Ratings based on 246 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel with a history

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: The staff, the location, the historic quality.
Cons: In California's continuing drought, I would like to see more attention to water usage in the rooms.
Location: I was directed to a nice restaurant nearby...Sandrini's. I also went to the Wind Wolves Refuge outside of town...great for hiking and wildlife.
The historic hotel is centrally located, with a friendly and knowledgeable staff. I enjoyed my free drink at the bar and got a good recommendation for a nearby restaurant. The room was very comfortable, with lovely bedding and toiletries. I would definitely recommend the Padre.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Orlando

Surprise in Bakersfield

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Pros: Rooms and lobby
Cons: water pressure a little low
Location: Hotel is located in middle of downtown Bakersfield. Easy walking to restaurants and services.
Well maintained older hotel in downtown Bakersfield. Friendly efficient staff. Nicely updated rooms. Excellent restaurant and coffee shop. Easy safe neighborhood to walk at night. Pleasant surprise in Bakersfield.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Charming old world Charming

Posted Nov 16, 2016
Location: Central to shopping and restaurants.
Charming old world building with modern upgrades. Third stay there and will return.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Above Average Hotel-Terrible Area

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Pros: The hotel was fine, staff was friendly and the food services was great.
Cons: The one request I had was for fresh packets of coffee for the next day, no room cleaning services. I heard the front desk ask cleaning services to do it over the valet's radio when I went to pick up my car. No coffee when I can back very late.
Location: The area around the hotel is not conducive to an early morning or evening walk/jog because of all the homeless people sleeping or begging.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Great hotel

Posted Oct 8, 2016
Stayed two nights and had a excellent experience. Bathroom was huge and the beds were really comfortable. Hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. Location was great and we were able to walk to bars and restaurants. Bar inside the hotel was really nice and the bartender was helpful as well. The only problem I had was the barstool were very wobbly. I'll definitely be going back.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel!

Posted Sep 23, 2016
The only thing this place is missing is a pool!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Excellent stop over for our trips to Cali

Posted Sep 21, 2016
Quaint hotel with contemporary decor. Awesome bar and Steak House Roof top bar is great with live band. We will always be back to the Padre
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The bed in the room was awful

Posted Sep 20, 2016
It was so soft I felt like I was climbing up hill to roll over.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Aug 24, 2016
Cons: Needs a gym
Great hotel. Loved the period style of the place but renovated to be modern too. Cool!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Character hotel in centre of town

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: Great location , good decor
Cons: Better breakfast options
Location: Smack bang in the centre of town
Had an excellent 1 night stay stop over Great bar with good food