Ratings based on 305 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, great location

Posted Oct 20, 2017
Pros: The staff was great. Excellent recommendations on restaurants, shopping and directions. Very helpful
Had a great stay. Staff was wonderful. Rooms are a little small but very nice. Location is great, right in the center of town. Would highly recommend. Are starting a large remodel project for the next year so will have to be in the fall of 2018.
5 out of 5
for Couples
by A verified traveler

City centre hotel close to restaurants

Posted Jul 25, 2017
Pros: Breakfast and comfortable room
Location: No 28 tram. Good restraurants. Good sightseeing. Good shopping
Although the hotel is being extended everything was clean and open. The rooftop bar is very impressive enemy with the cranes blocking a bit of the view. Breakfast was superb but we did not try the restaurant. No 28 tram passes right in front of the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 9, 2017 by Bones, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Bones, Thank you for your nice comment. We hope to welcome you back in the near future. Warm regards, The Bairro Alto Hotel Team
5 out of 5
by Kristin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 5, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by chris


Posted Jun 12, 2017 on Hotels
Perfect location away from the downtown noise, but very central to everything. Roof top terrace has one of the best views in Lisbon of the bridge and city lights at night. The staff is wonderful and will do anything to make your stay perfect. You are greeted with a glass of champagne or port as you check in. Breakfast has a wide variety of choices as well as a menu to order from. We will return if we go back to Lisbon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017
Dear Chris, Thank you so much for your kind comments over our hotel and staff. We truly appreciate it and we will share it with my colleagues. Thank you and regards, Vanessa Tomé Director of Sales & Marketing
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

This hotel is very old - needs updating

Posted Jun 10, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The staff were excellent- good location
the room was so small for &389.00 a night- are you kiddingme almost $400.00 for a room that was so small we couldn't put two suitcases on the floor. The hairdryer didn't work in the bathroom, they explanined the electrical was so old we had to plug it in by the bed. The hotel was under contruction so jack hammering went on all day until 7 pm! not drink on the rrof top bar- looking at a crane was the view. Terrible not worth it it should be a two star. It was in an excellent location. And the staff were excellent for service.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Vanessa Tomé, Hotel Management
Dear Gioia, Greetings from sunny Lisbon. Thank you very much for expressing and sharing your thoughts with other travellers and most of all for letting us know about your dissatisfaction. Obviously, we are very sorry you did not found us to deliver the perfect match between value and money. Please accept our most sincere apologies. We run a lovely boutique hotel, and as you said, as far as location is concerned, we do have one of the most convenient in town. Regarding our service, we thank you for your kind and positive remarks. We have six bedroom categories in total. Deluxe bedroom being one of them. We also have available junior suites (Prestige Bedroom) and Suites. Much more space available in these ones. Nevertheless, we feel we represent one of the finest options for accommodation and services in Portugal. One would have also to comply with the general atmosphere with an historical boutique hotel. A building dated back from the XVIII century, converted into a hotel. We truly hope we can welcome you back again in Lisbon anytime soon.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location in the middle of everything

Posted May 17, 2017
The staff was wonderful - taking care of our every need. The rooftop terrace (even with construction going on for the hotel expansion) is an amazing place for a drink before heading out to dinner. Everyone working there made us feel special. When leaving we were asked if we would be back - our answer is that we will stay here whenever we are fortunate enough to travel back to Lisbon
5 out of 5
by Elan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Mary

Prestige hotel prestige position beautiful square

Posted Apr 23, 2017 on Hotels
Weather excellent. Hotel in prime position, Lisbon extraordinarily crowded. Decor dated with dark wood panelling. Staff very helpful,minor problems with plugs& wiFi
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from texas

Hotel Barrio Alto

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: There is nothing not to like.
Location: Central location, with the tram 28 running right in front of the hotel . 3 blocks from the theatre and a major shopping area.
We stayed at the Barrio Alto Hotel from 5--13 April, 2017. It is centrally located, and tram 28 runs right by the front door. Everything at the hotel was wonderful; the staff was absolutely superb, as was the hotel restaurant.
5 out of 5
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Beautiful hotel, excellent service.

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Rooftop bar, breakfast and excellent customer service. Great location, as well!
Cons: The elevators were very slow but not sure how an older building like this can improve that. They do allow use of the service elevator, which helped.
Location: Excellent location. Lots of shopping and restaurants within walking distance.
We had a very good experience. We would have liked to have had a courtyard view but those rooms were all taken. Our room was very comfortable and clean and met our needs very well. The best part of this hotel is the customer service. It's top notch. We loved the breakfast that was included in our stay and we also really loved the rooftop bar with the most spectacular view. I travel with my pillow because of neck issues and I have forgotten my pillow too many times to count and when we stayed here I for got it also and they contacted me the next day wishing to know my address because they want to send it to me. That has NEVER happened in the states.