Ratings based on 54 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2.6 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
2.8 Room comfort
2.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Landlord is horrible

Posted Aug 25, 2015
Do not book this motel, bugs everywhere, landlord is so rude!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Would have rated it zero...

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Pros: Nothing.
Cons: Too many to list.
Location: Don't stop, leave immediately and find a better option.
...if zero was an option. Between the dirty cats who live freely inside the hotel and the grumpy old man who owns the place and checks you in, this hotel plays like an episode of the twilight zone. How does this type of hotel even exist...$97 and change for a place that would have been too disgusting for a Chevy Chase travel film. Pool is a hole of concrete rubble with a tarp held partially in place over the top with cinder blocks to prevent nothing from falling inside. Dead fly on top of the dusty Holy Bible added to the level of creepy. Stay away unless this review describes how you like to live.
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

If you travel often, make sure you stay here.

Posted Aug 12, 2015
Where oh where to begin. This hotel was built (I am guessing) in the 1950's and as it aged, nothing has been up-kept. The hallways bounce when you walk on them, the stairs to our room were bowing when we waled up them, the pool is covered with a tarp, the rooms smell like a thrift store, the furniture in the rooms must come from rummage sales, bathrooms were not clean and the door to the room was not locked or even closed. The hotel attendant's welcome area is basically their living room (retro 1970's), with the smell of gin. There is no breakfast, none, nadda. My son and I slept by the door because we believed it was the perfect hotel for a serial killer/slasher etc movie to be filmed. This hotel is a more like a constructed movie set in a slasher movie, but it is for real. But you must, must stay here. After you stay here on night, and then you go to another hotel you will be SO tolerant when the ice machine doesn't work, the breakfast nook doesn't have Starbucks, or butter. The hotel has no complimentary water, or you have to take stairs to get to your room. You will reflect back on this hotel, snuggle into your bed, and feel almost as if you are home.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 9, 2015
Pros: ABSOLUTELY NOTHING......
Cons: EVERYTHING
Location: NOTHING TO TELL
VERY BAD !!!!!!!! CANCELLED THE NEXT 3 NIGHTS
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MN

Should be Condemned

Posted Aug 8, 2015
This place is beyond help/repair and not maintained to any standard. There is garbage and tons of dead bugs on the floors of the hallways. The pool is drained and partially covered by an old ratty tarp held in place by bricks. This is not a safe place for anyone. There was a beer bottle and some garbage under one mattress and garbage under the mattress of the other bed. The walls are patched with particle board, and the A/C unit is packed with dust to the point that I am surprised if it works at all.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

HOrrible

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: ??????????????????????????????
Cons: ??????????????????????
Location: NOTHING IN THE AREA
It was the worst experience I have ever encountered at a motel... We spent two hours swatting flies inside. air filter was filthy. swimming pool had not been used for decades. NIce to know that one of the enemities of the room was a fly swatter.. I would never recommend this place to anyone.... Perhaps will not use Expedia for motels again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Erie pa

Don't do it.

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Rooms were old and dirty. No on site amenities. Staff was a 90 year old guy running the place. Office smells of cat pee.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not recomended

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Heater cranked to high, we couldn't adjust it & roasted through the night. Couldn't find any staff to report to. Saw no staff in the morning either. The only breakfast available was a diner with high prices.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Philip from Washington

No! No! No!

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels
Brutal! We stayed on the 2nd floor and I thought I was going to put my foot through the stairs. Room had shag carpet in it, wore shoes until climbing into bed. Cobwebs in the corners. Urine on the toilet bowl. A BIG stain on the box spring of one of the beds. Sheets had been washed, but had dirt stains on them. Just keep on driving down the road.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Ashley J from Arlington, VA

It's like a motel from the movies

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels
Wow, the Dakota Inn was a surprise. It's very isolated; across the freeway from the rest of the (small) town, and surrounded by farmland. It felt like we'd stepped into a road trip movie from the 80s: sweet old man at the front desk, bedsheets older than I am. None of this was necessarily a bad thing! I've stayed at plenty of "dive" motels before but none of them had this movie-type quality. I wasn't expecting it. On a more serious note, the room was comfortable, although it smelled a bit stuffy when we arrived (it seemed like no one had stayed in there for a while). Also, it was clear by the parking lot that we were the only guests that night. But it was clean and cozy, and checking in and out was a snap.