Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami, Florida

Nice hotel in black forest

Posted Nov 3, 2015
the hotel is nicely appointed, rooms are big and comfortable. The staff is the best part of this faciluty as they are very friendly, courteous and accommodate every wish. I would recommend this hotel/bed & breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, great food!

Posted Sep 17, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice hotel in a lovely area for a Black Forest trip. The restaurant food was excellent.
5 out of 5
by Janette from Stuttgart, Germany

Wonderful weekend

Posted Jun 12, 2015 on Hotels
It was very hot and no AC. The hotel is lovely. We had a wonderfully delicious dinner. The staff was very nice. They prepared a breakfast tray to take to the apartment for my daughter. Highly recommend this hotel.
5 out of 5
by Robert from Canterbury

A night in the Black Forrest

Posted Mar 6, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is part of an old but restored building. The restoration is very well done and mixes modern and the original in a novel way that we find pleasing. We visited for just one night. We checked in and were shown to our room. Being an old building, there is wood everywhere with impressive wooden beams in our room. We also had a kitchen - cooker, fridge, sink etc - had we wanted to cook. But instead after a walk around the local area we decided to eat in the hotel. They have two areas - the main restaurant or the bar. We choose the bar and had two swabian pizzas and desserts. All very good. The hotel is clean, well presented and friendly. We would have no hesitation in returning for further stays.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from France & Chapel Hill, NC

Four wonderful days at the Waldknechtshof!

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: The coziness, the staff, the food - the general ambiance.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: The hotel is situated very conveniently to Baiersbronn as well as other charming towns such as Freudenstadt and Nagold with shops and cafes.
This hotel was actually a second choice but we are so glad we stayed here. The 1769 restored and converted farmhouse was charming as was our room with lovely bathroom. There are 2 restaurants, one of which was Gourmet where we celebrated a fabulous and elegant News Year's Eve with wonderful food. The staff was warm and accommodating. I recommend this place highly.
5 out of 5
by Nomadfrog from Ghana

Great holiday

Posted Aug 24, 2014 on Hotels
Amazing, helpful staff. Really impressed with the apartment. More information in English (yes, we know it's a German hotel) and daily emptying of rubbish bin would have made stay perfect. Great location for cycling and walking. Incredible combination of Tourist information (multi-lingual), tram stop, small supermarket, walking trails, restaurants, bakeries and butcher all within short walk and views to the forest from the room
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by dtacey from londkn

Quiet location for some soul searching

Posted Nov 23, 2013
This hotel was wonderful. The staff were friendly and helpful . Although the menu was in German and to be translated. It's clearly a home from home for German businesses and persons. The town was so quiet it was beautiful. Great for walking and just taking I. The scenery. A real relaxing couple of days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Travis & Lauren from Texas & California

Cozy Room, Excellent Food!

Posted Oct 5, 2013
The only thing I would suggest are ear plugs, the large cozy rooms are a bit thin, I could hear my neighbor snoring. Other than that everything else was excellent, I highly recommend a stay here!
5 out of 5
by FLAVIO DE ANDRADE from USA

Wonderful Baiersbroon

Posted Jul 13, 2013 on Hotels
One of the most charming hotels we have been during our trip to Germany. People were great. We had good time since the time we arrived until the moment we left. Our room was large and very clean. Internet was fast and working properly. Breakfast was delicious. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant and the chef prepared very nice food for the family. We certainly will go back and stay again in the hotel. We strongly recommend it and you will enjoy like we did.
5 out of 5
by Marianne Heath

Lovely small hotel

Posted Aug 29, 2012 on Hotels
We had a lovely time staying at the Waldknechtshof. The staff couldn't have been more helpful and although they don't get many British tourists they were very keen to speak English and it was easy to communicate with them. We thouroghly enjoyed the food in the restaurant and the breakfast was deliciious. So a highly recommended hotel and we would love to stay there again.