Ratings based on 1,100 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Great night in the hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2017
The room was big and pretty. What I liked most is the restaurant at 1F. Delicious. And wine is 50% off in happy hour!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Large Downtown Hotel

Posted Jul 10, 2017
My wife and I stayed at the Padre for 3 days while visiting our daughter, at her recommendation. Large hotel in somewhat depressed Bakersfield downtown area has been nicely refurbished. It has several restaurants & bars but no pool/hot tub. It is within walking distance of dining & coffee shops, plus couple eclectic shopping places, including a large flea market. We found it to be comfortable and quiet.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Best hotel in Bakersfield

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Bed, view, lobby
Cons: Free parking, no porn shower
Location: Location is rough- it's Bakersfield
I wanted to stay in Bakersfield to cut down the drive to Sequoia NP from Los Angeles and to try to local Basque cuisine. Wasn't too impressed by the Basque food, but the hotel was very comfortable and in great shape. Bed was large and super comfortable. Bathroom was clean and shower very modern. Decent view, too. The only knocks are the lack of any overnight street parking, forcing you to valet the car, and a couple of room issues. One, the shower light was out, but the most major issue was the porn shower- glass door to the quite small room with a gauzy curtain to hide what it's inside. Now, if you're sharing a king bed with someone, you've probably seen them naked, but not only is the shower visible, but so is the entire bathroom including the toilet. When the light is on, the curtain does practically nothing. If any of this is not your cup of tea, make sure to get an upgraded room or ask the front desk if your room is this layout.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

NICE HOTEL-BUT

Posted Jun 3, 2017
I was really looking forward to staying at this hotel. The staff was excellent, the hotel has a very nice ambience. Every space was clean and well done! The problem was in the smaller details. Parking is not just limited-it is not safe. There has been repeated thefts to the cars parked in the parking structure. The structure is small, and if you can't park there, it will be very hard to find parking elsewhere nearby. The room was nice, but the bed was too firm, even with the mattress topper. There wasn't a blanket on the bed, just a sheet and a heavy comforter that was too warm. I ordered room service, and the breakfast was very good. Having said this, I understand this is my input and other people might not find these things to be a problem. I want to mention again that the property is very nice, and the staff is excellent!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T.

Love it

Posted May 30, 2017
Very clean and beyond comfortable. The bed and pillows allow for the best rest possible. The room is upgraded. Lots of options for food and drinks. Been there more than once and will continue going.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 13, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rancho Mirage

Excelllent staff

Posted May 11, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: The decor is fresh and well designed. Food is also excellent
Cons: The phone instructions should be in the room booklet. didn't see the phone instruction card so I spent 20 minutes trying to find room service
Location: Not many nice restaurants close by but hear they are opening a new gourmet burger restaurant in historic bank around the corner
We had a fabulous time , enjoying the room and the restaurants. Staff for the hotel and restaurants were very helpful , friendly and professional.
5 out of 5
by Freddy from SoCal

Great place to stay in Bakersfield

Posted May 4, 2017 on Hotels
You never have to leave the hotel. The food and drinks are right downstairs and they're great.
4 out of 5
by Bryan

Posted Apr 29, 2017 on Hotels
Only complaint was the 30+ to get car from valet. Don't normally use a valet but at this hotel it is nearly a must
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bakersfield

7th Floor Stay

Posted Apr 27, 2017
Pros: Fresh, clean and elegant!
Cons: Making sure the ice machines work, if they don't offer the guests someone to bring ice to your room. And ensure the A/C unit is in working order!
Location: We had a invite only party in the club side of the padre, it was great. Great food and good service from all staff!
We were very happy with our experience during our stay except that our floors ice machine did not work, and neither did our AC unit. Which made our sleeping comfort unpleasant, I called the front desk and they offered me the crank to the windows and I said yes please but nobody came by that night I had to call again in the morning to re request that crank.