Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.2 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from boston

Posted Aug 29, 2017
Only can say that's OK . Staff not really friendly
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from USA

Terrible...pay for what you get

Posted May 31, 2015
Pros: Near Wanda Plaza for food
Cons: Everything: from the staff,the service, the room smell (or have different floor for smoking & non-smoking) & kill all mosquitos & change towels/sheets
Location: Shop & Eat at Wanda, take Metro or walk through small market
I've never stay at a hotel in Guangzhou that mosquitos bit me everywhere. Each floor, you can smell the smoke very strong. I've reserved a room with non-smoking but you can still smell it. So i requested to switch the room. Then, the room i switched, there must be like 6-7 mosquitos which bit me throughout the night. I had to wakeup and killed them. I was terrified. Could not sleep well. The towels, if you don't throw into a basket, they will reuse the towels. They never change the bed sheets or blanket if you don't request directly. When they were changing the covers of the pillows, I can see the inside of the pillows were stained and nasty, look like molds. The internet was very bad. Once in a while, you'll get a strong signal for 5 minutes, then it's not working even though it said it already connected. I called people to come into the room to fix the wifi since I have work to do. They sent someone to the room. That person could not speak English & she looked at me connecting to the internet and left without fixing anything. So weird. Also, they were under construction, so there were a lot of noises in during the day time. I'm from the States which I need to work late at night. Sometimes I wakeup late in the morning, but with the noise, I could not sleep. I barely have enough 5 hours of sleep due to the noises. Terrible. The price was cheap but I would NEVER stay here again. The only good thing was that it is next to Wanda Plaza where you can get food.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel fine but Expedia didnt have NEW hotel name.

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Expedia should include Chinese character name on all hotels in China. Fortunately I have some Chinese because if I hadn't, there is no way I would have found this hotel as its name was changed (and other travel companies had the new name but not expedia).
3 out of 5
by Daisy

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 9, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The Aircon doesn't work

Posted Apr 4, 2015
The thermostat is set at 19C, but it doesn't get colder than 26C. They'll give you a humidifier, but it only acts as a fan. They wouldn't transfer you to another room, claiming that the hotel is fully booked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

poor maintenence. safe neighborhood.

Posted Nov 1, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel change its management and the maintenance is very poor now. I stayed in this hotel during last year more than 5 times. But from time to time it become poor. Until my last time I left the room and moved to near by hotel.
3 out of 5
by gbemmy

great location

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels
I read some of the reviews before I booked I was a bit skeptical to book China Smart Hotel. What I love most is the cleanliness of the hotel. The location is not far from Leather World if ure into bags. One thing I don't like is their breakfast is full of Chinese food they should add more of English breakfast because is not only the Asians that lodge in the hotel and most of their staff don't speak English just one of them.
3 out of 5
by p from hk

"smoked" room

Posted Jun 17, 2014
we were assigned to a smoking room as unfortunately no non smoking room was available at the time of check in. could nit sleep that night coz the mattress, pillow, comforter, simply the whole bed was "well-smoked"! meaning the smell of tar has infused into the hardware & clean bed sheets, pillow cases etc. can not help to get rid of the smell.
4 out of 5
by Kelvin L from Singapore

Good for the price

Posted Mar 18, 2014 on Hotels
Its good for a short stay business trip. The bed is rather hard, could do with a better mattress.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pankaj from Jaipur

China Smart Hotel

Posted May 17, 2012
Pros: Neat and clean room, quite location.
Cons: b.fast
Location: its on quite location, but metro is around 7 minutes walk
I booked a suite, room size was quite big but washroom was small, B.fast was just normal. but overall it was a good exp.