Ratings based on 409 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 14, 2017
The hotel was very welcoming and went out of their way to accommodate us also all staff very friendly
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Run down and old, more like a 3 star hotel

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Cons: Training staff, especially at check in!!
I'm not one to write bad reviews, but our stay wasn't so great at The Melia Bali and we were very underwhelmed with the rooms and the service. The room was very old and run down; there were scratches and chips on all the furniture, the TV was an antique with fuzzy screens and things in the bathroom were broken (e.g. we had a cracked glass in our bathroom). It also smelt a bit strange, like a damp odour. The resort also charges you if you need additional bottles of water - it doesn't cost too much, but quite strange for a 5 star resort?? Staff were friendly but might require more training - upon checkin we waited over 15 minutes at the counter as it was quite busy; however when the staff member served us, he stopped halfway to make welcome drinks for all the guests which was a bit unusual?!?! Also at the breakfast buffet (which was like a chaotic food court, again not what you expect from a 5 star resort) we had to flag down someone to give us menus, and when we finally did they only gave us one menu and not two. Afterwards they told us to wait for our receipt but we never got one. Not their fault as the staff are generally quite friendly, but we found English was a barrier and a lot of things were lost in translation at both check in and the breakfast buffet. Not a resort we would stay at again and from this experience, we wouldn't stay at any Melia hotels in the future. Hope this review is helpful to other travellers as I wish I knew about this before we booked!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2017
We had a lovely relaxing weekend stay here. Very friendly and attentive staff, very nice room which was very clean. There's a good variety of on site restaurants to choose from and a beautiful safe sandy beach. Melia is one of several high end hotels next to one another which combine to enable a very pretty beachfront walk. Melia had beautiful pools and fantastic facilities for kids, along with separate adult only areas, which was nice. Lagoon access room was great - literally swim from your own private patio. Great hotel, thanks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, QC

Beautiful hotel. Great location

Posted Apr 11, 2017
Pros: Well located, luxurious and great staff.
We were a group of 9 people (5 adults, 4 young kids) visiting Bali and Lombok and we used this hotel as our first stop. It is located in a quiet area close to the airport and to areas of interest in Southern Bali. We had the all inclusive option which was really worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Hotel is quite nice and we enjoyed it . One thing I want hotel to improve is humidity in a room .
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Typical indulgence resort over the top

Posted Mar 13, 2017
Check in was too long- we arrived 2 hours early left our bags in lobby, passport and credit card details. We returned two hours later only to be kept waiting another half an hour while they started the whole process again- passport CC etc and confusion about the rooms and what was included. On check out someone else's bill was allocated to our room in error - the reception staff insisted it was charged to my room 3214. I had to ask to see the original invoice and found the error myself - the drinks should have been charged to 3314. Not good enough!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Canada

Peace and Serenity in Paradise

Posted Mar 11, 2017
Cons: The "house spirits" were generally of poor quality but if you stick to beer or wine, or go for the higher priced name brands, those are great.
We were very pleasantly surprised by every aspect of this resort from start to finish. This facility is pretty close to 5 star quality, which is more than a flattering comment considering how many resorts pretend to be 5 star but deliver mediocrity. From the moment we were "gonged in", adorned with fragrant flowers and handed a chilled beverage to the zippy check out and departure, there was nothing but pleasant, kind, cheerful and accommodating luxury treatment. Cleanliness in every corner, excellent food selection, clean beach, no searching for a spot by the pool or beach -- truly a no hassle atmosphere. Very serene and peaceful atmosphere provided for a very restful stay. We felt safe and secure at all times. Beautiful grounds. Manageable size that was easily walkable. No pressure for upgrades or other purchases of tours etc. Nearby shopping and dining at the Bali Collection Shopping Complex. We opted for the all inclusive package with no regrets. Well worth the extra cost as the drinks alone may have proven to be rather costly yet essential in such a warm climate. Some interesting cocktails on the bar list but the local liquor is not the best tasting, which is probably the closest we would come to a complaint. We were offered a swim out unit but opted out and didn't feel the lure of a private 'adults only' pool was warranted as the regular pool was very accessable and children were elsewhere occupied with the Kids Club. Overall, a very fine experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Excellent food and staff

Posted Feb 25, 2017
The biggest highlight for this hotel is their staff always smiling and eager to help! Nothing seemed a problem for them and all our queries were answered promptly. The food is really amazing too - tasty and well presented. Juice bar with its coconut based cocktails and fresh juices were just perfect!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2017 on Hotels
First of all, for the price of deluxe room we paid through hotel.com, we got upgraded to family suite upon check in. Excellent 2 split level suite. Clean & spacious. Serene & rich of green ambience. Courteous & professional staff members. Speak good English.
5 out of 5
by Mary

Great family relaxing holiday

Posted Jan 21, 2017 on Hotels
The Melia was a great place for a family holiday. Staff are amazingly friendly and helpful. The daily/group activities such as pool games, pilates, pool gym are well attended and really made our stay lots of fun. My boys aged 11 and 13 loved all the hotel games (basketball, water polo, futsal etc) and activities eg fruit carving etc. We were made to feel very welcome. We bought the food and beverage package (paid AUD$230 for $300 spend - 30% saving) instead of the "all inclusive" F&B package as we liked to explore outside the hotel. Three small improvements I would like to see at the hotel: Number one: better signage of NO SMOKING areas - especially at breakfast (the outside non smoking areas was dark/ smokers got the best spots!!) and around the pool. It is really awful as a non smoker to have someone smoking - or worse walking around smoking while you are trying to swim/relax. Secondly, it would have been great if the "included breakfast could have been offered at the restaurant overlooking the beach. Thirdly, the breakfast buffet needs to have better quality coffee (lattes, flat white etc as the coffee they offer is not 5 star) and they need a freshly made pancake/waffle area for the kids as the ones on buffet table looked like they'd be there for a while. These small improvements would go a long way. We had a great stay and all in all, highly recommended.