Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Pleasing stay in spite of recent problems.

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Pros: Staff, pool, proximity to beach and eateries as well as the Balinese character and sculptures.
Cons: electrics need an overhaul and fun as the large curious almost lean-to shower room is, it would be good if a monsoon shower did not soak the loo-roll.
Location: Probably best to book tours to Balinese dance ceremonies etc. Self-drive is non-contact (hopefully) dodgems throughout south eastern Bali; horrendous!
We enjoyed our stay in spite of nearly turning back on arrival at the main road entrance of an apparently abandoned site. Others sadly were put off. The Italian owner who built the place in 1971, has retained only the suites around the small pool, near the beach end of the property, allowing the rest to revert to the Indonesian landlord who has not kept it up. During our stay efforts were being made to tidy up the approach from the main road and to fence off the sadly disused buildings. Unfortunately there was no explanatory notice at the main gate with its abandoned reception desk- hence the lost customers (who had stayed there in previous years). Having walked far enough ourselves, we found the reception and were able to enjoy the somewhat quirky room and shower for our five days there. Its glass walls had heavy bamboo and cloth roller blinds as well as curtains inside; though the skylights and the stairwell up to the roof terrace were not covered- Not a privacy issue, but for an afternoon snooze the room can't be darkened. Stair banister needs repair. Plenty of eateries nearby on the beach or on the main road as La Taverna only caters for breakfast. The smallish pool was spotless and lukewarm like the sea.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beach front hotel in Sanur Bali

Posted May 13, 2016
Pros: Location, nice and quiet, not too big, friendly, cheap.
Cons: Rooms in need of a bit of work, breakfast could be better
Location: Right on the beach, sun lounges and seating for hotel guests, short walk for shoping
Checked in very late. Staff were efficient and helpful. They must be notified for a check in after midnight. Breakfast was ok. Beach was great. Pool and entire resort is a bit dated, still nice enough for the price. Resort is to be renovated in September 2016. Overall all good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mosquito blown run down hotel

Posted Feb 17, 2016
Pros: Location great - right on the beach & easy access to shops from front and beach. Nice gardens & sitting areas though lots of mozzies!
Cons: Where to start? A consistency to room standards - block off the rooms which are mouldy, dark and cave-like - I suspect quite a few.
Location: Shops, cafes, beach bars, restaurants - within easy reach. The Isola beach cafe/restaurant at the La Taverna too expensive.
On arrival the staff had "upgraded our rooms" - to something that you'd expect for the money you paid. The "rooms" we had actually paid for were musty, mouldy and cave-like - and unfortunately one of our group had to suffer that as there were no more "upgrades". I suspect the hotel is waiting its time out for demolition - it is out of date and run down. Our safe and phone were broken and the pillows brought to the room (they had only supplied cushions). We were eaten alive by mosquitos - a net around the bed would have helped - the open air bathroom (with dumped mouldy mattress in it) would have added to the breeding ground. Food and drinks at the beach bar over priced and breakfasts not up to standard. There are far better hotels beach front - my advice is pay a little more if necessary - its worth it!.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from adelaide

Old style hotel on the beach

Posted Dec 6, 2015
Pros: Close to everything. Walk out front eateries galore take your pick. Out other end beach front awaits eats and drinks. Cabana heaven
Cons: Lots but would spoil the Bali style atmosphere.
Location: Quiet and peaceful, very few touts,shops and warangs/restaurants abound for all budgets in short walking distance. Beach clean and inviting .
Old Bali hotel with quaint,quirky style rooms in upgraded room mode. Don't expect tiles and new fittings. Go with the flow and everything works fine. The staff are good and helpful. The room we booked was not suitable for us oldies,we asked and got transferred to a more user friendly one no problems says management.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing by the beach.

Posted Oct 26, 2015
Pros: Peaceful and tranquil. Staff are friendly
Cons: Buffet Breakfast
Location: The Ducks Nutz Hardy's
We arrived at the hotel after 12 Midnight. We were happy that the driver picked us up. We were shown to our room. By that time I was so tired and ready to sleep. The staff took us to our room and I was quite amazed at the size of the room. It was huge and they sure love their bamboo. The place was a bit run down and musty. The next morning I had to check out our room. The staff came and greet us and opened up our blinds. It was like a glass house, windows all the way round. The place is really peaceful and away from the main road. The staff was more than willing to attend to our needs. The only disappointing thing was the breakfast. You only had a few choices of either Asian style or fried/poached/boiled or scrambled egg with a small slice of bread. Be careful when ordering soft boiled and poached eggs. We were expecting a buffet breakfast with what we paid for in staying at La Taverna. When you go to get money change, check that they give you the correct money back. I went to 3 places to get money exchange and they give you back in 50000.00 rupee, ask if you can have it in 100000.00 rupee and check it twice. It is safer to go to a proper money changer. When you barter always ask for half of what it's worth and bring it down further. Go to Jack's Place by the beach near Puri Santrian and try the dish called 'MAHI MAHI'. It is very tasty and the beers, food by the beach are cheap.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Singapore

No fuss right on the beach

Posted Jan 4, 2015
Pros: Plain & simple with no fussy resort ideas.
Cons: The restaurant's menu.
Location: Great beach and lots of other resorts & bars along the beach walk nearby. The main bar/restaurant street is a longer walk, or short bike ride.
We stayed as a family of 2 adults and 2 kids (10 & 7) for a few days between Christmas & New Year and enjoyed our stay. The design of the bungalows is great for kids, and they enjoyed jumping between pool & beach as they felt the mood. The beach is ideal for smaller kids. The hotel's cabana's are a nice touch. The hotel is described as "rustic" which means it lacks the 'glitz' of some of the newer resorts around it, but feels more homely. The staff were always friendly and eager to please. The restaurant is average - not so much choice and resort prices - OK for a first evening convenience, but plenty of better choices a short walk away. That said, their pizza's were excellent quality and ideal for lunch on a beach day.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not Value For Money

Posted Jul 28, 2013
Pros: Great beach location. Nice bar and restaurant. Plenty of water sports available nearby. Close to nearby shops and restaurants.
Cons: Bad service.
Location: Good beachfront.
In comparison with other accommodations in the area, this hotel is absolutely NOT value for money. We considered moving, but had prepaid. PROBLEMS * Unfriendly reception staff. * Room smaller than website conveyed. * Despite notifying management, only tepid shower water was available. * Breakfast is only fruit, eggs and bread. No variety. * Original 70's construction still exists. Very thin walls enable neighboring guest noises / conversations to be easily overheard.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Perfect hotel with children- or not!

Posted Mar 23, 2009
Loved La Taverna- The staff were great. Food good- Pizza's in particular. I was traveling on my own with a 22 month old. Hotel and staff perfect! Pool was gorgeous.Had ground floor room and it was so easy to get around either walking with toddler or in pram. Right on the beach so easy again to stroll board walk and then shopping right out the front-Highly recommend for anyone but just perfect for children! Will return! Kelly and William
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Shocker. Never Again.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: Right at the beach, next to a lot of other hotels you'd probably be wise to book instead.
Probably one of my worst hotel experiences. Due to our flight being delayed, we weren't able to stay there for the first of our two booked nights, which we informed the hotel about, letting them know they could rent out our room to someone else for the night if they wanted (we knew we couldn't get a refund, but we figured it might be useful for them to have an extra room available). When we arrived the next day, we were told we couldn't even have the breakfast (that was pre-paid) anymore, seeing how we were half an hour late for it, but they'd see about getting us "compensation" in form of a massage or drinks - we checked in the evening only to be told to "wait, we will get back to you" - which of course never happened. The staff was very patronizing and rude in general, especially compared to the lovely staff we were met with in the other hotels we went to. Our room looked very nice at first glance, on a closer look we found small bloodstains on our sheets and realized we only had one working electrical socket - connected to a lamp with a broken cable, that was fixed with tape but still had wiring hanging out that gave off small shocks. The worst part however was the mosquito net, which had huge holes in it, and led to me having 18 mosquito bites the next morning. We were hoping for the breakfast to make it up to us, but wrong again. Two options available, neither of which tasted great. Not the best way to start a holiday.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vitry sur Seine

Très bien situé, bel environnement, sur la plage

Posted Jul 10, 2016
Pros: Sa localisation, son environnement, le jardin, l'architecture, la décoration intérieure, l'accès à la plage
Cons: Le petit déjeuner : servi à table, avec parcimonie, il manque de variété. La climatisation dans les chambres est bruyante.
Location: Quartier très animé côté rue, beaucoup de restaurants et magasins. Côté plage, très animé la journée, très calme le soir malgré nombreux restaurants
Nous y avons passé 5 jours. L'hôtel est très bien situé dans Sanur, dans la rue principale, très proche de tous les services et de nombreux restaurants et bars. Par ailleurs, l'hôtel est implanté dans un très joli cadre, avec un accès direct à la plage, le jardin est superbe, l'architecture balinaise est très agréable.