Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth Western Australia

5 star all the way. Exceptional experience

Posted Mar 2, 2015
Pros: living in a beautiful planted jungle. We were treated like royalty 100%
Cons: it was fabulous
Location: Tours were as easy to do from here as they were from Sanur
Everything, everyone and the place itself were wonderful. Left with a greater sense of self confidence and peacefulness. Pure joy in experiencing the surroundings and the views - to die for
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice resort type accommodations

Posted Jan 28, 2015
Pros: The staff and the nice surroundings
Cons: The Wi-fi was a bit unreliable.
Location: The resoert is near the Ubud town with the famous landmarks such as the Monkey forest and the Ubud palace. There is a regular free shuttleto go there.
We had a very enjoyable stay for four nights. The staff were plesant and friendly and were eager to make our stay comfortable and memorable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A good representation of what Bali really is

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Pros: Location, scenery, cleanliness
Cons: Spa and food are way overpriced
Location: Royal Pita Mahal, a must see attraction in Bali
Secluded location, stunning view especially from La View restaurant. Even if you don't stay there, make an effort to have a meal at the restaurant. Nearby Royal Pita Mahal is a rare gem in the island. Can't think of a nicer place to spend a lazy afternoon than the Ayung Organic restaurant. Other than that the hotel staffs are courteous and helpful. Spa is way way overpriced so is the food. Rooms are fine but really doesn't warrant a 5-star rating. The resort is built around a local village which adds to its unique charm. Will come back again for sure if there's a good deal.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Alberta

Great hotel, amazing views/grounds

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Phenomenal hotel. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Villa 16 was amazing, without a shadow of a doubt the nicest hotel I've ever had the pleasure of staying in. If you stay at this hotel, don't skimp, get a villa. Hotel staff were very attentive, grounds were clean and rooms were ridiculously beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney Australia

Large botanic garden with nice mountain views

Posted Dec 13, 2014
All the staffs are nice and friendly, great facilities, great breakfast. u also get free shuttle (8 seated car) to Ubud town every hour till 5pm, and free return shuttle as well. Very convenient. The hotel has great surrounding mountain views and rice fields views ( rice fields seen from the in house tree top spa house, but spa a little pricey). Our private pool doesn't have the valley or river view as per promoted photo ( rather the other side of our villa oversees the river and mountains, the pool view was blocked by large trees and plants, so not much view from there) , so make sure you double check with the hotel what view you get for your booking, each villa has slightly different views. Overall, it was a great hotel, will come again perhaps at ordinary rooms next time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

My home away from home

Posted Dec 2, 2014
I want to thank all the staff from Kupu Kupu Barong. I had such a good rest and the staff were so friendly and let me enjoy my space. The spa treatment was out of this world and I have a lot of massages back in Australia, but this is one of the best I had ever had. Room service was prompt and the food was lovely. The rooms were SO clean, and I enjoyed their new Jungle Deluxe Suite, it was a great price and in no way did that reflect on the standard of the room. I wanted a private feeling, and that is exactly what I got. The buggies were so helpful as I had two old injuries to my ankles, and when I call for the buggies to collect me, they were there in only minutes. I found the food and drinks at the restaurant very reasonable. Thank you all again, I will see you again soon. Ms Lulu
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Incredibly peaceful! Exactly what I needed!

Posted Dec 2, 2014
Location: The location is set in the hillside outside Ubud. There are a lot of steps, rock pathways, and a couple of hills. The setting is harmonious!
I longed for a relaxing getaway and that is exactly what I received. The staff are amazing, the food was incredible, and the setting was peaceful! I treated myself to a massage in a jungle tree-house in an old mango tree, which overlooked the valley and the river far below. Getting a massage surrounded by nature, sounds of the jungle, and the babbling water was beyond belief!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vegreville, AB, Canada

Beautiful rooms with the frfrieliest staff!

Posted Nov 30, 2014
Beautiful, spotless rooms with great decor. The most friendly, happy, accommodating staff ever! Restaurant had a great view with excellent food!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant stay.

Posted Nov 19, 2014
A little far out of town, but their shuttle service is excellent. Also the grounds are quite extensive, but again their shuttle (buggy) service is excellent. Just call and they are there within 5 minutes. Beautiful natural surroundings, and excellent staff.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from australia

Service and security is excellent.

Posted Nov 16, 2014
The staffs are very friendly, helpful and thoughtful. Indeed i enjoyed my stay at this hotel. If you want a nice view, villa is the choice however if you are on lowrr budget, the standard room is just as good.