Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Huntington, WV

Posted Sep 22, 2015
We had an absolutely huge room that was very comfortable. The two ladies at the front desk were exceptionally friendly and a joy to talk with. We would recommend the restaurant for both dinner and breakfast. Try the Thai Nachos. They were fantastic!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Great property and view

Posted Sep 17, 2015
Pros: Property, view, staff and good.
Cons: Update bathrooms a bit.
Location: Best lobster dinners anywhere.
A little dated. Great view, friendly helpful staff, very good restaurant and overall positive experience. We was my third stay and would come back again.
3 out of 5
by Christine from Barrie,on

Not recommending had reservation got poor room

Posted Sep 14, 2015 on Hotels
Room in back of lodge buses idling in morning for at least 20 min outside window, coffee awful
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful lodge but rooms need an upgrade

Posted Sep 12, 2015
The Lodge is very nice. Our room smelled moldy. They really need to clean them up, We had dinner in the dining room and the food was excellent!
4 out of 5
by Samuel from Waterloo, Iowa

Posted Sep 11, 2015 on Hotels
We got in late and the staff was very accommodating. Good location. Comfortable rooms. Was there just one night but would stay there again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Our stay in Baddeck

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Hotels
very nice and accommodating
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by Wayne from Hillsboro OR

Very poor value

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel said that since "we booked with Expedia" that we got the basement room, which included mold on the bathroom tile, high humidity, and non-working thermostat and general depressing surroundings. We've stayed in worse rooms before but never for such an inflated price. Would have moved out the first night except that per Hotels.com once registered a customer cannot move and get a refund. Never book with Hotels.com again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointed

Posted Sep 8, 2015
Pros: The location to the lake. Close to Pizza place which was yummy.
Cons: -the view, fitness room could have been cleaner.
We were placed at the East Wing-terrible view. Apparently, folks from Ontario are given the East Wing. Fitness room was dirty-dead insects. However, staff were very accommodating. Staff member opened the fitness room at 6am for my use.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Baddeck hotel with beautiful lake views

Posted Sep 6, 2015
Pros: Location is good and Baddeck is a pleasant village. Restaurant was a good standard.
Cons: Room was a bit dated, but comfortably accommodated three adults. Nice to have a separate sitting area.
Location: Baddeck is an ideal location for touring Cape Breton.
Arrived after a long drive in torrential rain. Things improved after an enjoyable meal in the hotel restaurant, and the weather cleared up to reveal gorgeous views of Bras d'Or lake. We used hotel as a base for touring Cape Breton.