Ratings based on 94 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Utah

Loved it here.

Posted May 22, 2017
Santi Mandala is beautiful! Our room was nice, open, and clean. The staff is super friendly and welcoming. The restaurant was delicious. I didn't notice from the photos, but the bathrooms are sort of outside (they're enclosed and gorgeous, but I was not prepared for the heat while getting ready or the potential for bugs/geckos hanging around), so I figured I'd mention that so no one else is surprised. Ha. Overall, had a great time and would stay here again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A superb, beautiful, peaceful place

Posted Sep 13, 2016 on Hotels
I struggle to think of Santi Mandala's equal. The location, level of comfort, effort taken to ensure the quality of the stay, the sense of escape and luxury and pervading mood of relaxation is a rare and precious thing. It is a place to lose yourself and find something worth remembering.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Peaceful rice paddies and personal service

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Pros: Its small, and intimate - you see the same staff and guests over your stay. The girls in the spa give good massage.
Cons: Internet access! But hey, that is the same through all of Bali......
Location: The butterfly farm was engaging and of course, Ubud is 20 minutes away.
It's not the newest hotel, but there is a graceful charm and elegance that works at SM. The service is excellent, and the staff are friendly, and care. The rooms are very "luxurious 10 years old", but lovely, comfortable and well-appointed. It's excellent value, and the transfers into Ubud are reasonable, so not a difficulty at all. We made a decision to stay one day at the hotel, having massages and doing yoga classes with Bismah. Then, the next day we went adventuring. My travel companion is gluten-intolerant and the Hotel were very helpful with making sure she had suitable dining options.
5 out of 5
by Kate

Great relaxation by the pool

Posted Sep 29, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is out of any tourist locations, which is great if you want few days in a great resort, or are comfortable with taking a shuttle or taxi anywhere. It is an hour from the airport and driving distance to the beach. But great for relaxing for few days by the pool, without any crowds. I was celebrating my birthday at the hotel and the staff prepared little cake for me and sang happy birthday. The personnel is really very friendly and the food was delicious.
5 out of 5
by Glenda from Wollongong NSW Australia

4 days of Bliss.

Posted Sep 28, 2015 on Hotels
The staff treated us like family. The ambience was so tranquil. Loved the yoga classes each morning. Free shuttle service was excellent.
1 out of 5
by Clement from New york

Stay away

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
Staying in this hotel was the worst decision we could have made. It is terrible and really do not understand any positive reviews about this property. It is completely outdated, very badly located (30 minutes from Ubud Center) and on the edge of a river with no water. You can see the dirt and garbages on the bottom of the river, we actually saw kids throwing garbages from a bridge while we were checking in. The room had a terrible and filthy smell that we could not get off. The room was not clean and the mosquito net as well as curtains had probably never been washed (stains and dead insects). To top it all I had to kill an enormous cockroach that was on my bed. The breakfast is the worst we had in Bali and the hotel even tried to charge me a ridiculous phone call that they made to book me a taxi (that is their job!). also this hotel feels empty and I do not see why they are still in business
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from perth

Tranquility

Posted Jul 28, 2015 on Wotif
A little slice of heaven away from it all. I reset my balance when I come to Santi Mandala. I stay in a villa with plunge pool (301) overlooking the pool. Ubud feels so safe I enjoy going out for dinner and trying all the different vegetarian places too.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent hotel bad foos

Posted Jul 1, 2015 on Hotels
The area is isolated. Food is bad. But hotel and place ia bad.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 19, 2015 by Ken, Hotel Management
Dear valued customers, We are really sorry. We will try to be better. Sincerely, Mr Ken sales executive
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Randi V.

Peaceful Location close to Zoo

Posted Apr 6, 2015 on HotelClub
While a couple of my friends stayed in renovated villas, I stayed in one of the old ones. Mine had an outdoors free standing toilet between the shower and bathtub, so I was very happy to have a villa on my own. In contrast, the newly renovated villas have more privacy with the toilet and shower behind a screening wall.The bedroom in both the renovated and old villas were comfortable with good air conditioning. The villas have nice, large verandas. The hotel offers free yoga classes from 7-8 am, 6 days a week. We enjoyed a refreshing shower under the beautiful waterfall on the property after the yoga class The pool area could have done with a few more lounge chairs but is otherwise fine. The spa services offered at the hotel are far more expensive than in Ubud but the hotel is willing to negotiate, if you prefer to stay at the hotel. The hotel offers a very limited continental breakfast, in addition to a choice of eggs and a lot of fruit. So although, the selection appears a little limited, it is more than adequate. We loved the ample supplies of fruit! All staff members were extremely friendly and helpful. The biggest downside to staying at the Santi Mandala is the distance from Ubud, although there is a free shuttle bus available. It takes 25 minutes to travel to Ubud and the shuttle can be booked in advance for A$8 (IRP8000), if the scheduled shuttle times don't suit.
5 out of 5
by Thomas from Darwin

tranquility & relaxation

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
The Santi Mandala was a very tranquil experience. Surrounded by wildlife & jungle. A freshwater stream runs down the middle of the resort with ducks, fish & lizards everywhere to enjoy. I highly reccommend the garden villa's they are very peaceful with only the sound of frogs disturbing the nights silence. The pool & rooms are immaculate & the resort grounds are very well maintained. The staff were very friendly & even provided a birthday cake without being asked for one of our travel companions who was pleasantly surprised. You will not be dissappointed staying at the Santi Mandala.