Ratings based on 512 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great location, good breakfast and wonderful staff

Posted Nov 30, 2017
I really dislike Expedia for asking for more information than I have given. It's a great hotel with exceptional staff. The breakfast had variety and was very good. Our room was adequate and had all necessities. The location was in the part of the city we needed to be. I have nothing more to say.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Right in the heart of Lisbon

Posted Nov 27, 2017
Pros: Location, clean and efficient, great front and breakfast staff, hearty buffet breakfast, affordable
Cons: Working winter thermostats, noise-proofing for front-facing rooms
Location: Central to a lot of historic sites and local restaurants (avoid the tourist traps, ask where the locals go or do your online research ahead of time)
Great location where Avenida de Liberdade meets Praça Rossio. Everything in historic Lisbon is walking distance but don't discount this "city of seven hills". Find out where the public elevators are, take historic Tram #28 (buy your discounted tickets from a store) for a quick self-guided trip from west to south to east and hit all the historic sites. Eat in trendy Bairro Alta (and stay and party long into the night) or down to Time Out Market where even michelin-starred chefs have their more affordable outposts. Hotel Gat Rossio had great prices, rooms were cozy and clean, breakfast was plentiful and open early for morning day trips and open late enough to fill up on to tide you over until a mid-afternoon snack before a late dinner. BUT ASK for a higher floor or towards back of the hotel as the noise from the number of restaurants in the laneway can keep you up, not just from service but the early morning deliveries. Those cobbled stones and hand trucks maje for a lot of loud rattling noises in the am. Or pack ear plugs. And rooms gets warm with central heating; just crack open the windows.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 22, 2017
Pros: Customer service
Location: Great
Good customer service. Great location, room and bath very small. Breakfast ok No place to put our clothes.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Atlanta,GA

Basic hotel with impeccable location.

Posted Nov 19, 2017
This hotel located at 200m from the Areo bus stop #13 if you travel from LIS airport. Impeccable location, train station within 5mins of walk. Staffs are courteous and the breakfast is clean and delicious. I have something to say about the standard double room. It's painfully small with one double bed. THATS IT! No closet, there are three hooks on the wall. No sitting area, bed serves as your seats. No toiletries holder in the shower, everything needs to be placed on the floor. No hairdryer, or I should say no traditional hairdryer, there is a square box on the wall with a extented TUBE which LEAKS warm air when you lift it out of its base. No temperature/speed control. It can probably warm up your socks in 5 mins, but drying hair? No control over air conditioning. All you get will be the message: invalid operation. Take whatever the setting or turn it off completely. Sorry the list is getting too long, finally some side notes: be aware of street noise if your room is at the front of the hotel, don't flush the toilet when someone is taking showers unless you don't mind hearing screaming. I am fully aware you get what you paid, unfortunately this hotel's "standards"for standard room is obviously below average.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Nice trendy hotel in Rossio

Posted Nov 16, 2017
We recently stayed in Gat Rossio for 4 nights. The overall experience was great. Checking in, we were entertained by their friendly staff. The room, although small, was still very comfortable and it has a safe which is a plus. Our room was cleaned everyday. Breakfast was average. Everyday we have cold cuts, egg, bread and cereal. I just wished they changed up the breakfast daily to have some nice variety. Wifi is very fast too. Location-wise, the hotel is very close to all modes of transport be it bus, aerobus, tram, metro or train. Literall within 2-5 minute walking distance. Its also close to may attractions. The only downside is it is close to three restaurants and it gets loud in the morning with all the deliveries, especially is your room is right by the street. Would I recommend this hotel? Yes. It's decently priced considering the location and comfort.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Great location, nice staff.

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Staff, breakfast, clean, close to everything.
Cons: Heating would occasionally turn off. No chair to sit on.
Location: Central. Close to many things. Easy access to metro, buses, taxis.
Wanted a central location and a good hotel. Found it in this hotel. Clean, neat, nice staff, fantastic location. Typical small European room (not even a chair to sit on) but very clean, everything worked, good breakfast and within walking distance of many attractions.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine, USA

Convenient and very pleasing

Posted Nov 11, 2017
Fast check-in. Staff is very welcoming and solicitous. Very pleasing modern, refurbished accomodation. Single bedrooms are small but practical and comfortable enough. Bathroom with shower stool. Buffet breakfast is basically continental with a few extras. Great location near great restaurants and the old center of Lisbon with good access to transportation.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 31, 2017
Very small but clean modern room . Staff was great. Breakfast ok . GreAt location
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 2, 2017 by Ricardo Simões, Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, We thank you very much for your comments! We look forward to welcome you in the future! Have a great upcoming weekend! Best regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Central hotel at excellent price

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Hotel very central. Comfortable compact room with all that is needed. Good breakfast included in price. Staff very pleasant & helpful.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fantastic stopover stay! Would stay again!

Posted Jul 31, 2017 on Hotels
Clean, modern, fantastic location. Would absolutely stay here again. Perfect for our one night stopover on the way to Barcelona from New York. Allowed us to change and leave our luggage upon arrival. For 25 euros they were also able to accommodate a late check out which was especially helpful because our flight wasn't until later that night. Friendly, helpful staff. Rooms are small (but that was to be expected), but simple and clean, as was the bathroom. Typical breakfast of breads, meats, cheeses and pastries. Two minute walk to Rossio station to daytrip to Sintra + three minute walk to the funicular to Bairro Alto.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 22, 2017
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for reviewing us and for your kind comments! We look forward to welcome you again in one of our Gat Hotels!! We hope you have a great week! With our best compliments, Ricardo Simões Front Office Manager