Ratings based on 219 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 26, 2017
Staff was very friendly and provided helpful information on what to see and where to go. The spa massage was amazing as well.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison, WI

Beautiful villas in a great location.

Posted Jan 20, 2017
This hotel is situated along a stretch of road where there are the best food and drink options and just a 10 minute walk to the city center where the market is. Great shopping lines the street so it's always a nice stroll otherwise thet will shuttle you for free. The hotel staff is THE FRIENDLIEST we have met in all of Bali. Smiling, attentive and wanting to make your stay perfect. On our last day our server even brought us a special cappuccino he made with our names written on it. No matter what you need, big or small they want you to call them. The room was beautiful and perfectly cleaned. The only thing was that our waterfall fountain didn't work which would have drowned out some city noise during the day but that was my only concern. Great place. The manager introduced himself to us 2 or 3 times to make sure everything was going well. Top notch place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Guam

Felt Like Royalty

Posted Jan 11, 2017
Pros: There was nothing we didn't like!
Cons: Nothing
Location: Right in the center of Ubud. Plenty of shops, restaurants and museums to walk to.
We had an amazing time Royal Kamuela! We arrived very late at night and they made sure to have someone to greet us, as well as a drink and snack, which was great after all the traveling. The staff was very friendly and helped us with anything we needed. The villas are a great size and the pool was wonderful to have. We utilized the in-room dining a lot and we were always satisfied with the food. The hotel is also within walking distance of a lot of shops, restaurants, museums and the monkey forest. We also took some of the tours the hotel offered. Our driver was excellent and we got to see a lot of Bali. When our trip was over we didn't want to leave. We are already thinking of coming back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent property with super service

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
We spent 4 days here. If you want privacy, this is the place to come - you have your own villa (with walled garden, deck and plunge pool), the "room" service is great. You'll have your breakfast on your deck (monkey situation permitting) or inside the villa. Talking about monkeys - the name "Monkey Forest" is not there for marketing only. The monkeys are regular visitors - at one afternoon we counted 16 of them in our garden - it was a bit scary, but a call to the front desk took care of them, security came to our garden and the beast seemed to know him because they scattered and didn't come back that day. On site there's a small café-restaurant only, but once you step out the front gate, your're in the middle of Ubud. We did a day tour with them up - again, well organized, their own very friendly and knowledgable driver took us around. All the employees are super friendly and helpful. Just an example - on arrival we wanted a couple's massage at the on-site spa. There was only one therapist working at that time, but the hotel arranged for an other one to come in at very short notice for our sake.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

Perfect location in Ubud. Superior Service

Posted Dec 12, 2016
Pros: Location. Location. Location. Friendliness of the staff. Design of the villas and private pools.
Cons: Cannot think of anything
Location: Just within 10 minutes walk you can have access to all major restaurants, cafes, bars, markets, yoga centers, and monkey forest.
I rarely write reviews about hotels as I'm a frequent traveller for my work, however Royal Kamuela Ubud deserves a 5 stars rating from my side as it exceeded every little expectations that I had in terms of the friendliness and attentiveness of the staff, design and quality of the villas, the perfect location of walking distance to all the major attractions within Ubud, while still having total privacy and secludedness from the busy areas in Ubud. I regularly do Yoga and the walking distance to Yoga Barn was a plus for me. I could also rent scooters for around $5 a day from a rental place nearby and drive around the city. I occasionally had monkey visitors early mornings in the courtyard, but as my doors were always closed as recommended by the hotel staff, I never felt any issues with these cute visitors. I actually booked my next trip in January to Ubud and will stay at Royal Kamuela again for 9 days. Cannot wait.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Magical stay in ubud

Posted Nov 30, 2016 on Hotels
What an amazing place. Wonderful staff and beautiful room. The free breakfast was better than most hotels at home in the uk and the cappuccinos were worthy of awards! The area is magical - just watch out for the monkeys on the streets if you're carrying food, we didn't have a problem with them at the villa though. Rarely come back to the same place twice but this place is a definite!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cannot beat the room and the location.

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Awesome location....
Staff was present, but not overvearing. Room was spectacular!. Location walking distance to the Monkey Sanctuary and the Palace. Great shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Beautiful peaceful villas.

Posted Oct 22, 2016
Pros: Everything, you are central, but the villas are nice a quiet. I liked that the monkeys run accross the villa wall in the afternoon.
Cons: Nothing - all was very good!
Location: Near monkey forrest, plenty of restaurants nearby.
Beautiful villas and friendly staff, who are very attentive. Loved staying here and will come again. There is also a lovely little spa area on site.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

The best experience.

Posted Oct 1, 2016
Pros: Friendliness, location, cleanliness, and great food. Plus a massive pool.
Cons: We couldn't fault Royal Kamuela Villa. It was just the perfect place for us.
Location: Centrally located and with easy reach of Monkey Forest, art galleries, beauty therapists.
What a place this is: the service, food, and rooms are amazing. We have never had a better experience, and we have been to Ubud on four previous occasions. From the moment we booked in, which was just after 11.00 pm due to flight delays, we were well looked after. The staff are amazing, nothing is too much trouble, they were friendly, always acknowledged you and made you feel very welcome and extra special. The breakfast menu alone offers around ten different choices ranging from Belgian Waffles through to an English breakfast. You won't be disappointed at what's on offer. A central location ensures easy access to a variety of destinations and activities. The Wi-Fi is very quick, and so easy to login. The speed is unbelievable. The bedroom is spacious, has TV and DVD for entertainment, plus an enormous bed. You also get, at no extra cost, families of monkeys coming to visit in the mornings. All in all we had a fantastic holiday, enhanced even more by staying at Royal Kamuela. We will definitely be back again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Paradise in Ubud

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Paradise in Ubud! The staff is fantastic and the rooms are very large with great amenities. The staff is top notch and will cater to your every need. Most things are within walking distance and the private pool is amazing. Fantastic breakfast. You will not be disappointed staying here.