Ratings based on 218 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Western Australia

Great hotel!!

Posted Nov 17, 2016
We really enjoyed our stay at Champlung Sari. We had a standard room which was great with a balcony which we could watch the monkeys in the trees and running around everywhere. Our air con wasn't very cold so after our first night we were upgraded free of charge to a deluxe room with great air con. The pools were beautiful, we also learnt that monkeys can swim! The staff were fantastic and couldn't do enough! If you don't like monkeys then this place isn't for you as they are everywhere in the hotel grounds but we didn't have a problem with them and if they got too close the staff were always on hand to chase them away. It was a beautiful place to stay and would recommend it to anyone. We loved it and would definitely stay again!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Nice pleasant stay in an older style Hotel

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Location: Obviously close to the Monkey Forest! A driver can be hired to take you to all the locations you need to visit around Ubud/Bali.
My family and I recently stayed for three nights. The hotel is quite old but we liked this style and felt very comfortable. The rooms (we had two connecting) were very clean and housekeeping did a great job of making up our beds each day and changing towels etc… The staff are very polite and friendly and we also hired Daewah to be our driver for two of the days we were in Ubud and he did a fantastic job driving us to various tourist destinations. He also drove us to the airport (for additional fee) and we arrived in plenty of time with no problems at all. He also “ran us up” to the Ubud Central market area on the first day for no fee to help us avoid having to hire a taxi which was nice. We were then able to walk back (down the hill). The monkeys – yes there are a few monkeys around at times but I actually expected more! On some occasions you could walk through the grounds and there were no monkeys at all. Overall they were not really an issue but you do have to avoid doing things like carrying plastic bags otherwise they will try and take them off you (thinking there is food in the bag). I almost had a run in with a monkey so just keep clear of them and it is fine. The hotel is in a good location with plenty of restaurants within walking distance and it is obviously very good for getting to the Monkey Forest. Our rooms were located in one corner of the property so the WiFi struggled a little at times but was good enough for getting some simple tasks done. Overall we
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Maple Heights, United States of America

Great location

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Pros: Location! Close to monkey forest on Monkey Forest Way
Cons: Like more books
Room had tv, more western style.close to shopping, beautiful pool, lovely grounds. Towels nice.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from australia

Nice hotel near monkey forest

Posted Sep 28, 2016
Kids loved the pools and the monkeys in the grounds of the hotel , wife enjoyed the spa, breakfast was ordinary
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from birmingham

Next door to monkey forest

Posted Sep 14, 2016
This hotel is right next to monkey forest which is why I chose it as our main reason for visiting Ubud was to go there. We stayed three nights as part of a 17 night trip around Bali. The room was pleasant and clean but the bathroom was not closed in like the room and was slightly open roof on the one side meaning mosquitos congregated in the shower area and one night a cockroach fell from the top of the door right in front of me. So I would prefer if that was completely closed off and part of the room. The 2 pools were nice, but the hotel itself is set out strangley with the rooms feeling like there not part of the main hotel. Breakfast wasn't great we didn't think, mainly Balinese options. The pool guy was really cool he booked us some excursions and our taxis for us and got us good prices! Although we thought the hotel was ok it was probably our least favourite out of the 5 we stayed at
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Had a wonderful time

Posted Aug 30, 2016
Pros: Expedia
Cons: One big drawback is the Wifi in the hotel and that it is not available in the rooms. All international travellers expect efficient access to wifi,
Location: Very convenient, close to shopping and eating places.
Hotel is conveniently located, close to all eating places ( the variety is amazing) and shopping. Caring and considerate staff. Rooms were clean and well maintained. One drawback is not enough choice at their restaurant for vegetarians. Being more creative in the menu would be very useful. Because of the proximity of the hotel to the Monkey Forest, be careful about the monkeys first thing in the morning, they come to the balconies looking for food, so make sure you do not leave any personal belongings out there.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very central

Posted Aug 23, 2016
The hotel is extremely central and close to just about everything. After we were given a rather old room despite booking a superior room the very helpful and friendly staff arranged for a change. The new room was more modern and far better equipped. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful with trips and travel.
4 out of 5
by Jinwha from Korea

Posted Aug 16, 2016 on Hotels
I had a great time in the hotel. The location was great near the discovery shopping mall. Also, Kuta beach was in walking distance, so I was able to go surfing every day. Breakfast was good with a lot of choices in a buffet style.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Lastminute
Nice hotel shame about all the monkies that drove me crazy
2 out of 5
by Donna from New Zealand

Hotel's not for me! NoWiFi in 2016! bungalows4me

Posted Aug 5, 2016 on Hotels
Room not available @1; I was early, check-in time: 2:00). I 'officially' ckd in, left bags, which were tagged w/room number&remained in lobby, and went to meet daughter & partner in nearby bungalow. Returned at 3, room not ready, I politely insisted on a room to store my bags & change to go to pool. And they could still clean the room once 'I'd moved in') Surprisingly, a room WAS available, possibly an upgrade & prob because it's the worst located. Not the same room number on my bag tags-I was grateful, BUT above parking, arrivals/departures of vans/buses/loud tourists(!) & Lobby area. Pool: NOT enough sun loungers, perhaps 8 at the larger pool. Hotel has 101 rooms, 2pools. Indo teak pool furniture is cheap, why not provide more on the concrete pool surround? Room very comfortable, AC worked well! Complimentary toiletries, hotel style. No safe in room (think mentioned in listing) but no probs. All the staff were great. It's no fun going to Lobby/pool/restaurant for wifi! With other tourists 'staying connected as we do' & searching for elect outlets to charge devices. I buy local SIM card when traveling; not surprisingly, my data ran out from using in room. The monkeys were entertaining, watch your stuff while at the pool. After my prepaid two nights, I moved to a bungalow, up the road, with wifi, half the price, lovely staff. If you plan on spending all day out on tours, this hotel set up might suit you, for sleep and breakfast.