Ratings based on 100 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.0 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quartzsite, AZ

Hotel close to I-5

Posted Mar 28, 2017
Pros: The location and the price.
Cons: The parking lot could use a good cleaning. The ice machine needs to be repaired.
Location: There is not very much at this exit. An exit or two north has much more to choose from in the way of eating establishments.
Came to Bakersfield to attend races at Kern County and Buttonwillow. It was conveniently located between the 2 tracks. There was lots of truck noise the first night but not much the next 2 nights. The ice machine and Coke machine were out of order. The continental breakfast didn't amount to much. All in all it was worth the price of the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great economic value

Posted Mar 14, 2017
This is a great economical place if your are a family traveling to Los Angeles or Las Vegas and need a stopping point along the way. Don't expect too much but it will be clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Olympia, Washington

Nice affordable motel 7 miles from the race track.

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Pros: Nice bed (not droopy in the middle like most others), and great heat/air. Very large, spacious rooms.
Cons: Shower water control was hard to figure out...not for dummies.
Location: Close to any type of cousine. Long roads to explore. Close to the race tracks. You can see for miles in any direction. Sunrises and sunsets are WOW!!
The staff went out of their way to make us comfortable for the entire 3 days we stayed. We will stay here again next year!! Thank you so much!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern California

Decent Motel Near Bakersfield, CA-58, and I-5

Posted Jan 4, 2017
Pros: Pleasant staff, clean room, quiet, easy access from I-5.
Cons: It is an OK place for staying the night.
Location: Near I-5, some fast-food places and other basic shopping.
All the basics you need in a motel room. Not much more need be added.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 18, 2016 on Orbitz
Thin bedding. Nice that it Has microwave and refrigerator. Good price if u just need to crash......................................
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Broke out! Rashes all over our bodies! Be careful!

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
My stay at this hotel was the worst experience I've had in my life. My daughter and I broke out in a rash all over our bodies. They deliberately shut off the ice machine so we couldn't get any ice. I paid for a week in advance, yet they wanted me to leave early because I complained about our rashes and for the fact I couldn't get any ice to soothe our skin. Their customer service was horrible and the breakfast was below average. I rate my experience and this hotel a negative 10. I will never stay at a Vagabond Inn again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Friendly Staff

Posted Oct 25, 2016 on Hotels
We booked this Vagabond by mistake thinking it was close to Famoso Raceway and it was not. It is 50 minutes away. However the room was clean the bed comfortable and the breakfast ok although one of the coffee machine didn't have the coffee and they told me they were out.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

Posted Sep 12, 2016 on Hotels
Even though the rooms have rather sparse furniture, it was comfortable and clean. If you are looking for a good deal, this is the place. Staff was super friendly and helpful. Glad we too the chance. If you are whiny about amenities, this isn't the place for you....
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from AZ

Labor day stay 2016

Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
The room was dated but clean. The beds were not comfortable and not enough trash cans. The part i did notlike was the cockcoaches; we found them in the swimming and in the shower tub. Their were about 12 roaches inside the tub when my wife woke up in the morning to take a shower. That was the biggest turn off that we had about the place. Hope they take care of that
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels