Ratings based on 505 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Just OK.

Posted Jun 9, 2017
Pros: Positives? Stuff friendly. close to the beach and shopping.
Cons: Please send stuff to Padma Ubud Resort to learn all about buffet breakfast,you are at the bottom with this one.
Location: Close to the beach.
Massage was disappointing, breakfast very average not exciting in comparison to Padma Ubud Resort and Nusa dua Beach resort where we stayed prior to arrival in Madira. I have ordered Baramandi meal from Azul restaurant and I thought I have ordered kids menu - the size was so small. We had to go out for dinner after "dinner"
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Wonderful Holiday May 2017

Posted Jun 2, 2017
Pros: Resort and staff excellent
Cons: Not required at present
Location: Perfect Location for all activities
Excellent resort. Fantastic staff who were very helpful and friendly. Handy to all markets, restaurants and bars. Food Bali Mandira was delicious. Thoroughly enjoyed complimentary breakfast every morning with the wide selection of cuisine, very tasteful. We had superior suite which was comfortable, clean and very satisfying for price. Thankyou Bali Mandira for making our holiday special.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Newcastle, Australia.

Great Family Friendly Hotel, Close to Amenities.

Posted May 18, 2017
We had a lovely 14 day stay at the Mandira. By the end of the trip the staff were like family. Newman, Rya, Ari and Lou were superstars in their departments. Newman made towel animals for our daughter, Rya always made sure to give her a hug and a pillow at Breakfast and Dinner, Ari was quick with the food at lunch and poolside and Lou was an amazing Babysitter, our daughter loved the Kids Club. The only let down of the trip was the ongoing renovations to the Mandira. We stayed in a Superior Room which was across from the renovations. With a small child who needed naps during the day it was difficult to get her to sleep with all the noise. The power would frequently go off as well, at least once a day while we were there. Reception were quick to send someone to restore the power when it happened. Wifi would also drop out and TV reception as well. Not problems if you are off exploring the island, but with a small toddler we were limited to our room during naps, which is when it was noticed. The other small detail was the arrangement of a late check out. We had arranged this at no cost but the Mandira went from beinf 25% full at the time we arranged the checkout to being 90% full so we werent able to keep our room for the extended period. This did leave us with a slightly bitter ending to an otherwise very memorable trip, but as it was at no cost we completely understood why this deal couldn't stand. I would recommend the Bali Mandira to everyone!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from five dock, sydney

We loved The Mandira

Posted May 5, 2017
Pros: We loved everything about this place. But definitely you can not beat the location.
Cons: Nothing
Just arrived home after a 8 night stay at the Mandira. We loved everything about this hotel. You can not beat the location. Far enough away from Kuta that it's not too crazy busy and not too far away from Seminyak which is full of huge hotels and massive shops that have all fixed price goods. It was great to leave the Mandira and experience the street shopping as it was 20 years ago. Loads of little market type shopping and great cheap cafes and restaurants. The staff could not do enough for you. One if the best points about location is the road between the hotel and the beach is a pedestrian only walkway. You can stroll across to the beach for sunset drinks without fear of getting run over every time you cross the street. Unlike Kuta - it is almost impossible to cross the road - you often have to wait for a security guard to help you get across . And the biggest plus us that because there is no traffic passing through you do not have the constant noise of beeping cars and motor bikes that drives you mad.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Japan

Nice hotel with pool and good restaurant

Posted May 5, 2017
It is a bit old but it has been renewed and looks good. Besides, everyday you'll see the staff cleaning and trying to keep everything in really good state. The deluxe room shower and toilet is not very good, water pressure is not good and you have to flush the toilet several times. Also depending in your taste, the shower is open and there are a bit of insects and the smell of plants, etc. So if you are not a nature person, you'll probably won't use it. On the other hand, it is easy to relax by the pool, restaurant food is pretty good for the price. We are there more than we expected. The snacks and the drinks are also good when you are at the pool. Finally the all you can eat breakfast in the morning is amazing, a lot of styles you can choose from and the keep adding fresh food all the way until the end.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Western Australi

Fantastic Again

Posted May 2, 2017
Pros: Cleanness and friendliness and efficiency of staff.
Cons: Nothing I think it is a A1 resort
Location: Lots if shopping, close to beach and great restaurants.
3rd time at Bali Mandira booked a Club Pool Villa. Fantastic! You are so private and can swim all day. Pool is just the right size for the one bedroom Villa. Breakfasrt can be delivered to your Villa, so no need to rush to breakfast. Have a lovely sleep in. All I can say it was a fantastic way to celebrate!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, lot to improve

Posted May 1, 2017
Pros: Very friendly service. Awesome breakfast. Good pool area. Baby sitter was excellent.
Cons: - Upgrade your toilets/bathrooms. - Have more in your food menu and mention the ingredients clearly - Bigger baby playroom. - Need pram walking area
You can get more value for money in hotel Padma which is just next to Mandira - Toilets/Bathrooms are too old and bathtub gets clogged with it own paint coming off. - Only two bottles of water in such hot humid weather is useless. Hotel Padma gives unlimited free water bottles. - Money exchange rates in the hotel is very bad. My friend in Hotel Padma got much better rates same day. - Food menu does not mention if meat is pork/bacon/ham. You need to confirm before you order any meal. - Upgrading rooms is very expensive. My friend in Hotel Padma got free upgrade. - Kids play room is very small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from auckland

In the middle of the action but worlds away

Posted Apr 29, 2017
Right in the heart of the market action but as soon as you enter the resort it's quiet and relaxed. Beautiful grounds and the pool is amazing. Our kids didn't want to get out and the swim up bar was great. Good food at the Azul Restaurant and a relaxed vibe with DJ on Sunday afternoon. We'll be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from China

Nice Family hotel near the beach

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: Food & staff were outstanding. Breakfast & restaurants had many choices from local & other cuisine. Room had a lanai and semi outdoor rain shower.
Cons: The room was dark; when cloudy or dark the single, dim light in the bathroom was barely adequate. Separate shampoo and conditioner is a must.
Location: Beach, surf, shop, clubs, swim, tours to attractions. Drive to airport only about 20 minutes (PM) by taxi; booked prepaid transfer thru Expedia.
The hotel itself is very nice; we had one of the bungalow style rooms. The staff is great (most remembered my name and room number after telling them once; Padmi and Yogi deserve a specific mention.) and the food was excellent. It was great for families because the pool area, with water slides, is really designed for kids. However, a swim up bar and roof top adult only pool also cater to adults. The only down side to the property is that, while it has direct beach access, the beach is a public beach. You have no clear view of the beach without going out onto the beach itself or to one of the upper decks. The beach was very busy with surfers, swimmers, walkers, gawkers and runners with dogs and dockers; it was trashy first thing in the morning until cleaners had been through. However, it was within walking distance to shopping, pubs, restaurants, etc. Bali is a fun and active place; my dreams of a solitary, pristine beach were not met. Still, it was a great vacation at a pleasant property with amazing food. Prices were also good, though the taxes tacked on were around 20%. They also provided mosquito repellers in the room and sprayed the property. I never like when hotels provide "shampoo & conditioner" combos -- they don't work for long hair. So if you have long hair, bring conditioner. Otherwise, toiletries provided were good. Make sure to have the chicken satay and the calamari and try the fun cocktails at happy hour at the beach bar and stay to hear the band
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

lovely resort with everything you need

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: the pools, the day spa the resterauts, so close to the beach, clean rooms
Location: the superior room could have been a bit bigger but no other feedback.
Loved every bit of this resort and funny enough i had stayed here 17 yrs prior. The facilities have been upgraded and were fantastic. The pools, the bars, the fact it was so close to the beach was excellent. Loved the experience at the day spa also. It was my bday during the trip and they actually remembered and left me flowers and chocolates which was a very lovely gesture. I recommend this resort to all my friends