Ratings based on 14 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bahrain

Book this hotel directly on the hotel website

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Book this hotel directly on the hotel website as it turned out to be cheaper.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Beautiful, but a little remote.

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Beautiful environment and gardens. Clean and good food. More like a bed and breakfast than a hotel.
Cons: Road access to hotel.
Location: Nothing much to do nearby, it is a drive (again up the road) to anything. Beautiful spot.
Fabulous place when you eventually arrive. To make a visit to this hotel more pleasurable a better access road would be good. A very scary drive from main road down and up to hotel. It is a one car only road so I don't know what would happen if there was a car coming the other way. Apart from access in, the hotel is in a beautiful spot, very clean and the staff could not do enough for us. The food also was very good. Advertised wifi on website but it is not available and phone coverage is a little dodgy. There is not place else to eat except at the hotel.
1 out of 5
by Mehmet Nuri from Dubai

WORST HOTEL EXPERIENCE IN MY LIFE!!

Posted Dec 30, 2015 on Hotels
It was a horrible stay, it was the worst in my life. The road to hotel has changed and the new one is not a road, our van cannot enter. I called the hotel reception, there was only 2 people working in the hotel, no manager juts cleaning lady and receptionist. They did not help us at all, I requested cancellation from Jetwing, nobody responded; I called Hotels.com they said they will try to reach Jetwing via email, while I was stuck in the road. Finally we walked to the hotel because there was fog, we cannot drive back to Kandy. This is not boutique hotel, this was a private house and now used as a hostel almost. No heating system and in the middle of no where. I still did not get any response from neither Jetwing or Hotels.com
5 out of 5
by I hsuan from Taiwan

Absolute tranquility

Posted Oct 6, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel offers what you need for vacation- relaxing, quiet and tranquility ambience. Its a bit far from nuwara eliya town but its worth it. Be aware there is no wifi in this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Remote but very grand hotel

Posted Oct 18, 2014
This is a little hidden gem... The food is all locally produced and the house has an old English sense I grandeur... Unfortunately , it is a bit far away from everything so if you come to stay here, it will be unlikely you'd go on day trips etc as the road is a bit rough getting in and out. Having said that, you'd probably be able to find little hikes to do around the property an learn how to cook an amazing curry from the chef.
4 out of 5
by Pat

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 4, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Josep from Spain

Heaven in earth!!!

Posted Aug 31, 2014 on Hotels
Beautiful peace tea mountains surrounding. Nice service. Difficult acces to the hotel. They charge you too much for pick up in train station Nanu Oya.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Dush

Nice place

Posted Jul 28, 2013
Pros: Location ,ambiance,service
Cons: Facilities
Location: Nice place to spend time away from corporate tensions
Nice place for a holiday away from city deep inside the mountains
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Rodger from Auckland, New Zealand

Unique Experience

Posted Mar 16, 2013
Pros: The elegant old building and furnishings. Fire side pre dinner drinks . Fresh fruit and veges from the garden. Tranquility.
Cons: Getting to and from. Slightly over priced.
Location: Remote.
Warwick Gardens whilst not a cheap option is an ideal starting point for exploring the surrounding tea country and visiting the Horton Plains. Two nights is probably sufficient to enjoy the surrounding area and experience the hospitality of friendly staff and some delicious Sri lankan cuisine. The road leading to the property is basically a narrow bumpy horse and cart track which intially can be a bit off putting but this is remote hill country after all.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tony & Michele from Melbourne, Australia

A breath of fresh air

Posted Feb 12, 2012
This was a truely sublime experience; not really a hotel but an exquisite Guest House with a view to die for. The road to Ambewela was a little rough and the last 4km to the Warwick Gardens Estate was very narrow and rough, a work in progress, but well worth the drive. It proved to be the most wonderful experience of our holiday. Hearing the laughter of children playing in the streets of the village below set the scene for a remarkable life affirming experience. I would truely love to keep this amazing place a secret. Well done to the individuals involved in this project.