Ratings based on 61 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Besakih hotel great location poor maintenance

Posted Jul 13, 2016 on Wotif
Arrived 1am room dirty toilet barely working, dirty towels, stained linen, blocked basin drain and noise from air con and street. Given a room change and upgrade the next day after complaining lost most of the day. New room looked tired and drain backed up during use so had to shower in stages. Bed was rock hard and didn't get a good night sleep at all. Replacement linen and towels continued to be grubby through out stay required swapping. Breakfast is rubbish no choice and small servings. Some of the older staff had attitudes and time some of them moved on.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful location and grounds

Posted Jun 1, 2016
I had trouble with aircon that had me spend the first night in a different room whilst it was looked at and then when the issue wasnt fixed, I was moved to another room for the duration of my stay....unfortunately had the same issue with aircon. My parents however, had a lovely cool room. The grounds are lovely and staff are friendly. The rooms are aging but they were clean and maintained daily
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Much better available for cheaper/ same price

Posted May 31, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The hotel stored our bags after check out (although insecurely) and allowed us to use shower when back to pick them up with no charge.
Location: In central sanur
Overall was disappointed. Staff seemed reluctant to help with minor things such as directions around hotel. Getting a towel for the pool was a 10 minute ordeal. Room was 'tired'. Mold throughout bathroom. Close to the beach, but beach not really swimmable due to shallow and algae. Pool was the highlight which was really nice on the beach front.
3 out of 5
by Drew from Mandurah

Shiraz 3802

Posted May 16, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel nice gardens,lovely shaded beach area,hotel requires major renovations as all(or most) are very tired,oldish type TV,which went out with the "ARK".Staff very friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

First stay at Besakih

Posted Feb 3, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful. The pool area near the beach was lovely. Safe for children and it was quiet for us.
Cons: Our room needed a little TLC. Just cosmetic things like missing tiles, bit of mould around and door to closet wouldn't close.
Location: Beautiful beach, yummy restaurants, good shopping, awesome massage place called Best Massage! Thoroughly recommend the shiatsu massage there!!
My experience staying at Besakih was a very positive one. My friend, who has stayed there before, recommended the hotel and I would recommend it to my other friends. Sanur is a lovely quiet part of Bali. Being right by the beach was very picturesque. The walk/run/cycle path along the front of the hotel is very handy too. Easy to get around the area. I felt very safe staying at Besakih alone with my 2 children. I will stay at Besakih again when I travel to Bali.
4 out of 5
by Fiona from Australia

Friendly and relaxing

Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
Fanastic location, beautiful grounds, gorgeous pools and a lovely view for breakfast. The choices available at breakfast was good. You could choose eggs any style with bacon, tomato with toast and then help yourself to the ample buffet for pastries, pancakes, fresh fruit, fruit juice and Indonesian dishes as well. Beautiful friendly staff, looking forward to returning.
4 out of 5
by Frank

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 16, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from 5 dock

Relaxing but Where is everyone????

Posted Dec 17, 2015
Pros: Location,location,location.The staff, from reception,cleaning,gardining,security,and kitchen staff namely Ayu,and fellow workers.
Cons: The Besakih is now a little old ("Like most that visit here") but many would not change for the world,except for modernsing fixtures,fittings,paintin
Location: Location,as you can go right or left when you walk out and you have shops and restaurants bothway and that goes for the front and back of the Besakih.
Very,very relaxing.Have been here before and found the ideal spot in Sanur for checking the sights,mainly by walking as found the transport more expensive than previous.The weather was fab although hot, the daily breeze made it the ideal location whilst laying on the beach lounges under the trees which enabled one to really appreciate the situation.After siesta one can slip into pool or sea to cool off and come back to order a snack and beverage from the staff .Other comforts while there manicure,pedicure or massage.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kristin from Perth WA, Australia

Older style hotel, small pool, clean rooms

Posted Jun 1, 2013
Pros: Loved the turtles that they breed here, and the dogs they have adopted. Massage ladies on beach. Good comfortable bed.
Cons: Pool small and wait long time for drinks, no Wifi area or in rooms, just near restaurant.
Location: Location good, right on beach.
Older Bali style hotel. Rooms were clean & large, good comfortable bed, no safe in room. Gardens nice, staff mostly nice, small pool with swim up bar that closes at 6pm and the drinks aren't made there so you have to wait a fair while unless you want something premixed or beer. Good area on beach with no hassle and great massage ladies on beach. Wouldn't recommend families, mainly older couples or adult groups. Come here if you want to relax and have a quiet place to do it. Overall nothing wrong with this hotel, I have stayed nicer for same price. Seems most people that come here are return customers that like the older style, more simpler hotels and the staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Colin from Brighton

Good Hotel located on beach

Posted Dec 14, 2012
Pros: The beach location and central to the resort.
Cons: We stayed when half full, and enough loungers for everyone. If full, there would be a shortage of pool / beach loungers, the main reason for staying.
Location: Excellent. Directly on the beach and main entrance near good place to eat and or drink or shop.
We have stayed three times before and booked again. Then I was concerned about some of the reviews. Stayed in early December 2012 and found it probably less than half full. The hotel is directly on the beach and we sat around the pool or on the beach loungers on the shaded beach. The room 233 was upstairs and had all the usual facilities, incl English speaking TV programmes, they provided a kettle and cups, but you need your own tea and coffee (suprising its not provided for a hotel of this price). The room was clean, comfortable bed etc. I thought it was very acceptable. My only concern is that the hotel has become quite expensive compared to others. I would look at other seaside located hotels and compare prices. If you get a good price go for it, if others are about the same then consider them. This is a perfectly good hotel, just need to make sure it is value for money compared to others. It is also getting harder to book via Hotel web sites, often can only book direct, which is more expensive. Web sites show it as full or not available, when it is less than half full. Again a perfectly good hotel if the price is right.