Ratings based on 60 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from lax, wi

Posted Sep 7, 2015
Nothing special about this inn. I only used because everything else was sold out
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Landlord is horrible

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Do not book this motel, bugs everywhere, landlord is so rude!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Would have rated it zero...

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Too many to list.
Location: Don't stop, leave immediately and find a better option.
...if zero was an option. Between the dirty cats who live freely inside the hotel and the grumpy old man who owns the place and checks you in, this hotel plays like an episode of the twilight zone. How does this type of hotel even exist...$97 and change for a place that would have been too disgusting for a Chevy Chase travel film. Pool is a hole of concrete rubble with a tarp held partially in place over the top with cinder blocks to prevent nothing from falling inside. Dead fly on top of the dusty Holy Bible added to the level of creepy. Stay away unless this review describes how you like to live.
1 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

If you travel often, make sure you stay here.

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Where oh where to begin. This hotel was built (I am guessing) in the 1950's and as it aged, nothing has been up-kept. The hallways bounce when you walk on them, the stairs to our room were bowing when we waled up them, the pool is covered with a tarp, the rooms smell like a thrift store, the furniture in the rooms must come from rummage sales, bathrooms were not clean and the door to the room was not locked or even closed. The hotel attendant's welcome area is basically their living room (retro 1970's), with the smell of gin. There is no breakfast, none, nadda. My son and I slept by the door because we believed it was the perfect hotel for a serial killer/slasher etc movie to be filmed. This hotel is a more like a constructed movie set in a slasher movie, but it is for real. But you must, must stay here. After you stay here on night, and then you go to another hotel you will be SO tolerant when the ice machine doesn't work, the breakfast nook doesn't have Starbucks, or butter. The hotel has no complimentary water, or you have to take stairs to get to your room. You will reflect back on this hotel, snuggle into your bed, and feel almost as if you are home.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2015
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Should be Condemned

Posted Aug 8, 2015
This place is beyond help/repair and not maintained to any standard. There is garbage and tons of dead bugs on the floors of the hallways. The pool is drained and partially covered by an old ratty tarp held in place by bricks. This is not a safe place for anyone. There was a beer bottle and some garbage under one mattress and garbage under the mattress of the other bed. The walls are patched with particle board, and the A/C unit is packed with dust to the point that I am surprised if it works at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: ??????????????????????????????
Cons: ??????????????????????
It was the worst experience I have ever encountered at a motel... We spent two hours swatting flies inside. air filter was filthy. swimming pool had not been used for decades. NIce to know that one of the enemities of the room was a fly swatter.. I would never recommend this place to anyone.... Perhaps will not use Expedia for motels again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Erie pa

Don't do it.

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Rooms were old and dirty. No on site amenities. Staff was a 90 year old guy running the place. Office smells of cat pee.
1 out of 5
for Families
by JUDY from Indiana

Totally Unacceptable

Posted Jul 7, 2015 on Hotels
We booked 16 nights of hotels on line for a trip we were taking to visit the western United States. When booking on line you never know what you are getting until you arrive. This hotel in Kadoka was total unacceptable. We didn't feel it was in a safe area and the hotel was very old and had probably had no updates since the time the hotel was opened. We ask to see the rooms. Mattress on the bed was all sunken in and bedding didn't look clean. The carpet was nasty and it didn't have any air condition. Room smelled all musty and had an odor to it. Outside of the building had siding missing and hail damage to the hotel siding that was there and the air conditioner. There was absolutely no way we could stay in this hotel. We were unable to get a refund for our booking, however, we had to move down the road to the next available town and find another hotel. We were out this nights hotel and unable to use the accommodations. We stayed in some Holiday Inn Express for as low as $83 a night that were 5 star hotels compared to this hotel which charged more than that. We are not that hard to please, however, this hotel was in the worst condition that if the Board of Health visited this facility, I feel certain they would find it unacceptable.
5 out of 5
for Families
by Shervin from Taiwan

great motel

Posted Jul 5, 2015 on Hotels
We loved our stay at Dakota Inn. The room was very clean. Internet access was easy. The room was quiet, even though it's near the interstate and truckers drive their rigs into the parking lot. The owner/manager was friendly and ready with travel tips. If we stay in the area a gain, we will definitely stay again.