Ratings based on 265 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Beautiful location

Posted Apr 27, 2017
The location is the best in ubud and probably bali - I've been to bali three times and to numerous hotels in all district and this has the best view hands down. The rooms, however, are dated and towels and sheets are old. The rooms and bathrooms are in desperate need of renovation. The service is not great and breakfast is very simple. Pool was very dated as well. The private pools in the villas are not heated. But they have the best spa I've been to in the world. L'occitane spa is incredible and I would honestly just stay there again for it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from saudi arabia

lovely river view and friendly and helpfull staff

Posted Mar 11, 2017
I will recomend this hotel to anyone I care about 👍
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 1, 2017
Very bad experience, the room is very dirty I couldn't sleep there, I checked out in my first hour.. The staff are unprofessional
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from India

Calm, Relaxed, Serene and Very Romantic Place

Posted Jan 28, 2017
We stayed at Kupu Kupu Barong for 4 days in the November of 2015. From the day I first communicated with hotel staff till the day I left, everything was planned perfectly without any hitches. The staff is very courteous, friendly and always ready to help. The most striking fact I still remember from the tour is that we met probably 15 different staff members and every one of them would always call us by our names and would chat with us about our plans for the day. It seemed as if the whole staff knew us and our plans by heart.. This gave the word "hospitality" a totally different meaning for us and we appreciated it a lot. About the hotel property, it is situated in the heart of Bali so expect more of culture, greenery and peace rather than beaches and party. The villas are nicely spread to give you a personalized feeling. We took a villa near the river thinking that the sound of flowing water at night would be soothing.. It was going as planned until we woke up with loud motor noise next morning!! Alas!! There was water-sports facility on the river!! A little anti-climax but bearable one. Food in the hotel is very delicious and they granted our requests generously. We also enjoyed the mango tree spa and a breakfast a Bird's nest which was indeed lovely. Got a chance to see a weeding at the infinity pool and the way the hotel organized it. We sighed and wished if we could replan our wedding that way.. It was pretty amazing!! Big thank you to staff.. Would love to come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great hotel of tree houses in a valley

Posted Nov 20, 2016 on Ebookers
Location: Ubud is fascinating and gives a real insight into proper Bali. The cycling tours and the climb up mount Batur at sunrise were incredible
Outstanding hotel staff very attentive to each need. Food was top notch. Watch out for a few rather large creepy crawlies, befitting the jungle location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

perfect hotel ! love it.

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: perfect, beautiful, friendly
Cons: improve the security in No. 24 villa.
this is perfect, beautiful hotel. very special villa with Bali tradition. the staff is very friendly. The food is perfect. if go to Bali next time, will stay in this hotel only!!!!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane

Posted Aug 2, 2016 on Wotif
Lovely hotel and staff. Very attentive and willing to help with any request. I will be recommending this hotel to my friends and family. It's quiet location and privacy makes for a relaxing visit
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Amazing experience and view!

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Pros: The room and view
Cons: nothing!
Location: Ayung River is right below us, therefore, you can take a rafting day activity! They also have a free shuttle bus to the town (20 minutes) every hour.
We came to Kupu Kupu for 3 nights at the end of our trip. It was the perfect way to end our honeymoon! The staff, food and facilities were amazing and I would recommend this beautiful hotel to anyone!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 21, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne, Australia

living with nature

Posted Jun 19, 2016
The resort is located on a hill side overlooking a river and surrounded by forest. The buildings are aesthetic and blend in well with the natural surrounding. The service and facilities were excellent. A memorable stay.... It would be worth mentioning a complementary "happy birthday" cake sent as a surprise to our room for my wife!