Ratings based on 49 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by SON

Wonderful comfort

Posted Apr 30, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is very clean, modern, and comfortable. The WiFi was great and the rooftop lounge and bar has an amazing view. Their daily breakfasts were excellent and delicious. There were numerous food selections. The staffs were friendly and helpful. We highly recommend the Royal Lotus Hotel for any amount of stay in Ha Long.
4 out of 5
by Timothy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 28, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Thanh

Excellent hotel

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was really nice and the view was outstanding. Customer service was excellent. We hung out at the skybar every night we were there. Will come back to this hotel again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent but not as good as it should be

Posted Feb 7, 2017 on Hotels
Room was good standard but lacked a couple of features. A/C made a lot of noise during the night and the shower enclosure kept flooding because of poor drainage.
3 out of 5
by jeanpaul

Ghost town.

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Hotels
The location was terrible. Halong city is a ghost town. After 8pm there were almost no other food options, people or things to do around the hotel area. Yikes!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and great room, noisy and bad location

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
Great room, very good service at the reception. Unfortunately the restaurants were empty and very expensive (but good). The room was very noisy but beautiful and convenient. The location is not good as it is far from everything else.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canberra, Australia

Posted Jun 24, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: Great staff, clean and spacious rooms.
Cons: Not a log needs improving, really.
Location: It us about 3.5 km from the old part of Halong, it cost about VND100,000 to get to the Indochina Junk ferry pier.
Having survived the torture of the Sa Pa to Halong bus, I arrived very early and the staff said I could check in. It was then we discovered they had no record of my booking. Manager Kate and Kevil were amazing and went out of their to sort it out while I made a call to Wotif to get some info re-sent. An hour later my booking was sorted and I was in my room and having a sleep (much needed after little sleep on the bus and a badly upset stomach). After spending the day in bed I feelt much improved, And decided to check out their rooftop bar, which has great views and food, and more great staff. Of note is that hotel is about 3.5km from the old part of Halong. There is still a bustling little village just across the road where you can pickup street food, coffee and the usual requirements, should you feel the need to venture beyond the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgetown, Texas

Great hotel with exceptional staff!

Posted Jun 9, 2016
Pros: Amazing staff throughout the entire hotel.
Cons: Wifi was the only issue I had. The only place I could do some computer work was in the lobby area next to the small business center. Upgrade is needed
While we have come to expect great service from almost everywhere in Vietnam, this hotel exceeded those expectations with every interaction with their wonderful staff. They were so helpful not just with everything in the hotel, but a huge help in fixing our changed schedule we needed to adjust. I can't say enough great things about the lovely ladies at reception and in all their restaurants. They are all to be commended highly. The extra we paid for the bay room view was well worth it. Great view and great clean and big room. Also the Sky Bar was fantastic with great views and again great staff. I will only stay here when in Halong.
1 out of 5
by Nidos from Canada

Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels
Management and the staff are don't know what they are doing. I have been all over the world and I have been in two star hotels as well. Two star hotels are million times better than this hotel. Hotels.com should band this hotel from your site
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from london

Excellent hotel

Posted Nov 26, 2015
The hotel was very modern and was perfect for a few days of relaxing. We had a large room with full length Windows. The only catch was that there was very little to do nearby.