Ratings based on 1,335 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pleasanton, California

Best Hotel in Lisbon

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Pros: The staff is wonderful, the hotel decor is amazing and the food is great.
Cons: Absolutely change the tour bus company and find another one who has a clear and stricter policy on items left behind by hotel guests.
Location: Location of this hotel is perfect. It is close to shopping, restaurants, museums and tourist areas.
We absolutely love this hotel!!! Most of all, the staff are wonderful from the doorman, to the concierge, front desk, bar, etc. - very accommodating, helpful, courteous, highly professional. When our expensive camera was left at the tour bus, the concierge called the bus company (Grayline) right away and was checking every day if it was found. Paulo, at the concierge took the time to speak to one of the managers to make sure they investigate but looks like this bus company is not very proactive - Grayline staff was awfully uncooperative and were giving conflicting stories which leads us to believe that perhaps one of their people may have taken our camera. Except for this unfortunate incident, everything else was superb including the daily sumptuous breakfast/brunch!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

First class hotel right in the centre of Lisbon

Posted Dec 12, 2017
Nice breakfast helpful and attentive staff. Would highly recommend this hotel for a city break
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2017 by PedroMCosta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for the excellent rating and for recommending the Avenida Palace for a city break. I really loved reading your review and am delighted with your comments about our location, our breakfast and also our staff. I look forward to welcoming you back to your new Lisbon residence, the next time you are in Lisbon. Kind regards, Pedro Miguel Costa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Elegant Hotel

Posted Dec 11, 2017
Old world hotel that is fastidiously maintained. It’s centrally located and close to sites and transportation. Additionally, Our room was upgraded from a junior suite to the palace suite, which included a separate living room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from FL

Average hotel in great location

Posted Dec 4, 2017
Pros: Very nice public areas and breakfast buffet. The location is great.
Cons: Renovate the rooms. They are so outdated, run down and uncomfortable.
The public areas of the hotel are quite beautiful and the breakfast buffet is very good. The rooms are a different story. We had a junior suite (503 and 504). The living area was about 7 feet wide which was ridiculous (I'm guessing that it was originally a closet). The bedroom area was average size with two small twin beds with very hard mattresses and terrible foam pillows. The people in the room next to us had the TV on and talked until the wee hours of the morning. It was as though they were next to us the room. The air conditioning did not work. We reported the air conditioning problem to the non-existent front desk personnel (we had to talk to the concierge) but it was NOT fixed. The overall stay was positively MISERABLE!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

good location dated room

Posted Nov 30, 2017
The room was dated and very cramped. So requested to upgrade. They gave us a better room at the same rate. Nice location, though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 4, 2017 by PedroMCosta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your review following your stay at the Avenida Palace. As the Avenida Palace is a Hotel where the comfort of our guests really matters, I was concerned to read that your room did not meet your expectations and took note of your observations. Our guests’ comments are very important to us and allow us to improve our services. With a prime location in the very heart of the city, the Avenida Palace, with more than a century of history, is a symbol of the city. We do hope that you return to the Avenida Palace in a near future. Sincerely Yours, Pedro Miguel Costa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto - Canada

True Gem in Lisboa

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Excellent services and super friendly staff.
Location: It is most central to subway, prakah, waterfront and historical sites including the castle st jorge.
We had a phenomenal experience in our short stay at the hotel. The services all the way from entry to the hotel to breakfast ballroom and overall rooms was nothing but the best. The highlight of the day is breakfast and is served in style at the old ballroom with crisp White uniformed staff serving you drinks, coffee and cappuccino etc. Our beds were made twice a day, lobby is elegant and leads into the old palace great hall. Location is the highlight so central as you step foot out from the hotel and all sights and services are available. Highly recommended and a true gem in Lisboa!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 17, 2017 by PedroMCosta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Many thanks for choosing to stay at the Avenida Palace and for taking the time to write such a kind review about our hotel and its services. I was delighted to know that you found the experience phenomenal and that the highlight of your day was our breakfast. It will be a pleasure to share your comments with all our team and I look forward to welcoming you back for a longer stay, on your next visit to Lisbon. Kind regards, Pedro Miguel Costa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel

Posted Nov 8, 2017
Great hotel in Lisbon. Centrally located. Helpful and pleasant staff. Nice upgrade to our room with check in. Great breakfast. Would return again!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 13, 2017 by PedroMCosta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We just wanted to send you a little thank you from us at the Avenida Palace for being our guest and for writing your kind feedback. We were delighted to know that you found our hotel to be great and thank you also for your words on our location, staff and breakfast. It would be great to welcome you back in the future. Yours sincerely, Pedro Miguel Costa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glasgow

Excellent hotel

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Stayed at the Avenida Palace for 3 nights last weekend. The location of the hotel is superb for sightseeing. Has a relaxing, cosy cocktail bar. Lovely Molten Brown toiletries in the bathroom. The breakfast buffet was amazing. Probably the best breakfast I have had in a European hotel. Lovelt friendly and pleasant staff too. Lisbon has a certain buzz about it. Would definitely love to return again soon and would stay at Avenida Palace.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by PedroMCosta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to post a review here following your recent stay with us. I am thrilled to read that you found the hotel excellent and our breakfast amazing. Thank you also for your remarks about our services and about our staff. I will share your feedback with the entire team. I would love to welcome you back at the Avenida Palace for a future stay. Yours sincerely, Pedro Miguel Costa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, UK

Good location for sight seeing

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Double glaze the windows
Location: Walking distance to most attractions but not good if you have mobility issues as Lisbon is built on seven hills!
We enjoyed our stay here in Lisbon. Good hotel in central location - quite grand - not ultra modern. Concierge recommended restaurants that had terrible reviews so didn't use them! Had been warned that because of location the room could be noisy but fortunately we were on the 5th floor overlooking the internal courtyard. Not a position I would normally like but good for noise reduction! Would be improved with double glazing as we could still slightly hear traffic but not a problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by PedroMCosta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you for your opinion about your stay at the Avenida Palace. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed the hotel's location for your stay in Lisbon. However, I was quite disappointed to learn that we did not entirely meet your expectations. We look forward to welcome you again in the near future. Yours sincerely, Pedro Miguel Costa
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Very conveniently located, service excellent

Posted Oct 27, 2017
Pros: Its location and breakfasts.
Cons: Bar area.
Location: Easy 10 minute walk to the river. Main shops all within short walking distance. Lots of restaurants and cafes. Located in a busy area.
Nothing special from the outside facade which looks a bit dated but inside full of old world charm. Breakfasts were very good with plenty of choice and very good service. I liked the fact that it stayed open till 11am so you didn't feel rushed. The only negative I would say was that the Bar area was not inspiring and therefore didn't entice you to want to visit it. The concierge staff were very helpful and provided good restaurant choices. The double rooms were a comfortable size and clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 3, 2017 by PedroMCosta, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to read your kind review about your stay at the Avenida Palace. Thank you for your time and for your comments on our location and on our breakfast which you found to be very good. I was also very pleased with your remarks on our service and staff and will share it with the entire team. I was also very appreciative of your observations which we have duly noted. Our guests’ comments are truly important to us and help us to achieve a high level of quality. I look forward to welcoming you on return visit to Lisbon. Kind regards, Pedro Miguel Costa