Ratings based on 82 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
71% of guests recommend
3.0 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

No guest facilities

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Took 3 rooms, condition of bathrooms poor, very little natural light. One room with no window, which smelled of sewerage, presumably blocked drain. Good bed and wifi. Moved into another motel around the corner which had much better facilities
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok place to stay for a night

Posted Nov 29, 2016 on Hotels
The place was convenience but the staffs were very cold to us
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Wouldn't stay here again.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Was just a short stay as had to wait for flight so were there only a few hours. But the room was not advertised correctly in Expedia as it stated it was 52 sq meters and it was more like 20. So that was a disappointment. Room very dismal with marks on walls. No window. There were 2 hugh cockroaches in the bathroom when we arrived and we had to get staff to remove them.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good for low budget

Posted Jul 16, 2016 on Wotif
The hotel staff are very friendly, the internet is good, I mean the hotel is good for people who want a place to crash at night and head out most of the day. The location is great and close to many hotspots. I would consider booking at the same hotel if I ever needed a break with a tight budget. Mostly recommanded for solo travellers.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 7, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Matahari Guest House

Posted Oct 13, 2015
Pros: Pleasing staff, help you with anything like organising taxis, where to go, what to do. great value for money, 5 mins to kuta beach in relative central
Cons: Perhaps include free breakfast
Location: Beach, shopping, nightlife
Pleasing staff, help you with anything like organising taxis, where to go, what to do. great value for money, 5 mins to kuta beach in relative central kuta area
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Hotel Matahari Guest House

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Very Nice hotel in Kuta. Fantastic value for money. warm receptionists, very easy to communicate through english and can help you out for anything (eg
Cons: perhaps just adding in free breakfast.
Location: Kuta Beach, shopping stalls and nightlife
Very Nice hotel in Kuta. Fantastic value for money. warm receptionists, very easy to communicate through english and can help you out for anything (eg: taxis, where to go and what to do) 5 mins walk to the beach, easy walk to all around kuta and nearby seminak. central location, cannot relatively get lost.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Hotel Matahari Guest House

Posted Oct 12, 2015
Pros: Great location. close walk 5 mins to beach. excellent value for money. no problems at all, very safe, reception very warm and sorted out any needs we
Location: 5 mins walk to beach. fairly central location, cannot get relativly lost. Perfect
Great location. close walk 5 mins to beach. excellent value for money. no problems at all, very safe, reception very warm and sorted out any needs we may have had such as taxis to airport, navigating around kuta and things to do etc. I would definatly come back to stay here again.
3 out of 5
by Craig from Tallahassee, FL

Good place for a short stay

Posted Oct 8, 2015 on Hotels
We arrived late because we were coming from Java and had only booked one night as we had an early flight the next morning from the the Denpasar airport (great place to stay if you need early short transport to the airport, only 20 minutes and 45,000 Rupiah by metered taxi) But the man checking us in was asking us why we were staying here, seemingly like he didn't want us there or was annoyed we were checking in so late and leaving so early (maybe wanted us to stay more nights {upsell?} and/or wanted us to buy into the 15,000 rp breakfast) either way, he made us feel a little put off and unwanted. Other than that the room was big enough for sleeping and showering which is really all we needed before our flight in the morning. We walked down to the sports bar/restaurant and ended up walking right into their 10pm happy hour which was nice, had some delicious nachos and clam chowder and called it a night about 11pm, The hotel is 5 minute walking distance from a main strip in Kuta, lots of shops, restaurants, ATMs, bars, etc. Would recommend for a short stay but not for any longer than two nights.