Ratings based on 23 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 3, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from england

Central

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: Staff were very nice
Cons: A little TLC
Location: In the rice fields few hundred metres from central ubud.nice restaurants ,cafe de artistes excellent,the melting wok.museums close by.
Small hotel in the rice fields,very quiet but central to ubud.it was ideal.staff were very nice.
5 out of 5
by Naomi from USA

Great place to stay!

Posted Aug 27, 2014 on Hotels
We loved Ala's Green Lagoon. It is a little hard to find at first, but it is in a nice quiet location. It is surrounded by rice fields and has a nice pool to relax by. The rooms all have a nice patio where we can sit out and have our breakfast. There is a menu where we can order breakfast for the next morning. The people were very kind. We even had our laundry done there for a very small fee (the detergent smelled really good by the way). This place is very nice and affordable. I will stay here again when I go back to Ubud.
3 out of 5
by jiefu from california

interesting hotel

Posted Aug 9, 2014 on Hotels
good: architecture was pretty cool, pool was nice, breakfast was good, loved the frogs croaking at night. not so good: could be cleaner, numerous small bugs, including mosquitos even though Windows were closed. lighting is poor, wifi is horrible, breakfast tables was loaded with ants, no a/c so hot when going to bed but cold down later.
4 out of 5
by Tom G

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 8, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LissyT from Perth, Australia

Great little central homestay

Posted Jan 3, 2014
I booked at Ala's last minute, and was pleasantly surprised at this little gem... I arrived in the evening, and was guided through a series of little footpaths through the rice paddies to Ala's, where I found a little oasis yucked away overlooking the rice paddies. You are only a very short walk from the main street in Ubud, so in a great location, but all the noise and bustle of the main strip is completely blocked out, and you only hear the chorus of frogs in the rice paddies (at night) and the roosters during the day. The room was very clean and with a traditional Balinese feel, no A/C, but a fan is all you need... and I was surprised that despite open windows all day/night, the only visitor I had was an inquisitive gecko. It looked exactly as it was shown in the professional photos. The pool was just big enough for a quick dip to cool off, was very clean and definitely a great place to just hang out by and read a book. The breakfasts were delicious... the green pancake and the banana taco are heaven! For anyone that gives a bad review for Ala's, you should remember that you're only paying 40USD a night, so of course you're not going to have all the high end finishes that you get at a five star hotel, but if you expect those, then you should go book in at a 5 star hotel! Great value for money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely, Homely, Comfy

Posted Oct 25, 2013
A lovely homely place to stay that is close to the centre of Ubud. Beautiful pool, nice breakfast and spacious rooms. That was my 2nd stay and I would go back.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Heavenly Breakfast and great views, bit of a walk

Posted Aug 21, 2013 on Hotels
Great views, 15 min walk to center of town but removed from the hustle and bustle, crickets and frogs instead of mopeds. Bring your own soap, hot water intermittent. Breakfast very good. Instant coffee could be better. Good value. Poolside small but nice. Not luxurious but quiet and peaceful.
4 out of 5
by Constantin from Stuttgart

Ruhig und doch zentrumsnah

Posted Feb 22, 2016 on Hotels
Eigentlich ruhig, leider nebenan Bauarbeiten während unseres Aufenthalts. Schön umgeben von Reisfeldern, nur 3 Minuten zu Fuß in den Trubel von Ubud. Sauber. Versuchen Sie wegen Desk Ausblicks ein Zimmer im ersten Stock zu bekommen.
3 out of 5
by Adrian from Paris

Pas mal, mais pas terrible, non plus.

Posted Oct 13, 2015 on Hotels
Ubud est une ville sympa avec des choses à voir pour tous. Pour ce qui est du guesthouse, ce n'est pas le top. Mais le lit est plutôt confortable et la chambre spacieuse. De toute manière, on ne va pas à Ubud pour rester dans sa chambre. Il suffit d'un bon lit et d'une bonne salle de bain (pour cette dernière, peut mieux faire).