am very happy that you and your Group had a pleasant stay with us and you enjoyed the tradtional charme of our Hotel. I am especially happy about the praise for our staff and I have already passed it on to them. Rosanna, I trust you had a safe and comfortable onward journey and I hope you will be visiting us again on your next trip to Bad Reichenhall. Kind regards, Thomas Marusczyk Resident Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Grande Dame of Bad Reichenhall hotels

Posted Aug 26, 2017
The hotel was at its prime quite a few years ago, and is now a little worn and tired. Location is good for access to Berchtesgaden, Salzburg and surrounding region. Absence of air condition in rooms makes rooms very hot and stuffy in the summer. Swimming pool is good; gym is very limited. Breakfast and breakfast restaurant are excellent, although staff are remarkably grumpy and unfriendly. Food in the Axel Stuberl restaurant was ok.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 30, 2017 by TMarusczyk, Hotel Management
Dear FBL, thank you very much for reviewing your stay with us. Thank you very much for your praise of our breakfast, however I am very sorry that you found our staff not friendly. I have adressed this with my Restaurant Manager already, as this is certainly not up the our usual, high Standard. FBL, thank you once again and I do hope we will see you again in the not too distant future. Kind regards, Thomas Marusczyk Resident Manager
5 out of 5
by GERTRUDE P

Posted Jul 6, 2017 on Hotels
We've stayed here several times before. The location at the end of the pedestrian area is great. This old hotel has great bones but could use some maintenance and updating. All in all, we had a comfortable stay and would recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017
Dear Gertrude, thank you very much for your review and for recommending our hotel. I am especially pleased that you have stayed several times with us already and I do hope your next visit will not be too far off. Kind regards, Thomas Marusczyk Resident Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles, ca

Don't come here if weather is hot!

Posted Jun 30, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The hotel has history and charm. The staff bent over backwards to help us make the best of a bad situation.
Cons: Advise people when they book to check hot weather forecast before committing to their booking. Sort of in the same way we are told no pets, etc.
Location: This is a quiet area of town with nice walks. Close to train station and to access Eagle's Nest.
Weather was in the low 90's when we came here in late June. Although weather cooled into high 70's by evening, there was no way to cool the room. We were given a fan and told to open all windows and patio door. Although the hotel has a 4 star rating, we didn't think it deserved the rating if a room cooling to 70-72 was impossible.
4 out of 5
by Rachel

Nice hotel in a great location

Posted Apr 19, 2017 on Hotels
Nice hotel that is definitely fading and in need of a refurb. However very clean and rooms were of an excellent size. Breakfast was great - especially as it was open till 11am. Only complaint was that the room was not serviced on one morning. Housekeeping knocked at 8am and we asked them to come back. Despite leaving the room at 9.30am no one did come back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017 on Hotels
worst experience. they have charged me twice and did not get a refund.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old world hotel

Posted Sep 27, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely older hotel with great history. Spa town with incredible features, love visiting here. Would definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 30, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, it is great to read that you enjoyed your stay and had a good time in Bad Reichenhall. We would like to thank you for your posting and we would love to welcome you again in our hotel. Best regards, Daniela Leopold, EAM
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Urban getaway

Posted Aug 21, 2016 on Hotels
Out in country. Many outdoor things to do. Quiet and beautiful
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time and posting your review here. We love to hear, that you enjoyed your time in Bad Reichenhall and our hotel. Best regards, Daniela Leopold, EAM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Brackley, UK

Friendly staff, good food.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Staff, breakfast, beds, balcony, views.. all lovely.
Cons: Cleanliness of room. Two shards of glass on the carpet, found in a very uncomfortable way by my daughter's and my feet! Also, fix that pool!
Location: Good location for exploring Austria and Bavaria. Salt mines, Eagles Nest, ice cave at Werfen and local cable car are all worth a trip.
A pleasant hotel, lovely friendly staff and loved the buffet breakfast. Probably wouldn't recommend the evening buffet though, a little over-priced at €29. The rollaway bed for our daughter made the room feel quite cramped and a couple of nights were uncomfortably hot, even with the balcony door and window open, as there was no air conditioning. Both my daughter and myself cut our feet on shards of glass on the carpet, which was a bit of a shock I have to say! Beds were really comfortable and staff super helpful wherever possible, always with a smile. I must say though, that it was a great disappointment that the pool was out of action for the entire length of our eight day stay. This was perhaps the main reason for booking this particular hotel and so not to have the use of it was not good. The hotel receptionists were extremely apologetic did try and make amends by paying for our trip to the local baths/spa, but this took a day out of exploring the area, as we wanted to spend just half an hour or so at the end of each day enjoying a dip in the hotel's own pool. All in all, a good stay, but with some disappointments.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 31, 2016 by D.Leopold, Hotel Management
Dear guest, thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at our hotel and posting your review here. We already discussed some points and your review helps us to learn and to improve our services. It would be great to have you as our guest again, to have the chance to show our efforts. All the best, Daniela Leopold, EAM
4 out of 5
by Robert from Newport Beach, California

Wonderful Bavarian visit!

Posted May 29, 2016 on Hotels
Used hotel as a jump off place for Sa;zburg and environs! Beautiful town and location.......Bad Reichenall, Austria.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2016 by Bjoern, Hotel Management
Dear Robert, thank you very much for choosing our hotel. We are delightes to hear, that you enjoyed your stay and we would be happy to welcome you again in future! All the best reagards, Daniela Leopold, Executive Assistant Manager