Ratings based on 277 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Courtice, Ontario, Canada

Great hotel with choice of restaurants & shopping

Posted Oct 1, 2017
Pros: Front desk staff, location, room cleanliness
Cons: Breakfast selection.
Great area for shopping, dining and sightseeing. Rooms were very comfortable and front desk staff especially Alberto were very helpful and welcoming. Rooftop views were stunning. Breakfast could be improved.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Centrally located hotel.

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Beautiful rooftop bar and view of Lisbon. Excellent location with a great breakfast buffet
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 16, 2017 by Tania Costa, Hotel Management
Dear Mr. Jerry, Thank you for sharing your experience at Hotel do Chiado. It’s a pleasure for us to know that your stay has exceeded yours expectations. We will gladly welcome you back to the Hotel do Chiado in near future Best Regards
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Comfy and Convenient Location

Posted Apr 12, 2017
Pros: Helpful, friendly staff. Comfortable rooms. Central location. Cabs available outside the hotel door. Free Wifi. TV with channels in English!
Cons: Nothing! It was all we could have asked for.
Location: St. Georges Castle and walk down 15 minutes to the Placa do Commercio. Train 30 minutes to Sintra for 1 day. Cab along water to Jeronimos Monestary.
This hotel is in the best area, the Baixa, for travelers visiting Lisbon. Walk out the door and you are on a cobblestone street with good shopping, restaurants and a 5-10 minute walk to the train station. Walk in to the hotel from a day out and it is a welcome comfy oasis with friendly, helpful staff and nice amenities, including a lounge/bar/restaurant with a balcony looking onto the castle above. The breakfast room has a nice array of foods and drinks and is in an airy room with 180 degree views of the city. When we arrived we asked about a restaurant recommendation and the hotel staff actually made a reservation for us two blocks away and we ate there every night! When my husband lost his camera, in a cab we think, they called the company for us, which did not lead to recovering the camera, but was very helpful to us. I would definitely stay at Hotel do Chiado again and recommend it to anyone visiting Lisbon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel, fab location

Posted Mar 7, 2017
Pros: excellent accommodation, great location
Cons: bar/restaurant was closed due to event when we went for lunch, not fair to residents
Location: location just right for wander uphill or down to harbour/etc
had an excellent short stay here in Mar17; staff very good, ensuring enjoyable stay location just right for wander uphill or down to harbour/etc
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel for city trip

Posted Jan 20, 2017 on Hotels
Superb service in brilliant location close to galleries shops and restaurants .Also train to Sintra goes from Rossio station about 100m from the hotel
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in old city

Posted Jan 4, 2017 on Hotels
Wonderful stay... this hotel is so convenient as in the center of the city in between barrios baixo and alto. You can do many things by foot in the old city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Room with the best view in Lisbon

Posted Oct 7, 2016
Great hotel, great location. Ask for the rooms with a view of the castle.Breathtaking!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location! Amazing view!

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
This is the perfect location for a quick trip to Lisbon- walking distance to the castle, right around the corner from the Rossio train station (to get to Sintra), and walking distance to the tram to get to Belem. The hotel is on a very steep hill, but all of Lisbon is hilly, so I'm not sure how you would avoid this. The view from the hotel bar is absolutely incredible. I would stay here again just for this view. Before I booked, I saw a lot of reviews mention poor air conditioning, but we had no problem with this. It was extremely hot during our trip (over 90 degrees every day) and the temperature in the room felt incredible and almost too chilly. The staff was very friendly and even upgraded our room without asking. Highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

amazing location and very helpful staff

Posted Sep 12, 2016
Pros: The location , the staff especially Alberto , roof top view, the cleanliness , the photography on the walls on the 7th floor ....
Cons: I am perfectly satisfied with all...and will go back to the same hotel .
Location: The location is right in historic district nearby all museum, churches and convenient transportation. Best restaurants and cafes, patisseries ...
Lucky to choose Chiado do Hotel , comfortable bed -clean rooms -spectacular view from the roof top - close to all great restaurants,cafes and boutiques and many more. In a historic district close to all by walking distance and even more right next to all convenient transportation! Best of all that the staff in Chiado do Hotel are extremely helpful , patient and respectful ... I advise you to speak with Alberto there , he was beyond helpful! advised us where to visit in Portugal and wrote us three pages to guide and encourage us to take the trip to Algarve with many wonderful suggestions. Because of Alberto's assistance we had a wonderful unforgettable experience and memorable vacation . No doubt, all the staff in Chiado do Hotel were very nice and do their best to please the guests. I and my husband very grateful and completely satisfied with our stay in Chido do Hotel and we are excited to travel again to Portugal cause there is much to see and enjoy!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in the center of Lisbon

Posted Aug 12, 2016
Amazing location, easily walkable to many attractions, restaurants and metro. Hotel staff were friendly and very helpful. Great views from the hotel's rooftop restaurant!