Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Atlanta

My time at Badian Island

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Pros: The food options are great, and the healthy choosing as well. I like the beaches and the low tides when I visited the hotel. The staff is amazing
Cons: internet access is a no go in the suites and only available in the front office. If you plan on going, tell your friends & Co. u headed offline
Location: Great proximity to great diving, Kasawan Falls and not too far from touring Whale Sharks
It was a great experience to visit the Island and the resort. It's the perfect settings for couples and honeymooners.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Surprised

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Didn't know till I arrived that I had to take a short boat ride to get to the resort. That's ok, but found out I cannot be off the resort after 10pm because they don't offer the boat service. So that was discouraging because we wanted to go listen to some live music but had know way to return. Also had to sacrifice a paid night stay there and get a hotel near the airport because of the boat service hours. The bed and pillows were extremely uncomfortable. The sink drain and overhead shower did not work properly. Now let me say the staff was wonderful. Even at times understaffed it seemed, they were very kind. Spa with Carren was excellent. Food is good. Beach is ok, but do not expect a large smooth Sandy beach.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philippines

Great Hotel staff

Posted Sep 7, 2016 on Orbitz
We were greeted with smiles and a lei of kalachuchi/plumeria. Staff was very friendly and helpful. The only compaint I have regarding the hotel is that its very dated and not well maintained. The dock was missing a few steps and scared it may give. The rooms were old and rustic, maybe a feel of being in an old cottage but AC was starting to drip in our room at the end of out stay and looked like it hasn't been replaced since the 80's. You also don't have a way to get around except walk! No golf cart or even just bikes or pedicab to get around since its a large property. Especially if you want to go to the best location for swiming/snorkeling. Otherwise you will need to wait for high tide to use the boat shuttle. The coral garden is a must go. I've been to many reefs all over the world, including the barrier reef and this is awesome withhout the need to take a boat ride for 2 hours. Its just a 2 minute swim from shore. :). The island also gives you a secluded feel and relaxation. Oh btw. No TV. Hehe. I wouldn't rate the hotel a 5 star, but a mere 3.5 maybe because of awesome staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2016 on Hotels
It's not worth the price
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 17, 2016 on Hotels
i booked this hotel to have a quiet, serene, beautiful getaway for rest. the first day there was phenomenal, however we soon learned that a group of 80 was arriving the next day for 'survivor' style team building activities. the big speakers were being set up, lights, games. we expressed our deep concern to the staff that this activity would ruin the quiet, beautiful atmosphere we had traveled far to experience. the next morning, we asked to check out early and have our money refunded for the prepayment of that night. the manager said that it was not possible and after a lengthy discussion, the manager showed suberb judgement and found several other ways to boost the serenity and relaxtion of our trip. we were then so glad we stayed and so pleased in how he treated us. because of that service i would return again. the island and resort is beautiful, and extremely relaxing on its own (without the loud team building activity!)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 21, 2016
Rooms need to be updated. They are beginning to show there age. Food menu was a little pricey for the quality of the food. Would consider going back if some small renovations are done.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay!

Posted Jan 12, 2016
What a nice oasis hotel/resort! Lovely staff,great food, wonderful beach restaurant and bar, has own "coral reef" they keep pristine A guide takes you out and really beautiful corals at no charge Very accomadating to all our excursions and transfers. Only downfall is getting there -- drive is crazy 3 hours from airport
1 out of 5
by Jessica

Not Recommended

Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels
Everything is overpriced. Not recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredibly quiet stay with warm, sincere staff

Posted Oct 3, 2015
We spent two nights in Mactan, the artificial resort enclave near the airport and two nights at Badian. It was an absolutely amazing, warm stay that made us forget about the 4 hr ride getting there and out. From our arrival, every single staff who helped us, walked passed us, or saw us from afar, made sure to say hello with a smile. The resort is a bit old but it's complete different from those flashy resorts in Mactan. The facilities were designed to sit well with the natural surroundings. Every single time they cleaned our room, they decorated with fresh flowers. I traveled with my grandparents in their 80s and the staff made sure that they are comfortable. Our overall stay was relaxing, calm and warm. There were only about 5 rooms occupied so we barely saw anybody else but the staff. I strongly recommend this place mainly because of the people who were working there!